Archived — Canada’s Economic Action Plan Helps Orillia Seating Manufacturer Expand Business

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and others are depicted on bleachers manufactured by Sheridan Seating in celebration of an investment to expand operations.

Paul Sheridan, President; Pat Sheridan, Vice President; and Richard Sheridan, CEO, all of Sheridan Seating, joined the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), Bruce Stanton, MP for North Simcoe and Sheridan Seating Inc. employees. Those depicted are seated on bleachers manufactured by Sheridan Seating in celebration of an investment under FedDev Ontario's Southern Ontario Development Program for the company to expand operations. Source: Terry Hrynyk, The Canadian Press Images.

For immediate release
January 28, 2010

ORILLIA, ON — Sheridan Seating Inc. will expand its manufacturing operations, thanks to an Economic Action Plan investment of $312,500. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today at the company's headquarters in Orillia.

"This investment will allow Sheridan Seating Inc. to strengthen its business and increase its competitiveness by manufacturing a new product," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the people, communities and businesses of Southern Ontario."

"It is important that local businesses in Orillia have the tools and resources they need to excel in local and international markets," said MP Stanton. "Our government's investment will spur economic stimulus and allow Sheridan Seating to grow, attracting investment for our community and the surrounding area."

Funding will come from the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) and will help Sheridan Seating Inc. expand its operations to manufacture seat cushions for platform seating. The expansion project will involve acquiring a separate building to hold foam padding and covering materials, as well as purchasing and installing equipment. The expansion of Sheridan Seating's facilities will provide immediate local economic stimulus through job creation and by replacing imported materials with locally made products. This project is expected to create 15 new jobs.

"Thanks to assistance from the Southern Ontario Development Program, we will expand our facilities to develop a Canadian-made product that will be sold throughout the world," said Richard Sheridan, CEO of Sheridan Seating Inc. "By developing our products locally, we will lower international transportation costs and thereby reduce our overall carbon footprint."

This is among more than 60 projects the Government of Canada intends to support with a contribution of nearly $63 million through the general intake of the SODP.

For additional details on the Southern Ontario Development Program, please refer to the backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866–593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

For media enquiries, please contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Backgrounder

Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' (CME) SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access Program to help southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally.

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.southernontario.gc.ca or call 1-866–593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d’action économique du Canada aide un fabricant de sièges d’orillia à agrandir son entreprise

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres personnes sur des gradins fabriqués par Sheridan Seating pour célébrer un investissement dans l'expansion des opérations.

Paul Sheridan, président, Pat Sheridan, vice-président, Richard Sheridan, PDG de Sheridan Seating assis en compagnie de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), Bruce Stanton, député de Simcoe Nord et les employés de Sheridan Seating sur des gradins fabriqués par Sheridan Seating lors d'une annonce de financement pour ce manufacturier dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source: Terry Hrynyk, The Canadian Press Images.

ORILLIA (Ontario) — Sheridan Seating Inc. pourra développer ses activités de fabrication grâce à un investissement de 312 500 $ accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui, au siège social de l'entreprise, à Orillia.

« Cet investissement permettra à Sheridan Seating de consolider ses activités et d'accroître sa compétitivité en fabriquant un nouveau produit, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement ne ménage aucun effort pour créer des emplois et pour soutenir la population, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario. »

« Il est important que les entreprises locales d'Orillia disposent des outils et ressources nécessaires pour exceller sur les marchés locaux et internationaux, a déclaré le député Stanton. Cette contribution du gouvernement donnera une impulsion à l'économie et permettra à Sheridan Seating de développer ses activités, attirant ainsi des investissements dans notre communauté et aux environs. »

Le financement sera attribué dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) et permettra à Sheridan Seating d'étendre ses activités à la fabrication de coussins pour sièges de plates-formes. Ce projet d'agrandissement comprendra l'acquisition d'un bâtiment séparé, où seront conservés les rembourrages de mousse et les matériaux de couverture, ainsi que l'achat et l'installation d'équipement. L'agrandissement des installations de Sheridan Seating stimulera immédiatement l'économie locale en créant des emplois et en remplaçant du matériel importé par des produits locaux. Ce projet devrait créer 15 nouveaux emplois.

« Grâce à l'aide du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, nous allons agrandir nos installations afin de créer un produit de fabrication canadienne qui sera vendu dans le monde entier, a affirmé Richard Sheridan, président et directeur général de Sheridan Seating. En fabriquant nos produits localement, nous réduirons les coûts du transport international ainsi que notre empreinte carbone globale. »

Ce projet est au nombre de plus de 60 projets que le gouvernement du Canada a l'intention d'appuyer grâce à une contribution pouvant atteindre 63 millions de dollars à l'issue de l'appel général de demandes de financement du PDSO.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information, visitez le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou téléphonez en composant le 1-866–593-5505.  Si vous désirez apprendre davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web suivant : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

Renseignements aux médias :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613–943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613–954-5543


Fiche d'information

Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO) est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au PDSO en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l'issue d'un appel général de financement;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d'entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC) pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l'économie mondiale;
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access – EMA) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario pour aider les entreprises du Sud de la province qui désirent accroître leurs ventes à l'étranger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866–593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :