Archived — Minister Goodyear Announces Job Creating Investment In Continental Conveyor Ltd.

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear with employees at Continental Conveyor Ltd. in Napanee, Ontario.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), with employees at Continental Conveyor Ltd. in Napanee, Ontario, after announcing the company will benefit from an investment of more than $300,000 under the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario. Source: Lars Hagberg, The Canadian Press Images.

For immediate release
January 20, 2010

NAPANEE, ON — Continental Conveyor Ltd. will transform its business with new manufacturing equipment and productivity improvements thanks to an Economic Action Plan investment of $302,534. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced the funding at the company's headquarters in Napanee today.

"Our government is committed to supporting small- and medium-sized businesses throughout southern Ontario to ensure they succeed," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will create local jobs and put Continental Conveyor on the map as an industry leader in mechanical equipment manufacturing, providing both short and long-term stimulus for the Napanee area."

FedDev Ontario will provide funding through its Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP). The funding will help Continental Conveyor Ltd. replace older production equipment with more efficient, state-of-the-art machines. The company also intends to create its own Computer Numerical Control (CNC) machining centre, eliminating the need to contract out this costly machining work. The new production improvements will result in the hiring of 15 new workers by the end of 2011.

"We are delighted to receive support from the Government of Canada for this transformative project," said David Lynn, President, Continental Conveyor Ltd. "With this funding, we will be able to dramatically improve our productivity, which will greatly strengthen our market position and prime us for long-term growth."

This project is among 63 projects the federal government intends to support with a contribution of up to $62,711,900 through the 2009/2010 intake of the SODP. Other projects will be announced in the coming weeks.

For additional details on the Southern Ontario Development Program, please refer to the backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866–593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

For media enquiries, contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' (CME) SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access Program to help southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally.

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.southernontario.gc.ca or call 1-866–593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear annonce un investissement créateur d'emplois consenti à Continental Conveyor Ltée

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear avec des employés de Continental Conveyor Ltd. à Napanee, en Ontario.

L'Honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), rencontre des employés de Continental Conveyor Ltd., suite à l'annonce de l'octroi d'un investissement du gouvernement fédéral de plus de 300 000 $ dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source: Lars Hagberg, The Canadian Press Images.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 20 janvier 2010

NAPANEE (Ontario) — Des transformations toucheront les activités de Continental Conveyor Ltée, qui fera l'acquisition de nouveau matériel de fabrication et accroîtra sa productivité grâce à un investissement de 302 534 $ accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui, au siège social de l'entreprise, à Napanee.

« Notre gouvernement s'engage à soutenir les petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario pour assurer leur réussite, a indiqué le ministre Goodyear.  Cet investissement permettra de créer des emplois locaux et contribuera à faire connaître Continental Conveyor à titre de chef de file de l'industrie de la fabrication d'équipement mécanique, assurant ainsi une relance à court et à long terme dans la région de Napanee. »

FedDev Ontario assurera ce financement par l'intermédiaire de son Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO). Continental Conveyor Ltée utilisera ces fonds pour remplacer l'équipement de production désuet par des machines plus efficaces, à la fine pointe de la technologie. L'entreprise prévoit également créer son propre centre d'usinage à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNO), ce qui lui évitera d'avoir à donner ces travaux d'usinage coûteux en sous-traitance. Grâce aux améliorations apportées sur le plan de la productivité, l'entreprise pourra également embaucher 15 nouveaux travailleurs d'ici la fin de 2011.

« Nous sommes enchantés de bénéficier du soutien du gouvernement du Canada dans le cadre de ce projet de transformation, a ajouté David Lynn, président de Continental Conveyor Ltée. Ce financement nous permettra d'améliorer considérablement notre productivité, ce qui renforcera notre position sur le marché et nous préparera en vue d'une croissance à long terme. »

Ce projet est au nombre de 63 projets que le gouvernement du Canada a l'intention d'appuyer, grâce à une contribution pouvant atteindre 62 711 900 $ à l'issue de l'appel général de demandes de financement du PDSO pour 2009–2010. D'autres projets seront annoncés au cours des prochaines semaines.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information, visitez le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou téléphonez en composant le 1-866–593-5505. Si vous désirez apprendre davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web suivant : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

Renseignements aux médias :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Fiche d'information
Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au PDSO en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l'issue d'un appel général de financement;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d'entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC) pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l'économie mondiale;
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access – EMA) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario pour aider les entreprises du Sud de la province qui désirent accroître leurs ventes à l'étranger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866–593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :