Archived — Harper Government Invests in Small- and Medium-Sized Businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear announces the launch of the second intake of the Community Adjustment Fund in St. Catharines. With him are MP Rick Dykstra and St. Catharines-Thorold Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice-President Walter Sendzik.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced the launch of the second intake of the Community Adjustment Fund, delivered by FedDev Ontario, in St. Catharines. With him are MP Rick Dykstra (left) and St. Catharines-Thorold Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice-President Walter Sendzik (right). Source: B. Tymczyszyn, The Canadian Press Images

Intake Two of the Community Adjustment Fund supports economic recovery and job creation

For immediate release
December 15, 2009

ST. CATHARINES, ON – Community organizations, small to medium-sized businesses, and municipalities that have been affected by the global recession can now apply for funding under Intake Two of the Community Adjustment Fund. Speaking at the St. Catharines-Thorold Chamber of Commerce, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario) today launched the second phase of the program, which is part of the government's Economic Action Plan.

"The Community Adjustment Fund is creating jobs and stimulating the economy in southern Ontario,The Community Adjustment Fund is creating jobs and stimulating the economy in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This expanded intake process will help people, organizations and businesses in smaller communities prosper now and in the future." said Minister Goodyear. "This expanded intake process will help people, organizations and businesses in smaller communities prosper now and in the future.The Community Adjustment Fund is creating jobs and stimulating the economy in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This expanded intake process will help people, organizations and businesses in smaller communities prosper now and in the future."

SMEs, municipalities, not-for-profits, Aboriginal organizations, colleges and universities are all eligible to submit projects.

The Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) will support projects in and around resource-based and manufacturing communities depending on a single industry. The fund will invest in projects that create immediate job opportunities for communities. It will focus not only on economic development, but innovation and diversification.

Overall funding for the second intake process is $127.8 million in 2010–11.

Applications for funding in 2010–11 will be accepted from December 15, 2009, to January 18, 2010. For additional details on program eligibility, please see the backgrounder. To download an application, please visit www.southernontario.gc.ca.

CAF is one of a series of initiatives, unveiled as part of the Economic Action Plan, to help communities address the short-term challenges from the economic downturn and prepare them for long-term growth.

For media enquiries:

- 30 -

For media inquiries, please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Media Relations, Industry Canada, 613–943-2505


Backgrounder: Community Adjustment Fund (CAF)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver economic development programs to support workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.
One of the Agency's mandates is to administer the southern Ontario portion of the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF), a two-year, $1-billion program aimed at addressing the short-term economic needs of communities that have been hard-hit by the global economic recession.

Under Intake One of the program, more than $101 million was invested in 90 projects in southern Ontario. Under the second intake, $127.8 million is available for eligible projects.

Eligible communities

To be eligible for CAF support, projects must be located in a southern Ontario community that has a population of less than 250,000 and

  • has experienced an increase in Employment Insurance beneficiaries equal to or greater than 20 per cent over a one-year period; or
  • has experienced major layoffs resulting in significant job losses and has a lack of alternate employment opportunities.

Priority will be given to communities that have a population of 100,000 or less and are supported by a single industry.

Eligible applicants

Your organization or enterprise may qualify for CAF funds if it is located in southern Ontario and is one of the following:

  • a commercial enterprise (with a focus on small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), defined as having up to 1,000 employees)*;
  • SME group or association;
  • incorporated non-profit organization whose primary mission is business support or economic development;
  • organization or institution dedicated to the promotion of knowledge and know-how, including colleges, polytechnic institutes, universities or teaching institutions;
  • Aboriginal organization;
  • municipality or organization owned by a municipality; or
  • cooperative.

* With respect to commercial enterprises, the focus of this program will be on existing businesses (in operation for at least one year) with a proven track record that are looking to expand, modernize, innovate, and/or improve their competitiveness. Business start-ups will not be supported.

Eligible project categories

Examples of eligible projects include:

  • expansion of SME production capacity, production technology, access to markets, and other SME projects that improve a business's competitiveness;
  • support of SME development by not-for-profit organizations;
  • support/enhancement/development of business incubators;
  • construction/expansion/improvement of technology and innovation centres;
  • technology commercialization projects by universities, colleges, polytechnic institutes and post-secondary teaching institutions;
  • improvement/expansion/construction of transportation infrastructure where a clear case for business development can be made;
  • improvements to community-owned tourism facilities (conference centres, exhibition halls); or
  • revitalization and development of downtown core and waterfront areas.

Selection Criteria

Projects will be assessed based on the degree to which they contribute to the expected outcomes of: job creation or preservation; the creation, expansion or strengthening of businesses; and the enhancement of, competitiveness and sustainability of communities and businesses.

Priority will be given to projects that:

  • create immediate and sustained employment;
  • create the most jobs per dollar invested;
  • build on collaborative agreements already in place (e.g., federal-provincial agreements and existing programs);
  • provide a legacy of longer-term ecological and/or economic benefits; and
  • demonstrate leveraging of other sources of financing.

For additional assessment criteria, please refer to the Program Guidelines.

Repayability

Financial assistance awarded under this program is provided in the form of contributions, which must have a direct economic impact on the region.

Contributions to commercial enterprises are repayable. Contributions to non-profit organizations or municipalities for projects that are not profit generating are generally non-repayable.

Application

A straightforward application form is available to download online at http://www.southernontario.gc.ca. Applications should be submitted online or by mail to 151 Yonge Street, 3rd Floor, Toronto ON, M5C 2W7. Each project must have a separate and fully completed application form to be considered. If an applicant submits more than one project, these must be ranked in order of priority.

Deadline

Applications to access funding for 2010–11 will be accepted from December 15, 2009, to January 18, 2010. Multi-year projects will not be considered. Applications will be assessed based on merit and against CAF criteria. Applications will be reviewed as they are received by the Agency.

For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the web site at http://www.southernontario.gc.ca, email info@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866–593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper investit dans les petites et moyennes entreprises

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear annonce le lancement du deuxième appel de demandes du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités à St. Catharines. Il est accompagné du député Rick Dykstra et du vice-président de la chambre de commerce de St. Catharines-Thorold, Walter Sendzik.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), annonce le lancement du deuxième appel de demandes du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario à St. Catharines, avec député Rick Dykstra (à gauche) et vice-président de la chambre de commerce de Thorold-St. Catharines, Walter Sendzik (à droite). Source: B. Tymczyszyn, The Canadian Press Images

Le deuxième appel de demandes du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités favorise la reprise économique et la création d'emplois

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 15 décembre 2009

ST. CATHARINES (ONTARIO) – Les organismes communautaires, les petites et moyennes entreprises et les municipalités touchés par la récession mondiale peuvent désormais présenter une demande de financement dans le cadre du deuxième appel de demandes du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités. Lors d'une allocution prononcée à la Chambre de commerce de St. Catharines-Thorold, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a annoncé aujourd'hui le lancement de la deuxième phase du programme, qui fait partie du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement.

« Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités s'efforce de créer des emplois et de stimuler l'économie dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. L'élargissement du processus d'appel de demandes permettra à des individus, à des entreprises et à des organismes établis au sein de collectivités plus modestes de se développer, aujourd'hui comme à l'avenir. »

Les PME, les municipalités, les organismes sans but lucratif, les organismes autochtones, les établissements d'enseignement supérieur et les universités peuvent prétendre à un financement de projet.

Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) soutiendra des projets relatifs aux collectivités de la région, notamment celles tributaires d'un seul secteur de fabrication ou d'exploitation des ressources. Cette initiative financera des projets qui permettront d'élargir immédiatement les possibilités d'emploi dans les collectivités. L'accent sera mis non seulement sur le développement économique, mais aussi sur l'innovation et la diversification.

Un total de 127,8 millions sera accordé en 2010–2011 dans le cadre du deuxième appel de demandes.

Les demandes de financement pour 2010–2011 seront acceptées du 15 décembre 2009 au 18 janvier 2010. Veuillez consulter la fiche d'information pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les critères d'admissibilité au programme. Les formulaires de demande peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site www.suddelontario.gc.ca.

Le FAC fait partie d'une série d'initiatives lancées dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique pour aider les collectivités à relever les défis immédiats posés par le ralentissement économique et à instaurer une croissance à long terme.

Pour de plus amples renseignements aux médias, veuillez vous adresser à :

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des Communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, Industrie Canada, 613–943-2505


Fiche d'information: Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC)

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), annoncée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour soutenir les travailleurs, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, on a consacré un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans à cette nouvelle agence.

L'un des mandats de l'Agence est d'administrer le volet du Sud de l'Ontario du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC), un programme d'un million de dollars sur deux ans pour répondre aux besoins à court terme des collectivités les plus durement touchées par la récession économique mondiale.

Dans le cadre du premier appel de demandes du programme, on a investi plus de 101 millions de dollars dans 90 projets dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le cadre du deuxième appel, on consacrera jusqu'à 127,8 millions de dollars aux projets retenus.

Collectivités admissibles

Pour pouvoir prétendre à un soutien du FAC, les projets doivent être menés dans une collectivité du Sud de l'Ontario comptant moins de 250 000 habitants, et :

  • dont le nombre des bénéficiaires de l'assurance-emploi a augmenté d'au moins 20 p. 100 en l'espace d'un an; ou
  • dont le marché de l'emploi connaît des difficultés du fait de licenciements massifs et du manque de débouchés professionnels.

La priorité sera accordée aux collectivités tributaires d'un seul secteur d'activités et dont la population ne dépasse pas les 100 000 habitants.

Demandeurs admissibles

Si votre organisme ou entreprise est établi dans le Sud de l'Ontario et répond à l'un des critères suivants, cet organisme ou entreprise peut être admissible au financement dans le cadre du FAC :

  • Entreprises commerciales (en particulier les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) comptant au plus 1 000 employés)*;
  • Regroupements ou associations de PME;
  • Organismes sans but lucratif dont la mission principale est le soutien aux entreprises ou le développement économique;
  • Organismes ou établissements dédiés à la promotion et à la diffusion des connaissances et du savoir-faire, tels que les collèges, les écoles polytechniques, les universités ou les établissements d'enseignement;
  • Organismes autochtones;
  • Municipalités ou organismes appartenant à une municipalité; ou
  • Coopératives.

* En ce qui concerne les entreprises commerciales, le programme vise les entreprises existantes (en activité depuis au moins un an) qui ont fait leurs preuves et qui désirent se développer, se moderniser, innover ou accroître leur compétitivité. Aucun soutien ne sera offert aux entreprises en démarrage.

Catégories de projets admissibles

Voici des exemples de projets admissibles :

  • expansion de la capacité de production, des ressources technologiques, de l'accès aux marchés des PME, et autres projets destinés à accroître leur compétitivité commerciale;
  • soutien du développement des PME par des organismes sans but lucratif;
  • soutien/développement/renforcement d'incubateurs d'entreprises;
  • construction/expansion/modernisation de centres de technologie et d'innovation;
  • projet de commercialisation de la technologie mis en place par des universités, de collèges, des écoles polytechniques et des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire;
  • modernisation/expansion/construction d'infrastructures de transport qui peuvent clairement faciliter le développement d'entreprises;
  • modernisation de complexes touristiques de la collectivité (centres de conférences, halls d'expositions);
  • revitalisation et développement des principales zones du centre-ville et du secteur riverain.

Critères de sélection

Les projets seront évalués en fonction de leur degré de conformité aux objectifs suivants: la création et le maintien d'emplois; la création, le développement ou la consolidation des entreprises, ainsi que l'amélioration de la compétitivité et de la viabilité des collectivités et des entreprises.

La priorité sera accordée aux projets permettant :

  • la création immédiate d'emplois durables;
  • la création du plus grand nombre d'emplois par dollar investi;
  • la mise à profit des accords de coopération déjà en place (ententes fédérales-provinciales et programmes existants, par exemple);
  • l'obtention de résultats durables en matière d'économie ou de protection de l'environnement;
  • l'instauration d'un effet de levier des autres sources de financement.

Pour prendre connaissance d'autres critères d'évaluation, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices du programme.

Remboursement

L'aide financière accordée dans le cadre de ce programme prendra la forme de contributions qui doivent avoir une incidence économique directe sur la région.

Les contributions aux entreprises commerciales sont remboursables. Ce n'est généralement pas le cas des contributions versées aux organismes sans but lucratif ou aux municipalités dans le cadre de projets sans but lucratif. 

Demande

On peut télécharger un formulaire de demande simple à partir du site Web suivant :www.suddelontario.gc.ca. On doit présenter sa demande en ligne ou par la poste à l'adresse qui suit : 151, Yonge Street, 3e étage, Toronto (Ont.)  M5C 2W7. Pour être prise en considération, chaque proposition de projet doit être accompagnée d'un formulaire de demande distinct et dûment rempli. Dans le cas où l'on présente une demande pour plus d'un projet, on doit classer les propositions par ordre de priorité.

Date limite

Les demandes d'obtention de financement en 2010–2011 seront reçues du 15 décembre 2009 au 18 janvier 2010. Les projets pluriannuels ne seront pas pris en considération. Les demandes seront évaluées à la lumière des critères de mérite comparés aux exigences du programme du FAC. Elles seront examinées à mesure que l'Agence les recevra.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web suivant : www.suddelontario.gc.ca, envoyer un courriel ou appeler au 1-866–593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :