Archived — Food and Beverage Processors to Expand Business with Federal Investment

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and others gather in Hamilton to celebrate a Southern Ontario Development Program announcement.

L-R: George Myltschenko, Controller of Springer's Meats Inc.; Magdalena Mueller, Director of Springer's Meats Inc.; Walter Mueller Sr., President of Springer's Meats Inc.; Fred Eisenberger, Mayor of Hamilton; Walter Mueller Jr., Director of Springer's Meats Inc.; MP David Sweet; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario); and MP Rick Dykstra gather in Hamilton to celebrate a Southern Ontario Development Program announcement, delivered by FedDev Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release:
February 3, 2010

Hamilton, ON — Springer’s Meats Inc. will benefit from an Economic Action Plan contribution of $362,500 to upgrade its meat processing plant. The announcement was made today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"This investment will allow this family-run business to expand and meet the national and international demand for its products," said Minister Goodyear. Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the workers, communities and businesses of southern Ontario.”

Springer’s Meats Inc., a processor of dry cured and cooked meat products including pepperoni, hot dogs, and a wide variety of smoked and deli meats, will use the repayable contribution to expand its plant with a shipping department fitted with a shipping office, refrigeration, and a racking system to optimize the storage, warehousing and shipping to its clients. The company expects to create seven new jobs with these upgrades.

" Thanks to the help of the Southern Ontario Development Program, the new shipping and distribution area will not only secure the jobs of our employees, but create new work opportunities for many residents of Hamilton,” said Walter Mueller Jr., Director of Springer’s Meats Inc.

Minister Goodyear also announced $125,565 for new equipment at Henry of Pelham Inc., a family-owned and operated St. Catharines winery. With this contribution, the company will purchase leading-edge filters that will put them at the forefront of innovation for grape juice and wine processing in southern Ontario.

The federal government is supporting these projects through the Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) food and beverage processing sector intake, to help stimulate job creation and business growth in the second largest manufacturing sector in the province.

For additional details on the SODP, please refer to the backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada’s Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613-954-5543


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada’s Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP) was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario’s potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the SODP in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters’ (CME) SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce’s Export Market Access Program to help southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally.

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.southernontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Les transformateurs d’aliments et de boissons vont développer leurs affaires grâce à un investissement du fédéral

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres personnes se rassemblent à Hamilton pour célébrer une annonce du Programme de Développement du Sud de l'Ontario.

G-D : George Myltschenko, contrôleur de Springer's Meats Inc., Magdalena Mueller, directrice de Springer's Meats Inc., Walter Mueller, président de Springer's Meats Inc., Fred Eisenberger, maire de la Ville de Hamilton, Walter Mueller, fils, directeur de Springer's Meats Inc., le député David Sweet l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et le député Rick Dykstra se rassemblent à Hamilton pour célébrer l'annonce d'un financement dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 3 février 2010

HAMILTON, (Ontario) — Springer’s Meats Inc. bénéficiera d’une contribution du Plan d’action économique de 362 500 $ afin d’améliorer son usine de transformation de la viande. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui.

 « Cet investissement permettra à cette entreprise familiale de se développer et de satisfaire à la demande nationale et internationale pour ses produits, a affirmé le ministre Goodyear.  Notre gouvernement s’est engagé à créer des emplois et à soutenir les travailleurs, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario. »

Springer’s Meats Inc., transformateur de produits de viande salés à sec ou cuits, incluant le pepperoni, les hot dogs et une grande variété de viandes fumées et de charcuteries, utilisera cette contribution remboursable pour agrandir son usine en y ajoutant un service d’expédition pourvu d’un bureau d’expédition, d’une aire de réfrigération et d’un système de rayonnage afin d’optimiser le stockage, l’entreposage et l’expédition à ses clients. L’entreprise prévoit créer sept nouveaux emplois par ces améliorations.

« Grâce à l’aide du Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario, la nouvelle aire d’expédition et de distribution non seulement assurera les emplois de nos employés, mais créera de nouvelles perspectives d’emploi pour de nombreux résidents de Hamilton, » a affirmé le directeur de Springer’s Meats Inc.,  Walter Mueller fils.

Le ministre Goodyear a également annoncé une somme de 125 565 $ pour du nouveau matériel destiné à Henry of Pelham Inc., un établissement vinicole familial de St. Catharines. Grâce à cette contribution, l’entreprise fera l’acquisition de filtres à la fine pointe de la technologie qui la placeront au premier rang en matière d’innovation pour la transformation du jus de raisin et du vin dans le Sud de l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement fédéral appuie ces projets par l’entremise de l’appel de demandes de financement pour le secteur de transformation des aliments et des boissons du Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario (PDSO), afin d’aider à stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance des entreprises dans le deuxième plus important secteur manufacturier de la province.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le PDSO, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information, visitez le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l’adresse suivante : www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou téléphonez en composant le 1-866-593-5505.  Si vous désirez apprendre davantage sur le Plan d’action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web suivant : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

Renseignements aux médias :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613-954-5543  


Fiche d’information
Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada, l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d’offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l’Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l’Ontario (PDSO) est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l’essor des entreprises et d’aider le Sud de l’Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l’économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au PDSO en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l’issue d’un appel général de financement;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d’entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC) pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l’économie mondiale;
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d’accès aux marchés d’exportation (Export Market Access – EMA) de la Chambre de commerce de l’Ontario pour aider les entreprises du Sud de la province qui désirent accroître leurs ventes à l’étranger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l’adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :