Archived — Backgrounder: About the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

About the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

In Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Harper Government committed to providing short term stimulus to communities hard hit by the recession while delivering long-term funding designed to promote economic growth, job creation and innovation.  Budget 2009 provided $1 billion over five years for a new economic development agency for southern Ontario.

On August 13, 2009, Prime Minister Stephen Harper formally launched the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).  This new agency is charged with delivering federal government economic development programs tailored to the specific priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario.

The Prime Minister announced his intent to have Minister of State (Science and Technology) Gary Goodyear assume responsibility for the Agency and that B.A. (Bruce) Archibald will serve as the agency's first President.  Further announcements on the staffing and location of district offices are to be expected throughout the fall.

In its first year of operation, FedDev Ontario will focus on putting economic development programs into action.  The Agency will assess immediate opportunities and needs, and then bridge into broader program initiatives once the agency is fully operational. 

FedDev Ontario and Industry Canada will work with community stakeholders to identify and support projects that address current economic challenges. 
The Agency will initially use existing programs and partnerships to expedite the provision of funds.  This will start money flowing immediately into southern Ontario communities and businesses.

Funding in the first year will be approximately $206 million, including operating costs, focused on three priority areas: economic development, diversification and community development.

The Southern Ontario Development Program has been established to promote economic development, economic diversification and job creation.  A core program, it will deliver close to $100 million in funding over 2009-10

FedDev Ontario will help southern Ontario communities diversify their local economies, including into a wider range of value-added and technology driven products and services.  It will provide the tools for its partners in the region to build on their strengths, positioning southern Ontario to succeed in the knowledge-based economy. 

Programs to be Administered by FedDev Ontario

Southern Ontario programs to be administered by, or in conjunction with, FedDev Ontario include:

Community Adjustment Fund in Ontario
The Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) is a short-term economic stimulus for communities impacted by the global recession.  Part of Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Fund supports projects that create jobs and maintain employment in and around communities that have been most severely affected by the economic downturn.

Funding is available for eligible projects that can be completed before March 31, 2010.   Applications for 2010-2011 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year.

National Research Council –Industrial Research Assistance Program
The National Research Council's Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) stimulates wealth creation for Canada through technological innovation.   It provides financial and technological assistance to small and medium-sized enterprises, targeting those engaged in research, development, adaptation, adoption, or commercialization of innovative products, services or processes.
IRAP already has $67.3 million in funds available, and will receive an additional $27.5 million to further build the innovative capacities of southern Ontario's small and medium-sized enterprises.

Community Futures Program
Ontario's Community Futures Program will receive an additional $30M from the Community Adjustment Fund in 2009-2010.  The Community Futures Program assists rural and northern communities to strengthen and diversify their economies.

The Program is implemented through Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs), located in communities across the province, including 37 in rural southern Ontario.  Small and medium-sized enterprises as well as non-profit organizations can receive repayable financing and important support services.

Business Development Bank of Canada
The Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) will invest a total of $50 million in southern Ontario through venture capital firms and the BDC's own programs. These funds will help develop a high-performing, sustainable venture capital industry in the region.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Document d’information: Au sujet de l’agence fédérale de développement économique pour le sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Au sujet de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Aux termes du Plan d'action économique du Canada, le gouvernement Harper s'est engagé à prendre des mesures de relance à court terme pour les collectivités durement touchées par la récession, tout en offrant un financement à long terme destiné à promouvoir la croissance économique, la création d'emplois et l'innovation. Ainsi, le budget de 2009 prévoit un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans pour un nouvel organisme de développement régional dans le sud de l'Ontario.

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a officiellement lancé l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) le 13 août 2009. Le nouvel organisme est chargé d'exécuter les programmes de développement économique du gouvernement fédéral, programmes qui seront adaptés aux priorités particulières des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du sud de l'Ontario.

Le Premier ministre a annoncé son intention de faire assumer la responsabilité de l'Agence par le ministre d'État aux Sciences et à la Technologie Gary Goodyear et a annoncé en outre que B.A. (Bruce) Archibald en sera le premier président. Tout au long de l'automne, il devrait y avoir d'autres annonces sur le personnel et l'adresse des bureaux de district.

Au cours de sa première année d'activités, FedDev Ontario mettra l'accent sur la mise en œuvre des programmes de développement économique. Elle évaluera les priorités et possibilités immédiates, qu'elle intégrera ensuite aux grandes initiatives prévues lorsqu'elle sera pleinement fonctionnelle.
FedDev Ontario et Industrie Canada collaboreront avec les intervenants de la collectivité pour déterminer et appuyer les projets utiles pour relever les défis économiques actuels. 

L'Agence utilisera d'abord les programmes et partenariats actuels pour accélérer l'offre de crédits. Des sommes seront ainsi immédiatement dégagées au profit des collectivités et entreprises du sud de l'Ontario.

Au cours de la première année, le financement sera d'environ 206 millions de dollars, dont les frais d'exploitation, qui seront essentiellement utilisés dans trois secteurs prioritaires : le développement économique, la diversification et le développement des collectivités.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario a été mis sur pied pour promouvoir le développement et la diversification économiques, et la création d'emplois. À titre de programme de base, il recevra un financement de près de 100 millions de dollars en 2009-2010

FedDev Ontario aidera les collectivités du sud de l'Ontario à diversifier leur économie, en l'axant davantage sur les produits et services à valeur ajoutée et à base technologique. Elle offrira aux partenaires de la région les outils dont ils ont besoin pour mettre leurs atouts en valeur, en préparant ainsi la région à prospérer dans une économie fondée sur le savoir. 

Programmes qui seront administrés par FedDev Ontario

Les programmes du sud de l'Ontario qui seront administrés par FedDev Ontario ou de concert avec elle sont notamment les suivants:

Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités de l'Ontario
Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) est une mesure de relance économique à court terme destinée à aider les collectivités touchées par la récession mondiale. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, le Fonds servira à appuyer les projets qui créent et maintiennent des emplois dans les collectivités et leurs environs qui ont été les plus gravement touchés par le ralentissement économique.

Le financement est offert pour les projets admissibles qui peuvent être terminés d'ici le 31 mars 2010. FedDev Ontario acceptera les demandes de financement pour 2010-2011 plus tard au cours de l'année. 

Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches
Le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches (PARI-CNRC) stimule la création de richesses par l'innovation technologique. Il permet d'offrir une aide financière et technique aux petites et moyennes entreprises en ciblant celles qui sont engagées dans les activités suivantes : recherche, développement, adaptation, et adoption ou commercialisation de produits, services ou procédés novateurs.

Le PARI dispose déjà d'un financement de 67,3 millions de dollars et recevra un montant supplémentaire de 27,5 millions de dollars pour mettre sur pied des capacités novatrices dans les petites et moyennes entreprises.   

Programme de développement des collectivités
En 2009-2010, le Programme de développement des collectivités en Ontario recevra un montant supplémentaire de 30 millions de dollars du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités. Ce programme aide les collectivités rurales et du Nord à renforcer et à diversifier leur économie. Il joue aussi un rôle important pour le développement économique des Autochtones.

Le Programme est mis en œuvre par les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) implantées dans toute la province, dont 37 dans le sud rural de l'Ontario. Les petites et moyennes entreprises, de même que les organisations à but non lucratif reçoivent un financement remboursable et d'importants services de soutien.

Banque de développement du Canada

La Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) investira un total de 50 millions de dollars dans la région, par le truchement de sociétés de capital risque et de ses propres programmes. Ces fonds contribueront à développer une industrie de capital de risque durable et hautement performante dans la région.

  • Partager
Date de modification :