Archived — FedDev Ontario – Creating Jobs, Stimulating Economy Through Canada’s Economic Action Plan

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
December 4, 2009

OTTAWA, ON — The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) has announced more than $300 million in stimulus funding since its launch in August, which demonstrates the tremendous progress being made under Canada's Economic Action Plan.

"Our government continues to deliver on its commitment made in Canada's Economic Action Plan to stimulate the economy and create jobs," said the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario. "Through our stimulus programs, we are creating thousands of jobs throughout the province, revitalizing critical municipal infrastructure and providing targeted support for struggling businesses and industry sectors to ensure they grow and prosper, both now and in the future."

In addition to implementing economic development programs like the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) and the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF), FedDev Ontario is also responsible for delivering infrastructure stimulus programs including the Building Canada Fund (BCF) and the Recreational Infrastructure Canada (RInC) Program in Ontario. 

Of the 90 projects announced this September under the CAF, more than 80 per cent of projects are already underway. One project, which will see the construction of an academic and wellness facility for St. Clair College, will create nearly 400 jobs alone in the Chatham-Kent area.

Through the RInC Program in Ontario, our government is strengthening communities and enhancing recreational infrastructure through investments in 766 projects in urban and rural areas. More than a third of these projects are underway to help keep our residents active and improve their quality of life. For example, the City of Thunder Bay is rehabilitating the Fort William Stadium, which serves as the principal track and field facility for both the City and the northwestern Ontario region and was host for the 1981 Jeux Canada Games

Under the Building Canada Fund Communities Component, money is moving out the door quickly to provide cleaner water, safer roads and bridges, improved waste management systems and better recreation facilities. For example, construction is well underway to expand the Wayne Gretzky Centre in Brantford, which will benefit from nearly $16 million in federal funding. With municipal and provincial funding included, the project represents a direct investment of more than $47 million in Brantford and the surrounding area.  Under the Communities Component, more than 83 per cent of projects have started construction.

FedDev Ontario has also announced a number of local initiatives under the SODP, such as $8 million to build an air cargo terminal for the London International Airport and $5.2 million for COM DEV International to create micro-satellite system technology.

All of these projects play a key role in encouraging local economic growth and creating jobs for residents of Ontario. They have been made possible thanks to a series of initiatives introduced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, which is addressing the short-term effects of the economic decline, while preparing our communities for long-term prosperity.

For more information on FedDev Ontario, please visit www.southernontario.gc.ca. For more information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, please contact www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For media inquiries, please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — FedDev Ontario – Créer des emplois et stimuler l’économie par le Plan d’action économique du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 4 décembre 2009

OTTAWA (Ontario) — L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a annoncé depuis qu'il a été lancé en août un financement de plus 300 millions de dollars pour stimuler l'économie, ce qui témoigne des progrès considérables accomplis dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada.  

«   Notre gouvernement continue de donner suite à l'engagement qu'il a pris dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada de stimuler l'économie et de créer des emplois, a déclaré l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario. Par nos programmes de stimulants, nous créons des milliers d'emplois partout dans la province, nous revitalisons des infrastructures municipales d'une importance cruciale et nous fournissons un soutien ciblé aux entreprises et aux secteurs industriels qui luttent pour leur survie, afin d'assurer leur croissance et leur prospérité, maintenant et pendant de nombreuses années à venir. "

En plus d'assurer la mise en œuvre de programmes de développement économique tels que le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) et le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC), FedDev Ontario est chargée de la bonne marche de programmes de stimulants visant à améliorer les infrastructures, comme le Fonds Chantiers Canada (FCC) et le Programme d'Infrastructures de loisirs Canada (ILC) en Ontario. 

Des 90 projets annoncés ce septembre dans le cadre du FAC, plus de 80 p 100 des projets sont déjà démarrés. Un de ces projets, portant sur la construction d'un établissement d'enseignement et de mieux-être au Collège St. Clair, créera à lui seul près de 400 emplois dans la région de Chatham-Kent.

Par le Programme ILC en Ontario, notre gouvernement contribue à accroître la vitalité de nos collectivités et améliorer les infrastructures récréatives par des investissements dans 766 projets en milieu urbain et rural. Plus du tiers de ces projets sont en cours pour aider notre population à continuer de mener une vie active et améliorer la qualité de vie des gens. Par exemple, la Ville de Thunder Bay a amorcé les travaux de remise en état du Stade de Fort William, le principal centre d'athlétisme de la Ville et du Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario, qui a accueilli les Jeux Canada Games en 1981

Dans le cadre du Volet Collectivités du Fonds Chantiers Canada, le financement est versé sans tarder pour assurer un approvisionnement en eau plus salubre, accroître la sécurité des routes et des ponts, améliorer les systèmes de gestion des déchets et aménager de meilleures installations de loisirs. Entre autres, les travaux d'agrandissement du Centre Wayne Gretzky à Brantford sont bien avancés, et ce projet bénéficie d'un financement fédéral de près de 16 millions de dollars. En y ajoutant le financement municipal et provincial, ce projet représente un investissement direct de plus de 47 millions de dollars à Brantford et dans la région avoisinante. La construction a déjà débuté dans plus de 83 p. 100  des projets financés par le Volet Collectivités.

FedDev Ontario a annoncé par ailleurs le financement consenti par le PDSO à une série d'initiatives locales, notamment 8 millions de dollars pour la construction d'une nouvelle aérogare de fret pour l'Aéroport international de London, et 5,2 millions de dollars consentis à COM DEV International pour mettre au point une technologie de systèmes de microsatellites.

Tous ces projets contribuent grandement à stimuler la croissance économique locale et la création d'emplois pour les Ontariens. Ils ont pu se concrétiser grâce à une série d'initiatives lancées par le Plan d'action économique du Canada, pour contrer les effets à court terme du ralentissement économique sur les collectivités canadiennes tout en les préparant à une prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur FedDev Ontario, veuillez visiter www.suddelontario.gc.ca. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet du Plan d'action économique du Canada, veuillez consulter www.plandaction.gc.ca.

-30-

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

  • Partager
Date de modification :