Archived — Cambridge Economy Benefits from Harper Government Investments

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and others in a Grand River Foods test kitchen for a funding announcement under the Southern Ontario Development Program.

L-R: Craig Richardson, President of Grand River Foods Ltd.; Al Napolitano, CEO of Bend All Automotive Inc.; Peter Braid, MP for Kitchener-Waterloo; Harold Albrecht, MP for Kitchener-Conestoga; and the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). The photo depicts representatives in a Grand River Foods test kitchen for a funding announcement under the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario.

Canada's Economic Action Plan creates jobs, boosts innovation

For immediate release
February 17, 2010

CAMBRIDGE, ON – Two local businesses will be expanding their operations thanks to an Economic Action Plan investment of more than $2.2 million. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) and Member of Parliament for Cambridge, made the announcement this morning at Grand River Foods Ltd. in Cambridge.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will boost production and innovation at two companies in the Cambridge area, creating local jobs and allowing them to grow their businesses."

Grand River Foods Ltd., a processor of poultry and other protein products, will receive a repayable contribution of $1,163,205. With this contribution, the company will purchase equipment that will significantly improve its capacity and productivity, as well as expand its product lines to include new items.  The increased capacity will result in the creation of 20 permanent full-time jobs. 

"On behalf of the 425 employees of Grand River Foods, I am delighted with this contribution, which will add tremendous value to our processing plant here in Cambridge," said Craig Richardson, President of Grand River Foods Ltd. "As Chair of the Alliance of Ontario Food Processors, I'm particularly excited with the financial stimulus this program has afforded the food and beverage sector in general, generating capital spending and job creation in Ontario's second largest manufacturing sector."

Minister Goodyear also announced a repayable contribution of $1,089,000 for Bend All Automotive Inc. to produce innovative automotive heat exchangers at the company's facilities in Ayr. The in-house production of these auto parts, which are used to cool transmission and power steering systems, will result in significant cost-savings for Bend All and will create 75 local jobs. The cost savings will also be passed on to North American automakers, who will now be able to purchase these parts locally, compared to parts made overseas.

These are among a number of projects announced recently that will benefit from funding under the Southern Ontario Development Program.

For additional details on this program, please refer to the backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.southernontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613-954-5543


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the program in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access Program to help southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally.

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.southernontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — L’économie de Cambridge profite des investissements du gouvernement Harper

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres personnes se rassemblent dans la cuisine d'essai de Grand River Foods pour une annonce de financement dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario.

G-D : Craig Richardson, président de Grand River Foods Ltd., Al Napolitano, PDG de Bend All Automotive Inc., Peter Braid, député de Kitchener-Waterloo, Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga et l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) se rassemblent dans la cuisine d'essai de Grand River Foods à la suite d'une annonce de financement dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source : FedDev Ontario

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada crée des emplois et stimule l'innovation

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 février 2010

CAMBRIDGE (Ontario) – Deux entreprises de la région pourront financer l'expansion de leurs activités grâce à un investissement de plus de 2,2 millions de dollars accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et député de Cambridge, en a fait l'annonce ce matin chez Grand River Foods à Cambridge.

« Notre gouvernement ne ménage aucun effort pour créer des emplois et soutenir la population, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement stimulera la production et l'innovation dans deux entreprises de la région de Cambridge, favorisant l'expansion de leurs activités et créant des emplois locaux. »

Grand River Foods Ltd., spécialisée dans la transformation de la volaille et d'autres produits à base de protéines, recevra une contribution remboursable de 1 163 205 $ grâce à laquelle elle pourra accroître sa gamme de produits et acheter de l'équipement qui améliorera considérablement sa capacité et sa productivité. Cette capacité accrue entraînera la création de 20 emplois permanents à temps plein. 

« Au nom des 425 employés de Grand River Foods, je suis ravi de cette contribution, car elle sera d'une grande utilité pour notre usine de transformation de Cambridge, a déclaré Craig Richardson, président de Grand River Foods Ltd. En qualité de président de l'Alliance of Ontario Food Processors, je suis particulièrement enthousiasmé par le regain financier que ce programme donne à l'industrie des aliments et des boissons en général, favorisant la croissance des dépenses en capital et la création d'emplois dans un secteur qui occupe le deuxième rang du secteur manufacturier en Ontario. »

Le ministre Goodyear a également annoncé l'octroi d'une contribution remboursable de 1 089 000 $ à Bend All Automotive Inc., permettant la production d'échangeurs thermiques automobiles de conception innovatrice dans les installations de l'entreprise à Ayr. La production interne de ces pièces d'automobiles, servant au refroidissement de la transmission et de la servodirection, permettra à Bend All de réaliser d'importantes économies de coûts et favorisera la création de 75 emplois locaux. Ces économies se répercuteront également sur les constructeurs nord-américains de véhicules automobiles, qui pourront maintenant acheter ces pièces localement plutôt que de les faire venir de l'étranger.

Ces projets sont au nombre des projets annoncés récemment qui bénéficieront d'une aide financière dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario.  

Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements sur ce programme, consultez la fiche d'information, visitez le site Web de FedDev Ontario à www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505. Pour plus de renseignements sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web www.plandaction.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613-954-5543


Fiche d'information
Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au programme en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l'issue d'un appel général de financement ;
  • 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d'entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons ;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l'économie mondiale ;
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario pour aider les entreprises du Sud de la province qui désirent accroître leurs ventes à l'étranger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.suddelontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :