Archived — Minister Goodyear Announces Investment to Expand Juvenile Diabetes Research in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear celebrates a $20 million investment to the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation of Canada.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) celebrates a $20 million investment under the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario, to the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) of Canada. Also in attendance are local Members of Parliament, representatives from both JDRF and the University of Waterloo, as well as families affected by juvenile diabetes. Source: Rainer Leipscher, Canadian Press Images

For immediate release
November 23, 2009

WATERLOO, ON—Southern Ontario will strengthen its position as a hub for international diabetes research thanks to a new partnership that will see hundreds of high-paying, highly skilled new jobs created.  Speaking at the University of Waterloo, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, today announced a $30-million partnership with Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Canada that will expand diabetes research in southern Ontario and bring new technologies to market. 

“Our government supports scientific research because it creates jobs, strengthens the economy and improves Canadians’ quality of life,” said Minister Goodyear. “This investment will advance diabetes research and make sure that southern Ontario continues to be a leading destination for world-class research and commercialization opportunities.”

The government will invest $20 million towards the partnership from the Southern Ontario Development Program, while the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation will contribute $10 million. Funding will support the launch of a Clinical Trial Network in southern Ontario, expand diabetes research, and help bring new technologies to the marketplace, so that Canadians and people around the world can benefit. For example, this partnership will help support the Foundation’s Artificial Pancreas Project and Regenerative Medicine Technology Program.

This new partnership will diversify Ontario’s economy into research fields for which there are worldwide needs, and attract international researchers and institutions to the province.

Andrew McKee, President and CEO of JDRF Canada noted the significance of this announcement: “The government’s commitment to medical research, and further developing southern Ontario as a key international market for commercialization and translational research, is exemplary. This forward-thinking investment comes at a critical stage internationally, as we look to quicken the pace of research leading to cures and better treatments. For JDRF, initiating the network in southern Ontario – home to some of the best universities and research facilities in the world – is a timely global opportunity.”

For additional details on the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, please refer to the backgrounder.

The Foundation’s mission is to find a cure for diabetes and its complications through the support of research. This project will involve institutions such as University of Waterloo and McMaster University along with other southern Ontario institutions. Located in the heart of southern Ontario and among Canada’s leading universities, these universities are ideally positioned to partner with JDRF to accelerate southern Ontario’s path towards being a hub for viable research, development and commercialization.

“The University of Waterloo welcomes the opportunity to bring its expertise in mathematics, computer science and engineering to bear on this exciting and important research venture,” said David Johnston, President of the University of Waterloo. “We look forward to working with McMaster University, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and our government partners on a project to accelerate Canadian-based diabetes research.”

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established to promote economic development, economic diversification, job creation and sustainable communities in southern Ontario. Applications for funding under the first round of funding for SODP are being accepted until December 1, 2009. The SODP is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth. Overall funding for the SODP is $100 million in 2009-10.

For more information on the Southern Ontario Development Program, visit www.southernontario.gc.ca or phone 1-866-593-5505.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear annonce un investissement pour soutenir la recherche sur le diabète juvénile dans le Sud de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear célèbre un investissement de 20 millions de dollars dans la Fondation de la recherche sur le diabète juvénile au Canada.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) célèbre un investissement de 20 millions de dollars pour la Fondation de la recherche sur le diabète juvénile (FDRJ) au Canada avec des députés locaux, des représentants de la FDRJ et l'Université de Waterloo, ainsi que des familles qui sont touchés par le diabète juvénile. Source: Rainer Leipscher, Canadian Press Images

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 novembre 2009

WATERLOO, ON — Le Sud de l'Ontario s'apprête à devenir une référence internationale incontournable en matière de recherche sur le diabète grâce à un nouveau partenariat qui permettra la création de centaines de nouveaux emplois bien rémunérés et hautement spécialisés. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a annoncé aujourd'hui, durant son allocution prononcée à l'Université de Waterloo, qu'une enveloppe de 30 millions de dollars sera allouée à la Fondation de la recherche sur le diabète juvénile (FRDJ) Canada pour lui permettre d'intensifier la recherche dans le Sud de l'Ontario et de favoriser l’introduction de nouvelles technologies sur le marché. 

« Le gouvernement soutient la recherche scientifique, car elle favorise la création d'emplois, la consolidation de l'économie ainsi que l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des Canadiens », a déclaré le ministre. « Cet investissement permettra de poursuivre la recherche sur le diabète et de faire en sorte que le Sud de l'Ontario demeure un lieu de prédilection pour la recherche de calibre mondial et les débouchés commerciaux. »

Le gouvernement investira 20 millions de dollars dans le partenariat dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, tandis que la Fondation de recherche sur le diabète juvénile participera à hauteur de 10 millions de dollars.  Les fonds alloués permettront de financer le lancement d'un Réseau d'essais cliniques dans le Sud de l'Ontario, d'intensifier les recherches sur le diabète et d’introduire de nouvelles technologies sur le marché, au bénéfice des Canadiens et des personnes du monde entier.  Ce partenariat permettra par exemple de contribuer à soutenir financièrement le projet de pancréas artificiel ainsi que le Programme de technologie de médecine régénérative de la fondation.

Ce nouveau partenariat permettra de diversifier l'économie de l'Ontario dans des domaines de recherche d'intérêt mondial, et d'attirer de nouveaux chercheurs et instituts internationaux dans la province.

Andrew McKee, président et directeur-général de la FRDJ Canada, a décrit en ces mots l’importance de cet annonce : « L’engagement du gouvernement en faveur de la recherche médicale et de la consolidation du Sud de l’Ontario en tant que marché international pour la commercialisation et la recherche translationnelle est exemplaire. Cet investissement avant-gardiste est opportun car, à l’échelle internationale, nous souhaitons intensifier les recherches qui mèneront à des médicaments et à de meilleurs traitements. Pour la FRDJ, le fait de lancer ce réseau dans le Sud de l’Ontario, berceau d’universités et de centres de recherche parmi les meilleurs au monde, est une occasion d’envergure mondiale qui tombe à point. »

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la Fondation de recherche sur le diabète juvénile, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

La mission de la FRDJ consiste à trouver un traitement au diabète et aux complications qu'il engendre, en s'appuyant sur la recherche. Ce projet mobilisera divers établissements dont l’Université de Waterloo et l’Université McMaster ainsi que d’autres organismes du Sud de l’Ontario. Situées au cœur de cette région, ces universités, qui se classent parmi les principaux établissements universitaires du Canada, constituent des partenaires de choix de la FRDJ dans la mesure où elles permettront au Sud de l'Ontario de faire figure de référence incontournable en matière de recherche, de développement et de commercialisation.

« À l’Université de Waterloo, nous nous réjouissons de pouvoir contribuer à cet important projet de recherche notre expertise en mathématiques, en sciences informatiques et génie, a souligné David Johnston, président de l’Université de Waterloo. Nous avons hâte de collaborer avec l’Université McMaster, la Fondation de recherche sur le diabète juvénile et nos partenaires gouvernementaux à un projet qui fera progresser la recherche sur le diabète au Canada. »

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) a été établi pour promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification de l'économie, la création d'emplois et les collectivités durables dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Les demandes de financement pour le premier processus d’appel du PDSO peuvent être envoyées jusqu'au 1er décembre 2009. Le PDSO fait partie d’une série d’initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une croissance à long terme. Le financement global du PDSO en 2009-2010 est de 100 millions de dollars.

Pour de détails sur le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, consultez la page www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :