Archived — Harper Government Invests in Windsor-Essex Economy

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear with employees of New Age Robotics & Controls at a Community Adjustment Fund announcement in Ayr.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), with employees of New Age Robotics & Controls at a Community Adjustment Fund announcement in Ayr, Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
January 26, 2010

KINGSVILLE, ON —Thirteen small- and medium-sized businesses in the Windsor-Essex area will be expanding their operations and upgrading technology, thanks to the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan investment of nearly $6.6 million. The announcement was made this morning by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) at Liqui-Force Services in Kingsville.

"This government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government's investments in the Windsor-Essex area will help strengthen the economy and give local businesses the resources they need to grow and become more competitive."

FedDev Ontario will provide more than $1.3 million to Liqui-Force, a provider of sewer maintenance and rehabilitation services in Canada and the United States. With this contribution, the company will design and engineer cutting-edge trench-less technology, which allows for the repair of existing underground infrastructure with minimal excavation and disruption. Developing this cost-effective equipment will result in the creation of 5 part-time and 10 full-time jobs at Liqui-Force.

"Thanks to this support from FedDev Ontario, we will be able to immediately advance the development of new trenchless, no-dig pipe rehabilitation technology," said Kim Lewis, Chairman and CEO of Liqui-Force. "These advancements will create jobs and lead to additional cost savings and environmental benefits for the municipalities we service."

These are among more than 60 projects that the Government of Canada intends to support through the general intake of the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP). For a list of all 13 projects in the Windsor-Essex area, please refer to the backgrounder.

For additional details on the SODP, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866–593-5505. For information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

For media enquiries, please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' (CME) SMART Program; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access Program

The following are SODP contributions to companies in the Windsor-Essex area:

Approved Projects under the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) in the Windsor-Essex Area
Funding Recipient Project Title Federal Commitment (up to $)
Broadband Wizard Inc. Development of a Marketing Plan to Launch New Products 67,251
CenterLine Windsor Ltd. Purchase of New Equipment and Software to Improve Efficiency and Reduce Costs 350,000
Confidence Tool & Mould Design Inc. Capital Expansion and Diversification into New Markets 771,250 (over 2 years)
EnerQuest Services Inc. Purchase of New Machinery to Improve Efficiency and Competitiveness 246,500
Integrity Tool & Mold Inc. Purchase and Installation of Equipment to Expand Production and Develop New Markets 906,500
J&C Tool & Die Ltd. Implementation of a Computer-Assisted Design and Manufacturing System 37,385
Jahn Engineering Limited Acquisition of New Equipment for Increased Competitiveness 216,158
Liqui-Force Services Inc. Development and Implementation of New Business Process and Related Technology 1,353,750
Midwest Precision Mould Ltd. Purchase of New Machinery to Increase Production Capacity 230,000 (over 2 years)
Omega Tool Corp. Upgrading of Machinery to Increase Productivity 699,000
Pattern Equipment & Prototype Corp. Upgrading of Manufacturing Equipment and Software 185,000 (over 2 years)
Platinum Tool Technologies Inc. Expansion of Facility and Diversification of Business 1,250,000
Southwestern Manufacturing Inc. Expansion of Production Capabilities to Increase Market Access 277,500
Total   $6,590,294

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.southernontario.gc.ca or call 1-866–593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’économie de Windsor-Essex

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et des employés de New Age Robotics & Controls à l'occasion d'une annonce du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités à Ayr.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et les employés de New Age Robotics & Controls célèbrent une annonce de financement dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 janvier 2010

KINGSVILLE (Ontario) — Treize petites et moyennes entreprises de la région de Windsor-Essex s'agrandiront et procèderont à des adaptations technologiques, grâce à un investissement de près de 6,6 millions de dollars accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement du Canada. L'annonce a été faite ce matin par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), dans les locaux de l'entreprise Liqui-Force Services, à Kingsville.

« Ce gouvernement ne ménage aucun effort pour créer des emplois et venir en aide à la population, aux collectivités et aux entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear.  Les investissements de notre gouvernement dans la région de Windsor-Essex contribueront à renforcer l'économie et à fournir aux entreprises locales les ressources nécessaires à leur croissance et à leur plus grande compétitivité. »

FedDev Ontario fournira plus de 1,3 million de dollars à la société Liqui-Force, un prestataire de services d'entretien et de remise en état d'égouts implanté au Canada et aux États-Unis. Grâce à cet apport, l'entreprise sera en mesure de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des technologies sans tranchée de pointe, permettant de réparer les infrastructures du sous-sol existantes avec des perturbations et des travaux de déblaiement minimaux. La mise au point de cet équipement rentable entraînera la création de cinq emplois à temps partiel et de dix emplois à temps plein au sein de Liqui-Force.

« Grâce à l'appui de FedDev Ontario, nous serons en mesure de faire avancer immédiatement une nouvelle technologie de remise en état des conduites sans tranchée, sans creuser, a affirmé Kim Lewis, président et directeur général de Liqui-Force. Ces progrès créeront des emplois et entraîneront des économies supplémentaires ainsi que des avantages écologiques pour les municipalités recourant à nos services. »

Ces projets sont au nombre de plus de 60 projets que le gouvernement du Canada a l'intention d'appuyer à l'issue de l'appel général de demandes de financement du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO). Pour obtenir la liste des treize projets prévus dans la région de Windsor-Essex, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le PDSO, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou téléphonez en composant le 1-866–593-5505.  Si vous désirez apprendre davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web suivant : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

Renseignements aux médias :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543 


Fiche d'information
Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au PDSO en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l'issue d'un appel général de financement;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d'entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC);
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access – EMA) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario.

Voici la liste des contributions versées par le PDSO aux entreprises de la région de Windsor-Essex :

Projets approuvés dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) dans la région de Windsor-Essex
Bénéficiare du financement Titre du projet Engagement fédéral (jusqu'à $)
Broadband Wizard Élaboration d'un plan de marketing pour lancer de nouveaux produits 67 251
CenterLine Windsor Ltd. Achat de nouvel équipement (matériel et logiciel) afin d'améliorer l'efficacité et de réduire les coûts 350 000
Confidence Tool & Mould Design Inc. Augmentation de capital et diversification dans de nouveaux marchés

771 250 (sur deux ans)

EnerQuest Services Inc. Acquisition de nouvelles machines pour améliorer l'efficacité et la compétitivité 246 500
Integrity Tool & Mold Inc. Achat et installation d'équipement afin d'augmenter la production et de développer de nouveaux marchés 906 500
J&C Tool & Die Ltd. Mise en œuvre d'un système de conception et de fabrication assisté par ordinateur 37 385
Jahn Engineering Limited Achat de nouvel équipement en vue d'augmenter la compétitivité 216 158
Liqui-Force Services Inc. Élaboration et mise en œuvre d'un nouveau processus commercial et de la technologie connexe 1 353 750
Midwest Precision Mould Ltd. Achat de nouvelles machines pour augmenter la capacité de production

230 000 (sur deux ans)

Omega Tool Corp. Mise à niveau des machines en vue d'augmenter la productivité 699 000
Pattern Equipment & Prototype Corp. Mise à niveau de l'équipement et des logiciels de fabrication

185 000 (sur deux ans)

Platinum Tool Technologies Inc. Agrandissement des installations et diversification des activités 1 250 000
Southwestern Manufacturing Inc. Expansion des capacités de production pour favoriser l'accès aux marchés 277 500
Total   6 590 294

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866–593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :