Archived — Minister Goodyear Announces Investment to Help Small- and Medium-Sized Businesses Access International Markets

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear celebrates $1.6 million investment in the Ontario Chamber of Commerce Market Access Program.

L-R; Minister Goodyear celebrates $1.6 million investment in the Ontario Chamber of Commerce Market Access Program with Pat Davidson, MP for Sarnia-Lambton, Louie Dipalma, Program Manager and Garry McDonald, President of the Sarnia-Lambton Chamber of Commerce. Source: Glenn Ogilvie, Canadian Press Images.

For immediate release
November 12, 2009

SARNIA, ON — Southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally can get assistance thanks to a new investment announced by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"This investment will help small- and medium-sized businesses export their products so they can expand and create new jobs," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government is committed to providing greater economic opportunities for the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario."

FedDev Ontario will provide $1.6 million to the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access program. This investment will provide small- to medium-sized enterprises with the tools and resources they need to improve their position in key foreign markets. It will also support two trade missions:  one to China and Hong Kong, and one to India. The program will fund up to 50 per cent of eligible project costs, to a maximum of $30,000 per project. For details on the Export Market Access Program, please see the backgrounder.

"We are extremely happy to be able to accept further support for the Export Market Access program, which has already helped almost 200 Ontario firms diversify their exports," says Len Crispino, President & CEO of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce. "Ontario business is able and eager to compete with the world and with a little help can overcome the challenges associated with breaking into new or expanding current export markets."

This funding follows the recent announcements of a $20-million intake for the food and beverage processing sector, a $15.75-million investment in the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters SMART Program, and a $55-million application intake under the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP).

For more information on the SODP and details regarding the intake processes, please visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca.

The Southern Ontario Development Program was established to promote economic development, economic diversification, job creation and sustainable communities in Southern Ontario. The SODP is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear annonce l'octroi d'un investissement pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à accéder aux marchés internationaux

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Minister Goodyear celebrates $1.6 million investment in the Ontario Chamber of Commerce Market Access Program.

G-D : Le ministre Goodyear célèbre un investissement de 1,6 millions de dollars dans le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access) de la chambre de commerce de l'Ontario avec Pat Davidson, députée de Sarnia-Lambton, Louie Dipalma, gestionnaire du programme et Garry Mcdonald, président de la chambre de commerce de Sarnia-Lambton. Source: Glenn Ogilvie, Canadian Press Images.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 12 novembre 2009

SARNIA, (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé que des fonds seraient débloqués pour aider les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à développer leurs ventes à l'international.

« Cet investissement aidera les petites et moyennes entreprises à exporter leurs produits, ce qui leur permettra d'intensifier leurs activités tout en créant de nouveaux emplois », a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. « Notre gouvernement s'engage à élargir les débouchés économiques pour la population, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. »

FedDev Ontario financera le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access – EMA) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario à hauteur de 1,6 million de dollars. Ces fonds fourniront aux petites et moyennes entreprises les outils et les ressources dont elles ont besoin pour améliorer leur position sur les principaux marchés étrangers. Ils serviront également à financer deux missions commerciales, dont l'une se déroulera en Chine et à Hong-Kong, et l'autre en Inde. Le programme financera jusqu'à 50 p. 100 des coûts admissibles, à concurrence d'un maximum de 30 000 $ par projet. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme EMA, consultez la Fiche d'information.

« Nous sommes extrêmement heureux de pouvoir bénéficier d'un financement supplémentaire pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation, qui a déjà aidé près de 200 entreprises ontariennes à diversifier leurs exportations », a expliqué Len Crispino, président et directeur général de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario. « Un léger coup de pouce suffira à aider le secteur privé ontarien, capable et désireux de faire ses preuves à l'échelle mondiale, à relever les défis que comporte le fait de percer un nouveau marché ou d'étendre ses activités d'exportation. »

Cette annonce survient après celle de plusieurs autres financements, à savoir : 20 millions pour le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons, 15,75 millions de dollars au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada; et 55 millions de dollars pour un processus d'appel de demandes de financement dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO).

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le PDSO ainsi que des précisions concernant les processus d'appel des demandes, veuillez visiter notre site Internet à www.suddelontario.gc.ca.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario a été établi pour promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification de l'économie, la création d'emplois et les collectivités durables dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Le PDSO fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une croissance à long terme.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :