Archived — Orillia and Area to Receive Government of Canada Stimulus Funding for Local Projects

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and other dignitaries celebrate CAF funding announced for the Orillia area on September 8.

L-R: Michael Ladoucer, Deputy Mayor Township of Tay; Vic Howorth, Member of the Board of Directors, Orillia Area Community Development Corporation; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Anne Gagné, Présidente du Conseil d'administration, La Clé d'la Baie en Huronie; Ron Stevens, Mayor of the City of Orillia; and Bruce Stanton, MP for Simcoe North, celebrate CAF funding announced for the Orillia area on September 8. Source: FedDev Ontario

ORILLIA —Orillia and surrounding areas will benefit from nearly $1.8 million in funding under the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today at City Hall in Orillia.

The Government of Canada will invest in six local projects through its Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) for such projects as the reconstruction of Orillia’s oldest known house, the development of a pool of experts to foster business development, and improvements to local infrastructure (see Backgrounder for details).

"These investments will create new jobs and new opportunities," said Minister of State Goodyear. "They will provide a much-needed boost to the local economy immediately and will also generate long-term growth."

"These projects will benefit people in our region by creating construction jobs right away, while giving our communities the opportunity to grow our local economy in the long term," said Bruce Stanton, MP for Simcoe North.

"The City of Orillia is extremely pleased to receive funding for three very significant projects," said Ron Stevens, Mayor of the City of Orillia. "This will enable us to move forward immediately with these community improvement initiatives."

Up to $102 million will be invested through the CAF for 2009-2010 and it is the government’s intention to support a total of 90 projects in communities across southern Ontario. Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their funding agreements. A complete list of approved projects in southern Ontario will be made available online at www.ic.gc.ca/caf on September 10, 2009.

Applications for 2010-2011 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year. A public announcement will be made once details are finalized. For more information on the Agency, please see the FedDev Ontario Backgrounder.

CAF is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Orillia et ses environs recevront des fonds de relance du gouvernement du canada pour des projets régionaux

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres dignitaires célèbrent le financement du FAC annoncé pour la région d'Orillia le 8 septembre.

G-D : Michael Ladoucer, maire adjoint du Canton de Tay; Deputy Mayor Township of Tay; Vic Howorth, membre du conseil d'administration, Orillia Area Community Development Corporation; l'honorable Gary Goodyear, le ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario; Anne Gagné, Présidente du Conseil d'administration, La Clé d'la Baie en Huronie; Ron Stevens, maire de la Villa d'Orillia; et Bruce Stanton, le député de Simcoe-Nord, célébrant le financement dans le cadre du FAC annoncé pour Orillia et ses environs le 8 septembre. Source: FedDev Ontario

ORILLIA —Orillia et ses environs recevront près de 1,8 millions de dollars de financement dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada. L’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État pour l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l’annonce aujourd’hui à l’hôtel de ville d’Orillia.

Par l’entremise du Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités (FAC), le gouvernement du Canada investira dans six projets régionaux dont la reconstruction de la plus ancienne maison connue d’Orillia, la création d’un bassin d’experts dans le but de favoriser le développement économique et l’amélioration d’infrastructures régionales (consultez le document d’information pour de plus amples renseignements).

Ces investissements créeront des emplois ainsi que des perspectives d’emploi, a déclaré le ministre d’État Goodyear. Cela stimulera immédiatement l’économie régionale, qui en a bien besoin, et favorisera la croissance à long terme. »

« Ces projets aideront les gens de notre région en permettant la création immédiate d’emplois dans la construction et en donnant aux collectivités la possibilité de contribuer à la croissance économique régionale à long terme », a déclaré le député de Simcoe-Nord, Bruce Stanton.

« La Ville d’Orillia est très heureuse de recevoir ce financement pour la réalisation de trois projets importants, a déclaré le maire d’Orillia, Ron Stevens. Cela nous permettra d’entreprendre immédiatement ces initiatives d’amélioration de notre collectivité. »

Grâce au FAC, le gouvernement investira jusqu’à 102 millions de dollars en 2009-2010 dans l’intention d’appuyer un total de 90 projets dans les collectivités du Sud de l’Ontario. Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions énoncées dans les accords de financement correspondants. La liste complète des projets approuvés dans le Sud de l’Ontario sera diffusée sur le site Web du www.ic.gc.ca/fac le 10 septembre 2009.

Les demandes de financement de projets dans le cadre du FAC pour 2010-2011 seront reçues par FedDev Ontario plus tard cette année. Une annonce publique aura lieu une fois que l’on aura précisé les détails. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’Agence, veuillez consulter le document d’information sur FedDev Ontario.

Le FAC fait partie d’une série d’initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du gouvernement du Canada afin de faire face aux répercussions à court terme du ralentissement économique sur des collectivités des quatre coins du Canada et de préparer ces collectivités à une croissance à long terme.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :