Archived — Minister Goodyear Announces Investment to Support Ontario’s Food and Beverage Processors

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and other dignitaries celebrate a $20 million investment to benefit food processors in southern Ontario at the Guelph Food Technology Centre on November 10.

L-R: Harold Albrecht, MP for Kitchener-Conestoga, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and Craig Richardson, Chair of the Alliance of Ontario Food Processors, celebrate a $20 million investment to benefit food processors in southern Ontario. Delivered by FedDev Ontario, this Southern Ontario Development Program funding announcement was made at the Guelph Food Technology Centre on November 10. Source: Simon Wilson, Canadian Press Images

For immediate release
November 10, 2009

GUELPH, ON  — Ontario's food and beverage processing sector will benefit from a new $20-million investment announced by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). FedDev Ontario will now accept applications under the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) for projects submitted by small- and medium- sized businesses involved in the manufacturing and processing of food and beverages.

"Our government is committed to providing opportunities for small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario to innovate and create new jobs," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will help food businesses in communities all over the region become more competitive and better able to serve consumers."

"Innovation in the food and beverage processing sector has grown in leaps and bounds in recent years," says Craig Richardson, Chair of the Alliance of Ontario Food Processors. "This investment will ensure Ontario food and beverage processing businesses can make the investments they need to remain competitive and keep jobs in Ontario."

This initiative will help existing food and beverage businesses with a proven track record that are looking to expand, modernize, innovate, and/or improve their competitiveness.

Eligible projects include those that expand capacity, improve technology or equipment, improve the productivity and competitiveness of a business, provide access to new markets, innovate products or services, and promote the commercialization of innovations.

Applications for this intake, which is targeted at food and beverage processors, will be accepted until December 22, 2009. FedDev Ontario will favour projects that can be started quickly and completed by March 31, 2010. Applications will be assessed based on merit and against SODP criteria, adjusted for this specific intake, and will be reviewed as they are received by the Agency.

Launched on October 2, 2009, the SODP builds upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive, and maximize the potential of southern Ontario with a focus on economic development, innovation and diversification. 

Overall funding for the SODP is $100 million in 2009-10; of which more than $90 million has now been announced. Other aspects of the program will be announced shortly.

For additional details on program eligibility, please see the SODP Backgrounder.

To download an application form, please visit www.southernontario.gc.ca.

The Southern Ontario Development Program was established to promote economic development, economic diversification, job creation and sustainable communities in southern Ontario. The SODP is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) Food and Beverage Processing Intake Investment

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding for this multi-year program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP in 2009-10, including the following:

  • $55 million for the first intake process;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' (CME) SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $20-million intake for food and beverage processors.

Eligibility Criteria for the Food and Beverage Processing Intake

Eligible applicants

Your enterprise may qualify for SODP funds if it:

  • is located in southern Ontario;
  • is a small- or medium-sized enterprise (SME), with priority being given to those SMEs with up to 1,000 employees
  • is involved in the manufacturing and processing of food and beverages; and
  • operates as an establishment whose Statistics Canada North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code begins with 311 or 312.

The focus of this program will be on existing businesses with a proven track record that are looking to expand, modernize, innovate, and/or improve their competitiveness. Business start-ups will not be supported.

Eligible Projects

Include projects that:

  • expand capacity;
  • improve technology or equipment;
  • improve the productivity and competitiveness of a business;
  • provide access to new markets;
  • innovate products or services; and
  • promote the commercialization of innovations.

Funding Available

Financial assistance awarded under this program is provided in the form of contributions, which must have a direct economic impact on the region.

Contributions to commercial enterprises are repayable.

Application

A straight-forward application form is available to download online at www.southernontario.gc.ca. Applications should be submitted by email to sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca or by mail to 151 Yonge Street, 3rd Floor, Toronto ON, M5C 2W7. Each project must have a separate and fully completed application form to be considered. If an applicant submits more than one project, these must be ranked in order of priority.

Deadline

Applications to access funding in 2009-10 will be accepted from November 10, 2009, to December 22, 2009. FedDev Ontario will favour projects that can be started quickly and completed by March 31, 2010. Applications will be assessed based on merit and against SODP criteria. Applications will be reviewed as they are received by the Agency.

Selection Criteria

Projects will be assessed on the degree to which they meet the following selection criteria:

  • conformity with FedDev Ontario priorities;
  • compatibility with SODP objectives;
  • economic impact of the project;
  • long-term economic viability of the project;
  • incremental nature of the assistance;
  • demonstrated financial need for implementation of the project, taking other existing funding sources into account;
  • evidence that the project meets a recognized need and significantly contributes to a region's economic development;
  • applicant's management capacity;
  • track record and viability of the enterprise or organization;
  • applicant's financial contribution to the project;
  • degree of leveraging of commercial financing and other sources of financing;
  • level of risk involved; and
  • adverse impacts on competition.

Priority will be given to organizations or enterprises located in communities in southern Ontario with populations of 500,000 or less, as well as to communities whose economies are less diversified and/or are reliant on a limited number of employers. 

For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, email sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear annonce un investissement pour venir en aide aux entreprises de transformation des aliments et des boissons de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres dignitaires célèbrent un investissement de 20 millions de dollars au profit du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons du Sud de l'Ontario au Guelph Food Technology Centre le 10 novembre.

G-D : Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et Craig Richardson, président de l'Alliance of Ontario Food Processors, célèbrent un investissement de 20 million de dollars qui bénéficiera le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons du Sud de l'Ontario. Mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, ce financement a été annoncé le 10 novembre au Guelph Food Technology Centre. Source: Simon Wilson, Canadian Press Images

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 10 novembre 2009

GUELPH (Ontario) — Le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons de l'Ontario bénéficiera d'un nouvel investissement de 20 millions de dollars, annoncé par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). FedDev Ontario acceptera maintenant les demandes de financement adressées au Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) pour les projets des petites et moyennes entreprises spécialisées dans la fabrication et la transformation des aliments et des boissons.

« Notre gouvernement met tout en œuvre pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à profiter des occasions d'innover et de créer des emplois, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement aidera les entreprises alimentaires des collectivités de l'ensemble de la région à être plus concurrentielles et à mieux répondre à la demande des consommateurs. »

« L'innovation dans le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons a fait des pas de géants ces dernières années, a affirmé Craig Richardson, président de l'Alliance of Ontario Food Processors. Grâce à cet investissement, les entreprises de transformation des aliments et des boissons de l'Ontario pourront faire les investissements dont elles ont besoin pour demeurer concurrentielles et maintenir des emplois en Ontario. »

Le financement prévu dans le cadre de cette initiative est destiné aux entreprises du secteur de l'alimentation et des boissons qui existent déjà, ont fait leurs preuves et souhaitent assurer leur expansion, se moderniser, innover et accroître leur compétitivité.

Sont admissibles les projets visant à accroître la capacité d'une entreprise, à améliorer la technologie ou l'appareillage qu'elle utilise, à augmenter sa productivité et sa compétitivité, à lui donner accès à de nouveaux marchés, à innover en matière de produits ou de services et à stimuler la commercialisation d'innovations.

Dans le cadre de cet appel de demandes de financement ciblant les entreprises de transformation des aliments et des boissons, les demandes seront acceptées jusqu'au22 décembre 2009. FedDev Ontario privilégiera les projets qui peuvent démarrer rapidement et prendre fin d'ici au 31 mars 2010. Les projets seront évalués en fonction de leur mérite et de leur degré de conformité aux critères du PDSO, ajustées pour cet appel de demande précis, et l'Agence évaluera les demandes à mesure qu'elle les reçoit.

Lancé le 2 octobre 2009, le PDSO mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités, afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel, et il est axé sur le développement économique, l'innovation et la diversification.

Le financement global du PDSO en 2009-2010 est de 100 millions de dollars et, jusqu'à présent, un financement de plus de 90 millions de dollars a été annoncé. D'autres aspects du programme seront annoncés sous peu.

Pour obtenir des précisions au sujet de l'admissibilité à ce programme, veuillez consulter la Fiche d'information du PDSO.

Pour télécharger un formulaire de demande de financement, veuillez visiter le site www.suddelontario.gc.ca.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario a été établi pour promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification de l'économie, la création d'emplois et les collectivités durables dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Le PDSO fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une croissance à long terme.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505


Fiche d'information
Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) Appel de demandes de financement pour le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) est chargée d'exécuter les programmes fédéraux de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités de cette région. Le budget de 2009 a affecté un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans à la nouvelle Agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme pluriannuel est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et d'améliorer la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au PDSO en 2009-2010, y compris :

  • 55 millions de dollars pour le premier processus d'appel de demandes de financement;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC), pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises manufacturières à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l'économie mondiale;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons.

Critères d'admissibilité au financement destiné au secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons

Demandeurs admissibles

Votre entreprise peut être admissible au financement du PDSO si :

  • elle est établie dans le Sud de l'Ontario;
  • elle est une petite et moyenne entreprise (PME), la priorité étant accordée aux entreprises comptant au plus 1 000 employés;
  • ses activités portent sur la fabrication et la transformation d'aliments et de boissons; et
  • elle est en activité à titre d'établissement dont le code du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) débute par 311 ou 312.

Ce programme s'adresse en priorité aux entreprises qui existent déjà, ont fait leurs preuves et souhaitent assurer leur expansion, se moderniser, innover et accroître leur compétitivité. Les entreprises en démarrage n'obtiendront pas de financement.

Projets admissibles

Sont admissibles entre autres, les projets visant :

  • l'accroissement de la capacité;
  • l'amélioration de la technologie ou de l'appareillage;
  • l'augmentation de la productivité et de la compétitivité d'une entreprise;
  • l'accès à de nouveaux marchés;
  • l'innovation en matière de produits ou de services;
  • la commercialisation des innovations.

Financement offert

L'aide financière est accordée dans le cadre de ce programme sous forme de contributions, qui doivent avoir un effet de levier et une incidence économique directe sur la région.

Les contributions aux entreprises commerciales sont remboursables.

Présentation d'une demande

Vous pouvez télécharger en ligne un formulaire de demande facile à remplir à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca. Veuillez faire parvenir les formulaires de demande par courriel, à l'adresse sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca, ou par la poste, au 151, rue Yonge, 3e étage, Toronto (Ontario), M5C 2W7. Chaque proposition de projet doit être accompagnée d'un formulaire de demande distinct et dûment rempli pour pouvoir être prise en considération. Si un demandeur soumet plus d'un projet, il doit classer les projets par ordre de priorité.

Date limite

Les demandes de financement en 2009-2010 seront acceptées du 10 novembre 2009 au 22 décembre 2009. FedDev Ontario privilégiera les projets qui peuvent démarrer rapidement et prendre fin d'ici au 31 mars 2010. Les projets seront évalués en fonction de leur mérite et de leur degré de conformité aux critères du PDSO. L'Agence évaluera les demandes à mesure qu'elle les reçoit.

Critères de sélection

Les projets seront évalués en fonction de leur degré de conformité aux critères de sélection suivants :

  • conformité aux priorités de FedDev Ontario;
  • compatibilité avec les objectifs du PDSO;
  • incidence économique du projet;
  • viabilité économique à long terme du projet;
  • caractère différentiel de l'aide;
  • démonstration du besoin de financement pour la mise en œuvre du projet, tout en tenant compte des autres sources de financement existantes;
  • démonstration que le projet répond à un besoin reconnu et contribue de façon significative au développement économique de la région;
  • capacité de gestion du demandeur;
  • rendement antérieur et viabilité de l'entreprise ou de l'organisme;
  • contribution financière du demandeur au projet;
  • degré d'effet levier du financement commercial et d'autres sources de financement;
  • degré de risque;
  • effets défavorables sur la concurrence.

On accordera la priorité aux organismes ou aux entreprises établis dans des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario comptant au plus 500 000 habitants ainsi qu'aux collectivités dont l'économie est peu diversifiée ou dépend d'un faible nombre d'employeurs.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices du Programme, diffusées dans le site www.suddelontario.gc.ca, faites parvenir un courriel à l'adresse sodp-pdso@feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :