Archived — Communities Across Southern Ontario Benefit From Economic Stimulus Funding

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear announces the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) at the Conestoga College Main Campus in Kitchener.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, announces the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) at the Conestoga College Main Campus in Kitchener. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
August 27, 2009

KITCHENER — Residents of communities across southern Ontario will benefit from new economic stimulus projects worth up to $102 million in 2009–2010 under the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) today announced details of this new funding at the Conestoga College Main Campus in Kitchener.

"These investments will create jobs and strengthen the economy of southern Ontario," said Minister of State Goodyear. "I look forward to working with the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario to help our region prosper now and in the future."

Funds are being invested through the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF), and it is the government's intention to support a total of 90 projects in communities across southern Ontario. These investments will create immediate employment opportunities and support local economies in communities throughout southern Ontario that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

Specifically, the Minister of State announced more than $3.3 million in CAF funding in support of the construction of a 12,000-square foot skilled trades training centre for the Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning in Ingersoll.

"We are pleased to be a part of this joint venture with the Town of Ingersoll, which will allow us to offer programs not currently existing in Southwestern Ontario," said Dr. John Tibbits, President of Conestoga College. "These programs will assist unemployed Ontarians, youth in search of future career opportunities, as well as adults transitioning into new careers."

CAF is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth. In Ontario, CAF will provide $348.9 million over two years to support adjustment measures in communities most affected by the global economic downturn.

Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their funding agreements. A complete list of approved projects in southern Ontario will be made available online at http://www.feddevontario.gc.ca/eic/site/723.nsf/eng/00200.html on September 10, 2009.

The new Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) is responsible for delivering CAF in southern Ontario. Applications for 2010–2011 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year. A public announcement will be made once details are finalized.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Partout dans le sud de l’Ontario des collectivités bénéficient d’un financement visant à stimuler l’économie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear annonce le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) au campus principal du collège Conestoga à Kitchener.

Le ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, annonce le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, au campus principal du collège Conestoga, à Kitchener. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 août 2009

KITCHENER — Les résidents des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario bénéficieront de projets de relance économique totalisant jusqu'à 102 millions de dollars en 2009–2010 dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement du Canada. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a annoncé aujourd'hui les détails de ce nouveau financement au campus principal du Collège Conestoga à Kitchener.

« Ces investissements créeront des emplois et renforceront l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, a dit le ministre d'État Goodyear. J'ai hâte de travailler avec les gens, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de la province pour les aider à prospérer, aujourd'hui et demain. »

Ces sommes proviennent du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC), et le gouvernement à l'intention d'appuyer ainsi 90 projets dans les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Ces investissements créeront des possibilités d'emploi immédiates et stimuleront l'économie de collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique mondial.

Plus précisément, le ministre d'État a annoncé un financement de plus de 3,3 millions de dollars dans le cadre du FAC pour financer la construction d'un centre de formation supérieure en métiers spécialisés de 12 000 pieds carrés au Collège Conestoga de technologie et d'enseignement supérieur à Ingersoll.

« Nous sommes heureux de prendre part à cette initiative commune avec la Ville d'Ingersoll, ce qui nous permettra d'offrir des programmes qui n'existent pas à l'heure actuelle dans le Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario, a affirmé M. John Tibbits, président du Collège Conestoga. Ces programmes viendront en aide aux Ontariens au chômage, aux jeunes à la recherche de carrières futures ainsi qu'aux adultes qui font la transition en vue d'entreprendre de nouvelles carrières. »

Le FAC fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement du Canada afin d'aider les collectivités partout au pays à faire face aux répercussions à court terme du ralentissement économique et de les préparer à amorcer une croissance à long terme. En Ontario, le FAC versera 348,9 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour appuyer des mesures d'adaptation mises en œuvre dans les collectivités les plus touchées par le ralentissement économique mondial.

Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions énoncées dans les accords de financement correspondants. La liste complète des projets approuvés dans le Sud de l'Ontario sera diffusée dans le site Web www.ic.gc.ca/fac le 10 septembre 2009.

La nouvelle Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) est responsable de l'administration du FAC pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Les demandes de financement de projets dans le cadre du FAC pour 2010–2011 seront reçues par FedDev Ontario plus tard cette année. Une annonce publique aura lieu une fois que l'on aura précisé les détails.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :