Archived — New Projects Will Create Jobs in Oxford County

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and other dignitaries celebrate CAF funding announced in Tillsonburg on September 10.

L-R: Stephen Molnar, Mayor of the Town of Tillsonburg; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Dave Mackenzie, MP for Oxford; and Jim Hayes, Mayor of the Township of South-West Oxford, celebrate CAF funding announced in Tillsonburg on September 10. Source: Steve Martin, The Canadian Press Images. Source: FedDev Ontario

TILLSONBURG — Residents of Oxford County will benefit from new economic stimulus projects under the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan.  Speaking at the Tillsonburg Municipal Airport, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced more than $2.1 million to expand the airport, and more than $1 million to build a new community services building in the nearby Township of South-West Oxford.

"These investments will create new jobs and strengthen the economy in Oxford County," said Minister of State Goodyear. "By supporting key community projects in local industries, residents and businesses will see direct benefits, now and in the future."

"The federal support of these two projects is good news for our communities," said Dave Mackenzie, Member of Parliament for Oxford. "The creation of jobs through these improvements will help diversify the local economies."

"The Town of Tillsonburg is extremely pleased to partner with the Government of Canada on this innovative and sustainable economic initiative," said Stephen Molnar, Mayor of the Town of Tillsonburg. "Our goal, as reinforced in our Strategic Plan, has been to identify projects that will produce long-term benefit through job creation and community growth, and this financial partnership should help realize our corporate vision."

"The funding announcement is welcome news for the Township of South-West Oxford and illustrates the benefits of different levels of government working together for the good of the community,” said Jim Hayes, Mayor of the Township of South-West Oxford. “By improving the amenities and services available to the community and making it a more attractive place to live and work this project will promote business retention and development and the economic viability of the community in the longer term."

Funding for these projects comes from the Government of Canada’s Community Adjustment Fund (CAF). On August 27, more than $101 million was announced for 90 projects throughout southern Ontario under CAF, including $3.3 million to build a new campus of Conestoga College in Ingersoll, Ontario.

Over the last two weeks, recipients and elected officials have been celebrating funding through local announcements. These investments will go towards economic development projects in communities with populations fewer than 250,000 that have been hit hardest by the recent economic downturn.

The list of the municipalities, First Nations and not-for-profit organizations that will benefit from investments was also released today. For a list of approved projects please refer to the backgrounder.

Applications for 2010-2011 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year. A public announcement will be made once details are finalized. For more information on the Agency, please see the FedDev Ontario Backgrounder.

CAF is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — De nouveaux projets créeront des emplois dans le comte d’Oxford

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres dignitaires célèbrent le financement du FAC annoncé à Tillsonburg le 10 septembre.

G-D : Stephen Molnar, maire des municipalités de Q45L-R et de Tillsonburg; l'honorable Gary Goodyear, le ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario; Dave Mackenzie, le député d'Oxford; et Jim Hayes, le maire du Canton d'Oxford Sud-Ouest, célèbrent à Tillsonburg l'annonce d'un financement dans la cadre du FAC le 10 septembre. Source : Canadian Press Images, Steve Martin. Source: FedDev Ontario

TILLSONBURG — Les résidents du comté d’Oxford profiteront de nouveaux projets de relance économique dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada. Prenant la parole à l’aéroport de Tillsonburg, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a annoncé aujourd’hui des investissements de plus de 2,1 millions de dollars pour l’agrandissement de l’aéroport municipal de Tillsonburg et de plus d’un million de dollars pour la construction d’un nouveau centre de services communautaires dans le Canton de South-West Oxford.

« Ces investissements créeront des emplois et renforceront l’économie du comté d’Oxford, a déclaré le ministre d’État Goodyear. En appuyant d’importants projets de la collectivité dans les secteurs des infrastructures, de l’entreprise et du tourisme, nous apporterons une aide directe aux entreprises régionales et résidents, dans l’immédiat ainsi que dans l’avenir. »

« Le soutien du gouvernement fédéral pour ces deux projets est de bon augure pour nos collectivités, a fait valoir le député d’Oxford, David Mackenzie. La création d’emplois qu’apporteront ces améliorations permettra de diversifier notre économie régionale. »

« La ville de Tillsonburg est très heureuse de collaborer avec le gouvernement du Canada à cette initiative économique novatrice et viable, a déclaré le maire de la Ville de Tillsonburg, Stephen Molnar. Conformément à notre plan stratégique, nous avons pour but de cibler des projets qui nous procureront des avantages à long terme grâce à la création d’emplois et à la croissance de la collectivité. Cette collaboration financière nous aidera à réaliser notre vision d’ensemble. »

« Cette annonce de financement est une bonne nouvelle pour le Canton de South-West Oxford et un bon exemple de collaboration entre les divers ordres de gouvernement pour le bien de la collectivité, a souligné le maire du Canton de South-West Oxford, Jim Hayes. Ce projet d’amélioration des installations et des services permettra de créer un milieu de vie et de travail plus attrayant et de favoriser le maintien et la croissance des entreprises ainsi que la viabilité économique de la collectivité à plus long terme. »

Le financement pour ces projets provient du Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités (FAC) du gouvernement du Canada. Le 27 août dernier, des investissements de plus de 101 millions de dollars ont été annoncés pour la réalisation de 90 projets dans le Sud de l'Ontario, dans le cadre du FAC, y compris 3,3 millions de dollars pour financer la construction d’un nouveau centre de formation au Collège Conestoga à Ingersoll, Ontario.

Au cours des deux dernières semaines, des représentants d’organismes bénéficiaires et des élus ont participé à des annonces régionales mettant à l’honneur ces investissements. Grâce à ces derniers, on financera des projets de développement économique dans les collectivités dont la population est de moins de 250 000 habitants et qui ont été les plus durement touchées par le ralentissement économique.

Une liste des municipalités, des Premières nations et des organismes sans but lucratif qui bénéficieront de ces investissements a aussi été publiée aujourd’hui. Veuillez consulter le document d'information pour la liste des projets approuvés.

Les demandes de financement de projets dans le cadre du FAC pour 2010-2011 seront reçues par FedDev Ontario plus tard cette année. Une annonce publique aura lieu une fois que l’on aura précisé les détails. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’Agence, veuillez consulter le document d’information sur FedDev Ontario.

Le FAC fait partie d’une série d’initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada afin de faire face aux répercussions à court terme du ralentissement économique sur des collectivités des quatre coins du Canada et de préparer ces collectivités à une croissance à long terme.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :