Archived — Southern Ontario Businesses Will Have Greater Access to Venture Capital Money Through a New Investment from FedDev Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For Immediate Release
September 1, 2009

LONDON, ON – Small and medium-sized enterprises in southern Ontario will have greater access to venture capital money, thanks to an new investment announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"This investment will give new and growing businesses the opportunity to expand and create jobs," said Minister of State Goodyear. "As Canada emerges from the global recession, providing firms with more access to venture capital money will also help lead to greater prosperity in southern Ontario."

"Canada needs entrepreneurs who can turn new ideas and technology into attractive products and successful companies," said Jacques Simoneau, Executive Vice President, Investments, at the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC). "The funding that is being made available today by the Government of Canada will strengthen the BDC's efforts to help deserving Canadian high-tech ventures in southern Ontario in the current economy."

FedDev Ontario will provide $50 million to the BDC, including $35 million in capital to place direct investments in early-stage firms in southern Ontario and $15 million to invest in Ontario-based venture capital funds focused on Ontario-based opportunities.

As part of its decision-making process, the BDC will collaborate with the Ontario Venture Capital Fund, which is a partnership between the Ontario government, the BDC, the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System Capital Partners, RBC Capital Partners, Manulife Financial, and TD Bank Financial Group and is managed by TD Capital Private Equity Investors.

The BDC's venture capital investments support the development of high-potential Canadian technology companies and help cultivate them into globally focused, growth-oriented companies. The BDC's specialized equity investments cover every stage of a company's development cycle, from pre-seed through expansion. Investments target multiple sectors: Information and Communication Technologies (IT and Telecommunications), Life Sciences (Drug Discovery and Medical Technologies), and Energy (Environment, Electronics and Materials).

The BDC is Canada's business development bank. From more than 100 offices across the country, the BDC promotes entrepreneurship by providing highly tailored financing, venture capital and consulting services to entrepreneurs. To learn more, please visit the BDC website.


Backgrounder
Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario

In Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Government of Canada committed to providing short-term stimulus to communities hard-hit by the recession while delivering long-term funding designed to promote economic growth, job creation and innovation. Budget 2009 provided $1 billion over five years for a new economic development agency for southern Ontario.

On August 13, 2009, Prime Minister Stephen Harper formally launched the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). This new agency is charged with delivering federal government economic development programs tailored to the specific priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario.

The Prime Minister announced that the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology) (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario) has assumed responsibility for the Agency and that B.A.(Bruce) Archibald is serving as its first President.

In its first year of operation, FedDev Ontario will focus on putting economic development programs into action. The Agency will assess immediate opportunities and needs, then bridge into broader program initiatives once it is fully operational.

FedDev Ontario and Industry Canada will work with community stakeholders to identify and support projects that address current economic challenges.

The Agency will initially use existing programs and partnerships to expedite the provision of funds. This will start money flowing immediately into southern Ontario communities and businesses.

Funding in 2009–10 will be approximately $206 million, including operating costs, focused on three priority areas: economic development, diversification and community development.

The Southern Ontario Development Program has been established to promote economic development, economic diversification and job creation. As a core program, it will deliver close to $100 million in funding over 2009–10.

FedDev Ontario will help southern Ontario communities diversify their local economies and expand into a wider range of value-added and technology-driven products and services. It will provide the tools for its partners in the region to build on their strengths, positioning southern Ontario to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.


PROGRAMS TO BE ADMINISTERED BY FEDDEV ONTARIO

Southern Ontario programs to be administered by, or in conjunction with, FedDev Ontario include:

Community Adjustment Fund in Ontario

The Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) is a short-term economic stimulus for communities impacted by the global recession. Part of Canada's Economic Action Plan, the fund supports projects that create jobs and maintain employment in and around the communities that have been most severely affected by the economic downturn. Funding is available for eligible projects that can be completed before March 31, 2010. Applications for 2010–11 CAF project funds will be accepted by FedDev Ontario later this year.

National Research Council - Industrial Research Assistance Program

National Research Council Canada's Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) stimulates wealth creation for Canada through technological innovation. It provides financial and technological assistance to small and medium-sized enterprises, targeting those engaged in the research, development, adaptation, adoption, or commercialization of innovative products, services or processes.

NRC-IRAP already has $67.3 million in funds available, and will receive an additional $27.5 million to further build the innovative capacities of southern Ontario's small and medium-sized enterprises.

Community Futures Program

Ontario's Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs) will receive an additional $30 million from the Community Adjustment Fund in 2009–10. The Community Futures Program assists rural and northern communities to strengthen and diversify their economies.

The Program is implemented through CFDCs located in communities across the province, including 37 in rural southern Ontario. Small and medium-sized enterprises, as well as non-profit organizations, can receive repayable financing and important support services.

Business Development Bank of Canada

The Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) will invest a total of $50 million in southern Ontario through direct investments in firms and through investments in venture capital funds. These investments support the development of high-potential Canadian technology companies and will help develop a high-performing, sustainable venture capital industry in the region.


Backgrounder
Business Development Bank of Canada

The Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) aims to accelerate the success of entrepreneurs and help develop Canadian businesses by providing financing, venture capital and consulting services with a focus on small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). The BDC does not offer grants or subsidies; rather, it seeks to earn a return from the business financing it provides while extending financing into market niches that would not otherwise be served.

The BDC is mandated to be a complementary lender in the market, offering loans and investments that supplement or complete services already available from commercial financial institutions. Its financial activities include secured and unsecured loans; subordinate financing, which incorporates elements of debt and equity financing; direct and indirect venture capital investments with a focus on early-stage high-technology ventures; and customized business consulting services.

The BDC's role is magnified during economic slowdowns. Since the start of the credit crisis, the BDC has introduced a number of remedial measures. It has:

  • increased overall financing activity;
  • extended repayment terms on new authorizations;
  • offered postponement of capital repayment;
  • increased support to manufacturers and dedicated a team to help Ontario auto parts manufacturers in particular;
  • introduced the Operating Line of Credit Guarantee;
  • seen a significant increase in referrals from financial institutions; and
  • launched a new working capital loan for expansion projects abroad.

In fiscal 2008–09, the BDC authorized $3.1 billion in new loans. It has also conducted approximately $1.3 billion in activity under the Business Credit Availability Program, as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan.

The BDC holds a loan portfolio of about $11 billion. Broken down by industry sector, this translates into 30.4 percent of its loans for the manufacturing sector, 21 percent for wholesale and retail trade, 12.5 percent for tourism, 7 percent for construction, 5.1 percent for transportation and storage, 7.4 percent for commercial properties, 4.5 percent for business services, and 12.1 percent for other industries.

The BDC has both a physical and a virtual pan-Canadian presence, serving over 28 000 Canadian entrepreneurs through 100 branches in all regions of the country. It provides advice and financing to entrepreneurs from diverse backgrounds, venture capital for start-ups, and working capital to help small exporters bridge the gap between the Canadian market in which they operate and their targeted international market. The BDC is well positioned to help its clients and will continue to support Canadian entrepreneurs as a whole.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario auront un meilleur accès au capital de risque grâce à un nouvel investissement de FedDev Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 1 septembre 2009

London (Ontario) – Les petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario auront un accès accru au capital de risque grâce à un nouvel investissement annoncé aujourd'hui par le ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), l'honorable Gary Goodyear.

« Cet investissement aidera les entreprises nouvelles ou en croissance à étendre leurs activités et à créer des emplois, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. Le fait de fournir aux entreprises un accès accru au capital de risque aura aussi pour effet de favoriser une plus grande prospérité dans le Sud de l'Ontario, au fur et à mesure que le Canada émergera de la récession mondiale. »

« Le Canada a besoin d'entrepreneurs qui peuvent créer des produits prometteurs et mettre sur pied des entreprises prospères à partir d'idées nouvelles et de technologies novatrices, a déclaré le vice-président exécutif, Investissements, de la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC), M. Jacques Simoneau. Le financement dégagé aujourd'hui par le gouvernement du Canada permettra à la BDC d'intensifier ses efforts pour venir en aide, en cette période économique difficile, aux entreprises canadiennes de haute technologie du Sud de l'Ontario. »

FedDev Ontario fournira une somme de 50 millions de dollars à la BDC qui sera répartie comme suit : 35 millions de dollars en capital serviront à des investissements directs dans des entreprises naissantes du Sud de l'Ontario et 15 millions de dollars seront investis dans des fonds ontariens de capital-risque qui mettent l'accent sur des projets en Ontario.

Dans le cadre de son processus décisionnel, la BDC collaborera avec le Fonds ontarien de capital-risque, qui est administré par TD Capital Private Equity Investors, et est le fruit d'un partenariat entre le gouvernement de l'Ontario, la BDC, OMERS Capital Partners, RBC Capital Partners, Financière Manuvie et le Groupe financier Banque TD.

Les investissements de capital-risque effectués par la BDC appuient le développement de compagnies canadiennes prometteuses spécialisées dans la technologie et les aident à devenir des entreprises de calibre mondial, axées sur la croissance. Les investissements spécialisés de la BDC dans le capital-actions couvrent toutes les étapes du développement d'une entreprise, de l'avant-projet à son expansion. Les investissements ciblent de multiples secteurs : technologies de l'information et des communications (TI et télécommunications), sciences de la vie (découvertes de médicaments et technologies médicales) et énergie (environnement, équipement électronique et matières).

La BDC est la banque de développement économique du Canada. Dotée de plus de 100 bureaux à l'échelle du pays, la BDC encourage l'entrepreneuriat en fournissant aux entrepreneurs des services de financement, de capital de risque et de consultation sur mesure.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de la BDC.


Fiche d'information
Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à prendre des mesures de relance à court terme pour aider les collectivités durement touchées par la récession, tout en offrant un financement à long terme destiné à promouvoir la croissance économique, la création d'emplois et l'innovation. Ainsi, le budget de 2009 prévoit un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans pour soutenir la création d'une agence de développement économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Le 13 août dernier, le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a officiellement lancé l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Le nouvel organisme est chargé d'exécuter les programmes de développement économique du gouvernement fédéral, programmes qui seront adaptés aux priorités particulières des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario.

Le Premier ministre a annoncé son intention de conférer la responsabilité de l'Agence au ministre d'État (Sciences et Technologie), l'honorable Gary Goodyear, et a annoncé en outre que B.A. (Bruce) Archibald en serait le premier président.

Au cours de sa première année d'activités, FedDev Ontario mettra l'accent sur la mise en oeuvre des programmes de développement économique. L'Agence évaluera les besoins immédiats et les possibilités, qu'elle intégrera ensuite aux grandes initiatives prévues lorsqu'elle sera pleinement fonctionnelle.

FedDev Ontario et Industrie Canada collaboreront avec les intervenants de la collectivité pour déterminer et appuyer les projets utiles pour relever les défis économiques actuels.

L'Agence utilisera d'abord les programmes et les partenariats actuels afin d'accélérer l'offre de crédits. Des sommes seront ainsi immédiatement dégagées au profit des collectivités et des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

Au cours de l'exercice 2009–2010, le financement sera d'environ 206 millions de dollars et comprendra les frais d'exploitation. Ces fonds seront essentiellement utilisés dans trois secteurs prioritaires : le développement économique, la diversification et le développement des collectivités.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario a été mis sur pied pour promouvoir le développement et la diversification économiques, ainsi que la création d'emplois. A titre de programme de base, il recevra un financement de près de 100 millions de dollars en 2009–2010.

FedDev Ontario aidera les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario à diversifier leur économie, en l'axant davantage sur les produits et services à valeur ajoutée et à base technologique. L'Agence offrira aux partenaires de la région les outils dont ils ont besoin pour mettre leurs atouts en valeur, en préparant ainsi la région à prospérer dans une économie axée sur le savoir.


Programmes administrés par FedDev Ontario

Les programmes du Sud de l'Ontario qui seront administrés par FedDev Ontario, ou de concert avec elle, comprendront notamment :

Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités de l'Ontario

Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) est une mesure de relance économique à court terme destinée à aider les collectivités touchées par la récession mondiale. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, le Fonds servira à appuyer les projets qui créent et maintiennent des emplois dans les collectivités et leurs environs qui ont été les plus gravement touchés par le ralentissement économique.

Le financement est offert aux projets admissibles qui peuvent être terminés d'ici le 31 mars 2010. FedDev Ontario acceptera les demandes de financement pour 2010–2011 plus tard au cours de l'année.

Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches

Le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches (PARI-CNRC) stimule la création de richesses par l'innovation technologique. Il permet d'offrir une aide financière et technique aux petites et moyennes entreprises en ciblant celles qui sont engagées dans les activités suivantes : recherche, développement, adaptation, adoption ou commercialisation de produits, de services ou de procédés novateurs.

Le PARI-CNRC dispose déjà d'un financement de 67,3 millions de dollars et recevra un montant supplémentaire de 27,5 millions de dollars pour mettre sur pied des capacités novatrices dans les petites et moyennes entreprises.

Programme de développement des collectivités

En 2009–2010, les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) de l'Ontario recevront un montant supplémentaire de 30 millions de dollars du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités. Le Programme de développement des collectivités aide les collectivités rurales et du Nord à renforcer et à diversifier leur économie.

Le Programme est mis en oeuvre par les SADC implantées dans toute la province, dont 37 se trouvent dans les régions rurales du Sud de l'Ontario. Les petites et moyennes entreprises, de même que les organisations à but non lucratif, reçoivent un financement remboursable et d'importants services de soutien.

Banque de développement du Canada

La Banque de développement du Canada investira un montant total de 50 millions de dollars dans le Sud de l'Ontario par le truchement d'investissements directs dans des sociétés et d'investissements réalisés dans des fonds de capital-risque. Ces investissements appuient le développement d'entreprises canadiennes très prometteuses spécialisées dans la technologie, et ils contribueront à développer une industrie de capital de risque durable et hautement performante dans la région.


Fiche d'information

Financement de la Banque de développement du Canada

La Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) vise à accélérer le succès des entrepreneurs et contribue à la croissance des entreprises canadiennes, en particulier des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), en leur offrant du financement, du capital de risque et des services de consultation. La BDC n'offre pas de subventions; elle cherche plutôt à obtenir un rendement pour le financement qu'elle fournit aux entreprises, tout en servant des créneaux qui n'obtiendraient pas le crédit voulu autrement.

La BDC a été mandatée pour jouer le rôle de prêteur complémentaire sur le marché, c'est-à-dire pour offrir des prêts et des investissements qui servent de supplément ou de complément aux services déjà offerts par l'intermédiaire des institutions financières commerciales. Parmi ses activités financières, mentionnons l'octroi de prêts garantis et non garantis; le versement de prêts subordonnés, financement qui incorpore des éléments du financement par emprunt et du financement par actions; les investissements en capital de risque directs et indirects, plus particulièrement dans les entreprises de haute technologie en début de croissance; ainsi que les services de consultation sur mesure à l'intention des entreprises.

En période de ralentissement économique, le rôle de la BDC est amplifié. Depuis le début de la crise du crédit, la BDC a instauré un certain nombre de mesures correctives. Elle a en effet :

  • augmenté ses activités globales de financement;
  • prolongé la période de remboursement des nouvelles autorisations de crédit;
  • offert à ses clients de reporter le remboursement des capitaux;
  • accru le soutien offert aux fabricants et affecté expressément une équipe aux fabricants ontariens de pièces d'automobiles;
  • mis en oeuvre la Garantie marge de crédit d'exploitation;
  • observé une hausse marquée des clients dirigés vers la BDC par les établissements financiers;
  • lancé un nouveau crédit de fonds de roulement réservé aux projets de développement à l'étranger.

Au cours de l'exercice 2008–2009, la BDC a consenti 3,1 milliards de dollars en nouveaux prêts. Elle a également mené des activités commerciales d'une valeur d'environ 1,3 milliard de dollars dans le cadre du Programme de crédit aux entreprises, qui s'inscrit dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada.

La BDC est dotée d'un portefeuille de prêts d'une valeur approximative de 11 milliards de dollars, dont la répartition des prêts par secteur de l'industrie se fait comme suit : secteur manufacturier (30,4 pour cent); commerce de gros et de détail (21 pour cent); tourisme (12,5 pour cent); construction (7 pour cent); transport et entreposage (5,1 pour cent); biens commerciaux (7,4 pour cent); services commerciaux (4,5 pour cent); et autres industries (12,1 pour cent).

La BDC est présente à l'échelle nationale, tant physiquement que virtuellement. Elle dessert plus de 28 000 entrepreneurs canadiens dans plus de 100 succursales situées dans toutes les régions du pays. Elle offre des conseils et du financement à des entrepreneurs de divers milieux, du capital de risque aux entreprises en démarrage, et des fonds de roulement aux petits exportateurs en vue de les aider à faire le pont entre le marché canadien où ils exercent leurs activités et le marché international qu'ils visent. La BDC est en mesure d'aider ses clients et continuera d'offrir un appui à l'ensemble des entrepreneurs canadiens.

  • Partager
Date de modification :