Archived — Harper Government Announces New Cargo Terminal For London International Airport

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and others are gathered to celebrate a contribution of $8 million to the London International Airport under the Southern Ontario Development Program.

L-R: Steve Baker, President and CEO, London International Airport; Ed Holder, MP for London West; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario); and Anne Marie DeCicco-Best, Mayor of the City of London. The depicted are gathered to celebrate a contribution of $8 million to the London International Airport under the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario. Source: Steve Martin, The Canadian Press Images.

Investment will create jobs and improve trade for vital region

For Immediate Release
November 30, 2009

LONDON, ON – Businesses in London and the area will have a greater opportunity to access and compete in international markets thanks to an investment of up to $8 million to establish an International Air Freight Transshipment Centre at the London International Airport that will create up to 150 new jobs and launch a new Cargo Village Gateway. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, made the announcement at the airport today.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and strengthening the economy in communities across southern Ontario", said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will benefit Londoners and local businesses throughout the region, and help London become a leading transportation and economic gateway in North America."

"London told us their priority was the Airport – and we delivered. This investment by our government is a fulfillment of the number-one infrastructure request of our local government, business associations, regional leaders and key stakeholders. Our investment is significant and it creates an economic legacy for years to come. London's economy is well-positioned to rebound faster as a "result of smart, strategic investments like this," said Ed Holder, Member of Parliament for London West.

The new cargo terminal will generate nearly 100 initial jobs consisting of freight handling, packaging, handling logistics, etc., with an additional 50 jobs to support customs activities and trucking. Each additional flight to London would add an additional 12 per cent in job growth.

The London International Airport and the City of London have initiated a joint venture agreement to develop 200 acres of land referred to as Skyway Industrial Park. The City of London, the London International Airport and the Government of Canada will contribute as partners to Phase One of the Cargo Village Gateway project. This will include airport land servicing, taxiway expansion and the development a freight terminal as a major step towards a foreign trade zone.

"This is very encouraging news for all Londoners and will create new jobs and industries to stimulate our economy," says Anne Marie DeCicco-Best, Mayor of the City of London. "Based on our strategic location, and this welcome financial support, the City of London can truly partner with London International Airport to implement an innovative new strategy to effectively serve as Southwestern Ontario's transportation hub for the future."

The enhanced development will allow London International Airport to capture an opportunity to become an international trade centre that generates international transportation, enhanced competitiveness for regional business and new sustainable employment. For more information on the project, please see the backgrounder.

"This strategic investment will propel the advancement of London and southwestern Ontario as a major international transportation centre and create a legacy of sustainable new employment with a connected region for business. London International Airport will develop greenfield investment opportunities for a wide variety of sectors, including distribution centers, warehousing and manufacturing," said Steve Baker, President, London International Airport.

This investment comes from the $55-million intake process under the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP), which is open until December 1, 2009. The SODP was established to promote economic development, economic diversification, job creation and sustainable communities in southern Ontario. The SODP is just one in a series of initiatives introduced in the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan designed to address the short-term effects of the economic decline on communities across Canada, while preparing our communities for long-term growth. Overall funding for the SODP is $100 million in 2009–10.

For more information on the SODP and details regarding the intake processes, please visit the FedDev Ontario web site. For more information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For more information (media only), please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613–943-2505

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper annonce une nouvelle aérogare de fret pour l'aéroport international de London

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres personnes se rassemblent pour célébrer une contribution de 8 millions de dollars à l'aéroport international de London dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario.

G-D : Steve Baker, président, aéroport international de London, Ed Holder, député de London-Ouest, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et Anne Marie DeCicco-Best, mairesse de la Ville de London, célèbrent une contribution de 8 millions de dollars à l'aéroport international de London dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source: Steve Martin, The Canadian Press Images.

Investir pour créer de l'emploi et améliorer le commerce dans cette importante région

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 30 novembre 2009

LONDON (Ontario) — L'aéroport international de London pourra assurer aux entreprises de la région un meilleur accès aux marchés internationaux et la capacité de s'y positionner avantageusement grâce à un investissement à hauteur de 8 millions de dollars pour l'aménagement d'un centre international de transbordement de fret aérien qui créera 150 nouveaux emplois et établira la porte d'entrée de la cité du fret. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a en fait l'annonce aujourd'hui à l'aéroport.

« Notre gouvernement s'engage à créer des emplois et à renforcer l'économie au sein des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Ce financement profitera aux habitants de London et aux entreprises de la région, tout en contribuant à faire de la ville une référence en matière de transport et un centre économique incontournable en Amérique du Nord. »

« London nous a fait savoir que l'aéroport était au centre de ses priorités, et nous en avons tenu compte. Le financement alloué par le gouvernement du Canada répond en effet à la demande numéro un d'infrastructures émanant de toutes les strates du gouvernement à London, de nos associations d'entreprises locales ainsi que de nos intervenants régionaux. Il s'agit d'un investissement de grande importance qui permettra de bâtir un patrimoine économique pour les générations à venir. L'économie de London pourra reprendre plus rapidement grâce à des investissements stratégiques aussi judicieux » , a déclaré Ed Holder, député de London-Ouest.

La nouvelle aérogare de fret permettra initialement la création de quelque 100 emplois dans des activités incluant la manutention et l'emballage des marchandises, ainsi que la logistique associée à la manutention, puis, 50 autres emplois dans des activités associées à la douane et au camionnage. Chaque nouveau vol à destination de London pourrait favoriser une croissance de l'emploi de 12 p. 100.

L'aéroport international et la Ville de London ont conclu un accord de coentreprise pour mettre en valeur 200 acres de terrain dans le cadre du projet « Skyway Industrial Park ». La Ville de London, l'aéroport international de London et le gouvernement du Canada appuieront, en tant que partenaires, la première phase du projet de porte d'entrée à la cité du fret. Cela comprendra les services aéroportuaires au sol, l'agrandissement de la voie de circulation et l'aménagement de l'aérogare de fret comme étape majeure en vue de la création d'une zone de commerce extérieur.

« Il s'agit d'une grande nouvelle pour tous les habitants de London, car cela stimulera la création d'emplois et de secteurs qui favoriseront la relance de notre économie, a indiqué Anne Marie DeCicco-Best, mairesse de London. En effet, grâce à son emplacement stratégique et à ce financement opportun, la Ville de London sera réellement en mesure de travailler en collaboration avec l'aéroport international de London à la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie innovante afin de devenir le centre névralgique du transport du Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario. »

Cette mise en valeur permettra à l'aéroport international de London de saisir l'occasion de devenir un centre de commerce international offrant des services de transports, une compétitivité accrue aux entreprises régionales et la création d'emplois durables. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations au sujet du projet, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information (anglais seulement).

« Ce financement stratégique permettra de transformer London et le Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario en référence incontournable en matière de transport, et de créer un secteur d'emplois durables au sein d'une région facilement accessible et attrayante pour les entreprises. L'aéroport international de London offrira des possibilités d'investissements en installations nouvelles pour tout un éventail de secteurs, notamment la distribution, l'entreposage et la fabrication » , a expliqué Steve Baker, président, aéroport international de London.

Cet investissement est consenti à l'issue du premier processus d'appel de demandes de financement, lequel prévoit des contributions de 55 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) et est ouvert jusqu'au 1er décembre 2009. Le PDSO a été établi pour promouvoir le développement économique, la diversification de l'économie, la création d'emplois et les collectivités durables dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Le PDSO fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une croissance à long terme. Le financement global affecté au PDSO en 2009–2010 s'élève à 100 millions de dollars.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le PDSO ainsi que des précisions concernant les processus d'appel des demandes, veuillez visiter notre site Web. Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez www.plandaction.gc.ca.

-30-

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613–943-2505

  • Partager
Date de modification :