Archived — Minister of State Goodyear Announces New Measures to Help Small Businesses in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 31, 2009

ESSEX, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario [FedDev Ontario]), today announced a Government of Canada investment in Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs) in Ontario to support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) — key drivers of economic activity in southern Ontario.

"This investment will help rural communities strengthen and diversify their local economies," said Minister Goodyear.  "It will also give small and medium sized businesses in southern Ontario opportunities to grow and create new jobs."

Southern Ontario's 37 CFDCs will receive $30 million from the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) in the current year. This funding is part of the $350 million that the CAF will receive over two years for projects in Ontario. The new measures will increase access to capital and business support for rural SMEs by enhancing products and services offered by Ontario CFDCs.

The Essex CFDCs will receive $1.3 million in capitalization funding and $91 000 for operational costs.

"Essex CFDC recognizes that small business's contribution to job growth forms the backbone of our communities," said Paul Foster, Chair of the Essex CFDC. "Last year Essex CFDCs provided over $1 million in loans to small businesses in Essex County who created or maintained over 140 jobs.  With the additional support being provided through the federal government we can continue to assist these businesses in revitalizing our economy."

Recently, the Government of Canada proposed a five-point stimulus plan for CFDCs in Ontario to improve access to capital for rural SMEs. The points focus on:

  • increased capitalization for additional loans;
  • increased loan cap from $150 000 to $250 000 per loan;
  • increased operating dollars (up to $100 000 per CFDCs) to allow CFDCss to perform outreach and get more loans out, more quickly;
  • enhanced partnerships with the Business Development Bank of Canada and other commercial lenders; and
  • heightened awareness of CFDCs and the services they provide.

CFDCs are community-based, not-for-profit organizations funded through the Community Futures Program. They are run by boards of local volunteers and are staffed by professionals who encourage entrepreneurship and the pursuit of economic opportunities. CFDCs offer a variety of business and community economic development services, including business planning and guidance, access to capital, and strategic community planning.

The CAF is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre d’État Goodyear annonce de nouvelles mesures pour aider les petites entreprises du sud de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
le 31 août 2009

ESSEX (Ontario) — Le ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), l'honorable Gary Goodyear, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement du Canada investirait dans les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) de l'Ontario afin d'appuyer les petites et moyennes entreprises — principaux moteurs de l'activité économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

«   Cet investissement aidera les petites collectivités des régions rurales à renforcer et à diversifier leurs économies locales, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. Il donnera aussi aux petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario la possibilité de se développer et de créer des emplois. "

Les 37 SADC du Sud de l'Ontario recevront 30 millions de dollars provenant du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) pour l'exercice en cours. Ce financement fait partie de l'enveloppe de 350 millions de dollars que le FAC recevra sur deux ans pour des projets mis en œuvre en Ontario. Les nouvelles mesures faciliteront l'accès au capital et accroîtront l'appui aux PME de l'Ontario dans les zones rurales en améliorant les produits et les services offerts par les SADC.

La SADC d'Essex recevra 1,3 million de dollars de fonds d'investissement et 91 000 $ pour les dépenses de fonctionnement.

La SADC d'Essex reconnaît le rôle que les petites entreprises jouent au chapitre de la création d'emplois et elle considère celles-ci comme des piliers au sein de nos collectivités, a déclaré le président de la SADC d'Essex, Paul Foster. L'an dernier, la SADC d'Essex a fourni plus de 1 million de dollars en prêts à des petites entreprises dans le comté d'Essex, et ces sommes ont permis de créer ou de maintenir plus de 140 emplois. Cet appui supplémentaire du gouvernement fédéral nous permettra de continuer d'aider ces entreprises à relancer notre économie. "

Récemment, le gouvernement du Canada a proposé pour les SADC en Ontario un plan de relance à cinq volets visant à faciliter l'accès au capital des PME situées dans les zones rurales. Ces volets mettent l'accent sur :

  • une capitalisation accrue pour des prêts additionnels;
  • un plafond de prêt plus élevé qui passerait de 150 000 $ à 250 000 $ par prêt;
  • la hausse des fonds de fonctionnement (jusqu'à 100 000 $ par SADC) pour permettre aux SADC de rayonner et de consentir plus rapidement un nombre accru de prêts;
  • des partenariats améliorés avec la Banque de développement du Canada et d'autres prêteurs commerciaux;
  • une promotion accrue des SADC et des services qu'elles offrent.

Les SADC sont des organismes communautaires sans but lucratif financés par l'entremise du Programme de développement des collectivités. Chacun est dirigé par un comité de bénévoles locaux et doté de professionnels qui cherchent à favoriser l'esprit d'entreprise et la poursuite de débouchés économiques. Les SADC offrent une gamme de services de développement économique communautaire et commercial, notamment des services de planification d'affaires, des conseils, l'accès aux capitaux et des services de planification communautaire stratégique.

Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités est au nombre des initiatives présentées dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada conçu pour contrer les répercussions à court terme du déclin économique sur les collectivités du Canada, tout en préparant ces dernières à une croissance à long terme.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613-943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :