Archived — Government of Canada Injects $1.5 Million in Kingston to Create Jobs

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear celebrates a CAF funding announced in Kingston on September 17.

L-R: The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Harvey Rosen, Mayor of the City of Kingston; and Jeff Garrah, CEO of the Kingston Economic Development Corporation (KEDCO), celebrate CAF funding announced in Kingston on September 17. Source: The Canadian Press Images Photo/Ian MacAlpine

KINGSTON — Residents of Kingston will benefit from a new economic stimulus project under the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan.  Speaking at Cataraqui Industrial Estates, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, today announced more than $1.5 million to service the eastern extension of Cataraqui Industrial Estates and to improve infrastructure at St. Lawrence Business Park.

“This project will do more than just rebuild the local infrastructure,” said Minister of State Goodyear. “It will create jobs that will boost the local economy and promote long-term growth.”

“We are very grateful for this investment,” said Harvey Rosen, Mayor of the City of Kingston.  “Improvements to these two business parks will have a significant impact on our economic development potential. It will also enhance employment opportunities for existing residents and for those who will choose to make Kingston home.”

Funding for this project comes from the Government of Canada’s Community Adjustment Fund (CAF). On August 27, more than $101 million was announced for 90 projects throughout southern Ontario under CAF in 2009-2010. These investments will create immediate employment opportunities and support local economies in communities that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their funding agreements. The list of approved projects in southern Ontario is available online at www.southernontario.gc.ca.

Applications for 2010-2011 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year. A public announcement will be made once details are finalized.

CAF is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

The Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan committed $1 billion to provide timely, targeted economic stimulus to communities throughout Canada under the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF). In Ontario, CAF will provide $348.9 million over two years to support adjustment measures in communities most affected by the global economic downturn, including more than $101 million for projects in southern Ontario in 2009-10.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada injecte 1,5 million de dollars à Kingston pour créer des emplois

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear célèbre le financement du FAC annoncé  à Kingston le 17 septembre.

G-D : L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario; Harvey Rosen, maire de la Ville de Kingston; et Jeff Garrah, directeur général du Kingston Economic Development Corporation (KEDCO), célèbrent à Kingston l'annonce d'un financement dans le cadre du FAC le 17 septembre. Source: The Canadian Press Images Photo/Ian MacAlpine .

KINGSTON — Les résidentes et résidents de Kingston bénéficieront d’un nouveau projet de relance économique dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada. Prenant la parole au parc commercial Cataraqui Industrial Estates, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd’hui l’investissement de plus de 1,5 million de dollars pour amener les services à la nouvelle aire de l’est du parc commercial Cataraqui Industrial Estates et pour améliorer le système d’infrastructure au parc commercial St. Lawrence.

« Non seulement ce projet permettra d’améliorer les services d’infrastructure municipale, a souligné le ministre d'État Goodyear, il créera des emplois qui stimuleront l'économie régionale et favoriseront la croissance à long terme. »

« Nous sommes très reconnaissants de cet investissement, a déclaré le maire de Kingston, Harvey Rosen. Les améliorations à ces deux parcs commerciaux auront une incidence considérable sur notre potentiel de développement économique. Elles favoriseront également la création de perspectives d’emploi pour les résidentes et résidents actuels, ainsi que pour celles et ceux qui choisiront d’élire domicile à Kingston. »

Le financement pour ce projet provient du Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités (FAC) du gouvernement du Canada. Le 27 août dernier, des investissements de plus de 101 millions de dollars ont été annoncés pour la réalisation de 90 projets dans le Sud de l'Ontario, dans le cadre du FAC en 2010-2011. Ces investissements créeront d’emblée des perspectives d'emploi et soutiendront l'économie régionale de collectivités aux prises avec les effets du ralentissement économique mondial.

Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions énoncées dans les accords de financement correspondants. On peut consulter la liste des projets approuvés dans le Sud de l'Ontario en ligne à l’adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca.

FedDev Ontario recevra les demandes de financement de projet liées au FAC pour 2010-2011plus tard cette année. Une annonce publique aura lieu une fois que les détails auront été réglés.

Le FAC fait partie d’une série d’initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Programme d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada afin de faire face aux répercussions à court terme du ralentissement économique sur des collectivités des quatre coins du Canada et de préparer ces collectivités à une croissance à long terme.

Le Plan d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada a engagé un milliard de dollars afin de stimuler rapidement et de façon ciblée l’économie des collectivités des quatre coins du Canada dans le cadre du Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités (FAC). En Ontario, FAC versera 348,9 millions de dollars sur deux ans en soutien à des mesures d’adaptation mises en œuvre dans les collectivités les plus touchées par le ralentissement économique mondial, y compris plus de 101 millions de dollars dans le Sud de l'Ontario en 2009-2010.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :