Archived — Minister Goodyear Announces Job Creating Investment in Local Energy-Efficient Manufacturer

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear with other dignitaries and CRS Electronics employees pose next to high-technology LED streetlamp.

L-R: Rick Dykstra, MP for St. Catharines, The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), Scott Riesebosch, President of CRS Electronics, Damian Goulbourne, Mayor of Welland and CRS Electronics employees pose next to high-technology LED streetlamp. Source: Bob Tymczyszyn, The Canadian Press Images

For immediate release
January 18, 2010

WELLAND, ON — CRS Electronics Inc. will be able to create jobs and promote environmental sustainability thanks to an Economic Action Plan investment of up to $825,595 to advance research and development of high-efficiency light-emitting diode ("LED"). The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) made the announcement at the Welland manufacturing plant Monday.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will help CRS Electronics conduct new research and expand their business, to remain a leader in the production of energy-efficient lighting."

Funding will come from the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP), and will help CRS Electronics Inc. to research, develop and commercialize two new and innovative product lines of LED lighting. This will increase the company's production capacity and competitiveness, providing immediate economic stimulus to Welland and nearby communities.

"We are very excited to receive recognition and support from the federal government to assist with CRS' growth strategy," said Scott Riesebosch, President of CRS Electronics Inc. "Products manufactured in Ontario, like our best-in-class LED lighting solutions, make a significant contribution to economic development in areas like Welland. We are thrilled to be a part of the growth in our community."

The Government also announced today its intention to support a total of 63 economic stimulus projects, with a contribution of up to $62,711,900 through the 2009/2010 general intake of the SODP. These projects, which will be announced in the coming weeks, can be completed quickly, create jobs and put communities on the road to economic recovery and growth.

For additional details on the Southern Ontario Development Program, please refer to the backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866–593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

For media enquiries, contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Backgrounder

Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in Southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' (CME) SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access Program to help southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally.

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.southernontario.gc.ca or call 1-866–593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear annonce un investissement créateur d’emplois dans une entreprise locale de matériel écoénergétique

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear annonce un investissement créateur d'emplois dans une entreprise locale de matériel écoénergétique

Gauche à Droite : Rick Dykstra, député de St.Catharines, l'Honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), Scott Riesebosch, président de CRS Electronics, Damian Goulbourne, maire de Welland et des employées de CRS Electronics avec un lampadaire à DEL de haute technologie aux locaux de CRS Electronics.
Source : Bob Tymczyszyn, CP Images

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 18 janvier 2010

WELLAND (Ontario) — CRS Electronics Inc. sera en mesure de créer des emplois et de promouvoir la durabilité environnementale grâce à un investissement pouvant atteindre 825 595 $, consenti dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique pour promouvoir la recherche-développement de diodes électroluminescentes (DEL) à haute intensité. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a en fait l'annonce lundi à l'usine de l'entreprise située à Welland.

« Notre gouvernement ne ménage aucun effort pour créer des emplois et venir en aide à la population, aux collectivités et aux entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement aidera CRS Electronics à poursuivre ses recherches et à prendre de l'expansion de manière à demeurer un chef de file de la production de matériel d'éclairage écoénergétique. »

Le financement sera attribué dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) et permettra à CRS Electronics de mener des recherches, puis d'entreprendre le développement et la commercialisation de deux nouvelles gammes de produits novateurs d'éclairage à DEL. Cet investissement augmentera la capacité de production et la compétitivité de l'entreprise, en plus de relancer rapidement l'économie de Welland et des collectivités environnantes.

« Notre entreprise est fort heureuse de bénéficier de la reconnaissance et de l'appui du gouvernement fédéral pour concrétiser sa stratégie de croissance, a déclaré Scott Riesebosch, président de CRS Electronics Inc. Les produits fabriqués en Ontario, comme nos solutions d'éclairage à DEL de catégorie supérieure, contribuent grandement au développement économique de régions comme celle de Welland. Nous sommes ravis de faire notre part pour favoriser l'essor de notre milieu. »

De plus, le gouvernement a annoncé aujourd'hui son intention d'appuyer en tout 63 projets de relance économique, par une contribution pouvant atteindre 62 711 900 millions $ à l'issue de l'appel général de demandes de financement du PDSO pour 2009–2010. Ces projets, qui seront annoncés au cours des prochaines semaines, peuvent être rapidement mis en œuvre, créer des emplois et engager nos collectivités sur la voie de la reprise économique et de la croissance.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information, visitez le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou téléphonez en composant le 1-866–593-5505. Si vous désirez apprendre davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web suivant : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear,613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Fiche d'information

Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au PDSO en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l'issue d'un appel général de financement;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d'entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC) pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l'économie mondiale;
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access – EMA) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario pour aider les entreprises du Sud de la province qui désirent accroître leurs ventes à l'étranger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866–593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :