Archived — Canada’s Economic Action Plan Strengthens Ontario’s Economy and Protects Environment

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and Oshawa MP Colin Carrie announce funding to support wildlife and water resource sustainability at the Second Marsh Wildlife Area.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) and Oshawa MP Colin Carrie announce funding under the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario, to support wildlife and water resource sustainability at the Second Marsh Wildlife Area. Source: Sal Sacco, The Canadian Press Images

For immediate release
November 24, 2009

OSHAWA, ON — Wetlands in communities across southern Ontario will be better able to sustain wildlife and water resources that support local economies and quality of life thanks to an investment of up to $3 million. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced that this contribution for Ducks Unlimited Canada (DUC) will create and maintain jobs and will aid the conservation of 72 wetlands on 5,445 acres in the region.

“Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario,” said Minister Goodyear.  “This investment will stimulate the economy today, while benefiting residents and protecting our wetlands and wildlife for the future.” 

Through this investment under the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP), Ducks Unlimited Canada will renew and repair critical wetland infrastructure by replacing water control structures and beaver fences, upgrading safety guards and repairing dykes. The renovation and repair of wetlands will provide immediate economic stimulus to local communities throughout southern Ontario via job creation, material procurement and project supervision. The Government of Canada’s contribution is contingent on the successful completion of the necessary environmental assessment of the proposed projects.

Wetlands provide habitats for a diverse number of species, including species at risk, while contributing to a number of essential societal services that help to ensure sustainable, healthy communities.

“DUC is renowned for its wetland restoration work across Canada,” said Tom Worden, Senior Ontario Director, Ducks Unlimited Canada. “Equally important to this is maintaining the integrity of these habitats once restored. This investment will fund improvement projects at 72 wetlands across southern Ontario to ensure they have a long and productive life.”

DUC, Canada’s leading wetland conservation organization, has been committed to ensuring the protection and preservation of wetland habitats for more than 70 years. Ducks Unlimited Canada works to achieve better wetland habitat for the benefit of wildlife and people, through preservation, scientific research, public policy and education. 

The Southern Ontario Development Program was established to promote economic development, economic diversification, job creation and sustainable communities in southern Ontario. The SODP is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

For more information on the SODP and details regarding the intake processes, please visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca or phone 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada’s Economic Action plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d’action économique du Canada renforce l’économie de l’Ontario et protège l’environnement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et le député d'Oshawa Colin Carrie font l'annonce d'un financement concernant la préservation de la faune et des ressources en eau au Second Marsh Wildlife Area.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et Colin Carrie, député d'Oshawa, au Second Marsh Wildlife Area, font l'annonce d'un financement concernant la préservation de la faune et des ressources en eau dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source : Sal Sacco, The Canadian Press Images

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 24 novembre 2009

OSHAWA, ON — Les milieux humides des collectivités du Sud de l’Ontario seront désormais mieux à même de préserver leur faune et leurs ressources en eau, dont dépendent les économies régionales et la qualité de vie des habitants, grâce à une enveloppe de 3 millions de dollars. L’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a annoncé que les fonds octroyés à Canards Illimités Canada (CIC) permettront non seulement de créer et de conserver des emplois, mais aussi de contribuer à la préservation de 72 milieux humides répartis sur 5 445 acres dans la région.

« Notre gouvernement s’est engagé à créer des emplois et à venir en aide à la population, aux collectivités et aux entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En plus de contribuer à stimuler l’économie dès maintenant, cet investissement sera fort bénéfique pour les résidents et assurera la protection de nos milieux humides et de la faune locale pendant de nombreuses années à venir. » 

Ces fonds, alloués dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario (PDSO), permettront à Canards Illimités Canada de renouveler et de rénover les infrastructures essentielles des milieux humides en remplaçant les installations de régularisation des eaux et les digues de castor, en modernisant les grillages de protection ainsi que les digues. La remise en état des milieux humides aura des répercussions directes sur l’économie de l’ensemble du Sud de l’Ontario en stimulant la création d’emplois, l’approvisionnement en matériel et la supervision de projets. La participation du gouvernement du Canada repose sur l’efficacité de la mise en œuvre des évaluations environnementales des projets en question.

Les milieux humides abritent différentes espèces animales, dont certaines sont menacées, et contribuent à fournir un certain nombre de services à la société qui permettent de garantir la viabilité et la bonne santé des collectivités.

« Notre organisme est renommé pour ses travaux de remise en état des milieux humides dans le pays entier, a déclaré Tom Worden, directeur principal de Canards Illimités Canada pour l’Ontario. Il est tout aussi important de maintenir l’intégrité de ces habitats lorsqu’ils sont rétablis. Cet investissement permettra de financer des projets d’amélioration dans 72 milieux humides partout dans le Sud de l’Ontario, pour assurer leur vitalité et leur productivité à long terme. »

Numéro un canadien de la conservation des milieux humides, Canards Illimités Canada se consacre à la protection et à la préservation des habitats en milieux humides depuis plus de 70 ans. L’organisme met tout en œuvre pour améliorer les habitats en milieux humides pour le bien de la faune et de la population, en misant sur la préservation, la recherche scientifique, les pouvoirs publics et la sensibilisation. 

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario (PDSO) a été établi pour promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification de l’économie, la création d’emplois et les collectivités durables dans le Sud de l’Ontario. Le PDSO fait partie d’une série d’initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une croissance à long terme.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le PDSO ainsi que des précisions concernant les processus d’appel des demandes, veuillez visiter notre site Web www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505. Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du Plan d’action économique du Canada, visitez www.plandaction.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :