Archived — Harper Government Launches Southern Ontario Development Program

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Harper Government Launches Southern Ontario Development Program

MP Ben Lobb with MPs Jeff Watson, Bev Shipley, Joe Preston, Terrance Young, Paul Calandra and Tim Kavanagh, President of the Small Business Centre (back L-R), MP Harold Albrecht, MP Ed Holder, the Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Natural Resources, the Honourable Diane Finlay, Minister of Human Resources Skills Development, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), MP Peter Braid and MP Mike Wallace (first row) celebrate the launch of the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario, at the Small Business Centre in London.
Source: Steve Martin, The Canadian Press Images.

LONDON, ON  — FedDev Ontario is now accepting applications under the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) for projects that will stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of southern Ontario businesses and communities.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), was at the Small Business Centre today to announce that eligible small- and medium-sized businesses, municipalities, not-for-profits, Aboriginal organizations, colleges and universities are invited to submit applications.  

"Our government is creating jobs and stimulating the southern Ontario economy," said Minister of State Goodyear. "FedDev Ontario will support people, communities and businesses in the region and promote long-term growth."

The SODP takes into account consultations with community leaders and economic development stakeholders throughout the southern Ontario Region. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive, and maximize the potential of southern Ontario with a focus on economic development, innovation and diversification.

Overall funding for the SODP is $100 million in 2009-10; with $40 million available for this intake process.

Applications to access funding in 2009-10 will be accepted from October 2, 2009, to December 1, 2009. FedDev Ontario will favour projects that can be started quickly and completed by March 31, 2010. Applications will be assessed based on merit and against SODP criteria and will be reviewed as they are received by the Agency. The Agency, at a later date, may further refine the criteria for future calls for proposals. Priority will be given to organizations or enterprises located in communities in southern Ontario with populations of 500,000 or less, as well as to communities whose economies are less diversified and/or are reliant on a limited number of employers.  

For additional details on program eligibility, please see the SODP Backgrounder.

To download an application form, please visit www.southernontario.gc.ca.

The Southern Ontario Development Program was established to promote economic development, economic diversification, job creation and sustainable communities in southern Ontario. The SODP is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

For more information on the Agency, please see the FedDev Ontario Backgrounder.

-30-

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

One of the Agency's new programs, the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP), will be a multi-year funding program to support productivity, innovation, commercialization, community economic development and diversification in southern Ontario.

Overall Agency funding in 2009-10 is $206 million. Of this amount, approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP, including $40 million for the first intake process. Other aspects of the program will be announced shortly.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligible applicants

Your organization or enterprise may qualify for SODP funds if it is located in southern Ontario and meets one of the following criteria:

  • Small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)* with a focus on those with up to 1,000 employees;
  • SME groups and/or associations;
  • non-profit organizations whose primary mission is business support or economic development;
  • organizations or institutions dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of knowledge and know-how, including colleges, polytechnic institutes, universities and teaching institutions;
  • Aboriginal organizations; or
  • Municipalities.

* With respect to commercial enterprises, the focus of this program will be on existing businesses with a proven track record that are looking to expand, modernize, innovate, and/or improve their competitiveness. Business start-ups will not be supported.

Eligible Projects

Include projects that:

  • expand capacity;
  • improve technology or equipment;
  • improve the productivity and competitiveness of a business;
  • provide access to new markets;
  • innovate products or services; 
  • promote the commercialization of innovations; and
  • improve community-owned tourism facilities (e.g., conference centres, exhibition halls).

Funding Available

Financial assistance awarded under this program is provided in the form of contributions, which must have a direct economic impact on the region.

The contribution may be repayable, depending on the nature of the project and the requested financial assistance. Generally, contributions to commercial enterprises are repayable.

Application

A straight-forward application form is available to download online at www.southernontario.gc.ca. Applications should be submitted by email to sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca or by mail to 151 Yonge Street, 3rd Floor, Toronto ON, M5C 2W3. Each project must have a separate and fully completed application form to be considered. If an applicant submits more than one project, these must be ranked in order of priority.

Deadline

Applications to access funding in 2009-10 will be accepted from October 2, 2009, to December 1, 2009. FedDev Ontario will favour projects that can be started quickly and completed by March 31, 2010. Applications will be assessed based on merit and against SODP criteria. Applications will be reviewed as they are received by the Agency. The Agency, at a later date, may further refine the criteria for future calls for proposals.

Selection Criteria

Projects will be assessed on the degree to which they meet the following selection criteria:

  • conformity with FedDev Ontario priorities;
  • compatibility with SODP objectives;
  • economic impact of the project;
  • long-term economic viability of the project;
  • incremental nature of the assistance;
  • demonstrated financial need for implementation of the project, taking other existing funding sources into account;
  • evidence that the project meets a recognized need and significantly contributes to a region's economic development;
  • applicant's management capacity;
  • track record and viability of the enterprise or organization;
  • applicant's financial contribution to the project;
  • degree of leveraging of commercial financing and other sources of financing;
  • level of risk involved; and
  • adverse impacts on competition.

Priority will be given to organizations or enterprises located in communities in southern Ontario with populations of 500,000 or less, as well as to communities whose economies are less diversified and/or are reliant on a limited number of employers.

For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, email sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper lance le Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement Harper lance le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario

Le député Ben Lobb avec les députés Jeff Watson, Bev Shipley, Joe Preston, Terrance Young, Paul Calandra et Tim Kavanagh, président du London Small Business Centre (première rangé de gauche à droite), le député Harold Albrecht, le député Ed Holder, l'honorable Lisa Raitt, ministre des Ressources naturelles, l'honorable Diane Finlay, ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, le député Peter Braid et le député Mike Wallace (deuxième range de gauche à droite) célèbrent le lancement du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario au Small Business Centre à London.
Source : Steve Martin, The CP Images

LONDON (Ontario) — Dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO), FedDev Ontario accepte dorénavant les demandes liées à des projets destinés à stimuler l'économie régionale et à améliorer la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui devant le Small Business Centre que les petites et moyennes entreprises, les municipalités, les organismes sans but lucratif, les organismes autochtones, les collèges et les universités admissibles sont invités à présenter une demande.

« Notre gouvernement crée des emplois et stimule l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre d'État. FedDev Ontario soutiendra les gens, les collectivités et les entreprises de cette région et favorisera la croissance à long terme. »

Le PDSO tient compte des consultations tenues dans toute la région du Sud de l'Ontario auprès de dirigeants communautaires et d'intervenants du développement économique. Il misera sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités pour créer un environnement propice à la réussite des entreprises et pour maximiser le potentiel du Sud de l'Ontario en mettant l'accent sur le développement économique, l'innovation et la diversification.

L'ensemble du financement affecté au PDSO est de 100 millions de dollars en 2009-2010; 40 millions de dollars seront consacrés au présent processus d'appel de propositions.

Les demandes d'obtention de financement en 2009-2010 seront acceptées du 2 octobre 2009 au 1er décembre 2009. FedDev Ontario privilégiera les projets qui peuvent démarrer rapidement et se terminer d'ici au 31 mars 2010. Les demandes seront étudiées à mesure que l'Agence les recevra et seront évaluées selon leur mérite et au regard des critères du PDSO. Il se peut que l'Agence modifie les critères des appels de propositions subséquents.

On accordera la priorité aux entreprises et aux organismes établis dans des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario comptant au plus 500 000 habitants, de même qu'aux collectivités dont l'économie est moins diversifiée ou qui dépendent d'un faible nombre d'employeurs.

Pour obtenir plus de précisions sur l'admissibilité au Programme, veuillez consulter le Document d'information sur le PDSO.

Pour télécharger un formulaire de demande, veuillez vous rendre à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario a été créé pour promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification de l'économie, la création d'emplois et les collectivités durables dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Le PDSO fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada conçu pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une croissance à long terme.

Vous trouverez plus de renseignements sur l'Agence en consultant le Document d'information sur FedDev Ontario.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505


Fiche d'information
Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) est chargée d'exécuter les programmes de développement économique fédéraux en appui aux travailleurs, aux entreprises et aux collectivités de cette région. Le budget de 2009 a affecté un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans à la nouvelle Agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) est l'un des nouveaux programmes relevant de l'Agence. Ce programme de financement pluriannuel soutiendra la productivité, l'innovation, la commercialisation, le développement économique à l'échelle de la collectivité et la diversification dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

L'ensemble du financement fourni par l'Agence en 2009-2010 s'élèvera à 206 millions de dollars. Environ 100 millions seront affectés au présent programme, dont 40 millions pour le premier appel de propositions. D'autres aspects du programme seront annoncés sous peu.

Critères d'admissibilité

Demandeurs admissibles

Si votre organisme ou entreprise est établi dans le Sud de l'Ontario et répond à l'un des critères suivants, cet organisme ou entreprise peut être admissible au financement dans le cadre du PDSO :

  • Petites et moyennes entreprises (PME)* particulièrement celles qui comptent au plus 1000 employés;
  • Regroupements ou associations de PME;
  • Organismes sans but lucratif dont la mission principale est le soutien aux entreprises ou le développement économique;
  • Organismes ou établissements dédiés à la promotion et à la diffusion des connaissances et du savoir-faire, tels que les collèges, les écoles polytechniques, les universités et les établissements d'enseignement;
  • Organismes autochtones; ou
  • Municipalités.

* En ce qui concerne les entreprises commerciales, le PDSO vise avant tout les entreprises existantes qui ont fait leurs preuves et qui désirent se développer, se moderniser, innover ou accroître leur compétitivité. Les entreprises en démarrage ne pourront pas recevoir de financement.

Projets admissibles

Projets qui visent les objectifs suivants :

  • augmenter la capacité;
  • améliorer la technologie ou l'appareillage;
  • améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité d'une entreprise;
  • donner accès à de nouveaux marchés;
  • apporter des innovations à des produits ou à des services;
  • promouvoir la commercialisation d'innovations; et
  • améliorer les installations touristiques propriétés de la collectivité (p. ex., centres de conférences et salle d'expositions).

Financement disponible

L'aide financière accordée dans le cadre de ce programme se présente sous la forme de contributions qui doivent avoir une incidence économique directe sur la région.

La contribution peut être remboursable, selon la nature du projet et l'aide financière demandée. Les contributions accordées aux entreprises commerciales sont généralement remboursables.

Demande

On peut télécharger en ligne un formulaire de demande simple à l'adresse www.southernontario.gc.ca. Les demandes doivent être transmises par courriel à l'adresse sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca ou envoyées par la poste au 151, rue Yonge, 3e étage, Toronto (Ont.)  M5C 2W3. Chaque proposition de projet doit être accompagnée d'un formulaire de demande distinct et dûment rempli pour pouvoir être prise en considération. Si un demandeur soumet plus d'un projet, il doit classer les projets par ordre de priorité pour que ceux-ci puissent être pris en considération en vue d'un financement.

Date limite

Les demandes d'obtention de financement en 2009-2010 seront acceptées du 2 octobre 2009 au 1er décembre 2009. FedDev Ontario privilégiera les projets qui peuvent démarrer rapidement et se terminer d'ici au 31 mars 2010. Les demandes seront étudiées à mesure que l'Agence les recevra et seront évaluées selon leur mérite et au regard des critères du PDSO. Il se peut que l'Agence modifie les critères des appels de propositions subséquents.

Critères de sélection

Pour évaluer les projets, on déterminera dans quelle mesure ils répondent aux critères de sélection qui suivent :

  • la conformité aux priorités de FedDev Ontario;
  • la compatibilité avec les objectifs du PDSO;
  • l'incidence économique du projet;
  • la viabilité économique à long terme du projet;
  • le caractère différentiel de l'aide;
  • la démonstration du besoin de financement pour la mise en œuvre du projet tout en tenant compte des autres sources de financement existantes;
  • la démonstration que le projet répond à un besoin reconnu et contribue de façon significative au développement économique de la région;
  • la capacité de gestion du demandeur;
  • le rendement antérieur et la viabilité de l'entreprise ou de l'organisme;
  • la contribution financière du demandeur au projet;
  • le degré d'effet levier du financement commercial et d'autres sources de financement;
  • le degré de risque; et
  • les effets défavorables sur la concurrence.

On accordera la priorité aux entreprises et aux organismes établis dans des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario comptant au plus 500 000 habitants, de même qu'aux collectivités dont l'économie est moins diversifiée ou qui dépendent d'un faible nombre d'employeurs.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous reporter aux Lignes directrices du Programme qu'on trouve dans le site Web à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca, faire parvenir un courriel à sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca ou appeler au numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :