Archived — Welland to Receive Government of Canada Stimulus Funding for Local Project

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 28, 2009

WELLAND — Residents of Welland will benefit from infrastructure improvements to service a future industrial park thanks to new funding under the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today at Welland City Hall.

The government will provide $3.1 million through its Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) to extend water and sewer services to a 110 hectare industrial park including associated road improvements and the installation of railway crossing signals.

"This investment will create jobs and strengthen the local economy," said Minister of State Goodyear. "Welland and the surrounding region is a dynamic area with unique strengths and challenges, and this project will provide direct support for local restructuring efforts."

"The announcement that Welland will be receiving more than $3.1 million to revitalize municipal infrastructure adjacent to the former Atlas steel mill will help the city retain current employers and attract new investment and jobs to our City," said Damian Goulbourne, Mayor of the City of Welland. "Many cities like ours are facing tough times and programs like CAF demonstrate to our residents that things are going to get better."

Up to $102 million will be invested through the CAF for 2009–2010 and it is the government's intention to support a total of 90 projects in communities across southern Ontario. These investments will create immediate employment opportunities and support local economies in communities that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

CAF is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their funding agreements. A complete list of approved projects in southern Ontario will be made available online at http://www.feddevontario.gc.ca/eic/site/723.nsf/eng/h_00100.html on September 10, 2009.

Applications for 2010–2011 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year. A public announcement will be made once details are finalized.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Welland recevra des fonds de relance du gouvernement du Canada pour un projet régional

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 août 2009

WELLAND — Les résidents de Welland bénéficieront d'une amélioration des infrastructures qui permettra de relier aux services municipaux un futur parc industriel, et ce, grâce à de nouveaux investissements dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement du Canada.  L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a en fait l'annonce aujourd'hui à l'Hôtel de ville de Welland.

Par l'entremise du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC), le gouvernement investira 3,1 millions de dollars pour relier aux services de conduites d'eau et d'égout un parc industriel de 110 hectares, améliorer le circuit routier connexe et installer la signalisation ferroviaire.

«   Cet investissement créera des emplois et renforcera l'économie régionale, a souligné le ministre d'État Goodyear. Welland et ses environs forment une région dynamique avec ses forces et ses défis. Ce projet soutiendra directement les efforts de restructuration déployés dans cette région. "

«  Cet investissement de 3,1 millions de dollars pour moderniser l'infrastructure municipale adjacente à l'ancienne aciérie Atlas permettra à la ville de préserver des emplois actuels et de favoriser de nouveaux investissements ainsi que la création d'autres emplois chez nous, a déclaré le maire de la Ville de Welland, Damian Goulbourne. Notre ville, à l'instar de bien d'autres, connaît des temps difficiles, et des programmes comme le FAC démontrent à nos résidents que les choses s'améliorent peu à peu. "

Grâce au FAC, le gouvernement investira jusqu'à 102 millions de dollars en 2009–2010 dans l'intention d'appuyer un total de 90 projets dans les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Ces investissements créeront des perspectives d'emploi immédiates et soutiendront l'économie de collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique mondial.

Le FAC fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement du Canada afin de faire face aux répercussions à court terme du ralentissement économique sur des collectivités des quatre coins du Canada et de préparer ces collectivités à une croissance à long terme.

Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions énoncées dans les accords de financement correspondants. La liste complète des projets approuvés dans le Sud de l'Ontario sera diffusée dans le site Web www.ic.gc.ca/fac le 10 septembre 2009.

Les demandes de financement de projets dans le cadre du FAC pour 2010–2011 seront reçues par FedDev Ontario plus tard cette année. Une annonce publique aura lieu une fois que l'on aura précisé les détails.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :