Archived — Harper Government Announces Job Creating Investment in State-of-the-Art Medical Technology

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear looks at the new KidsArm with a patient at SickKids Hospital

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), celebrates the launch of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) Clinical Trial Network on March 8, 2010 at the University of Waterloo with local Members of Parliament, representatives from the JDRF and the University of Waterloo, as well as families affected by juvenile diabetes. Source: FedDev Ontario

Canada's Economic Action Plan invests in the jobs of the future in southern Ontario

For immediate release
March 1, 2010

TORONTO, ON – Southern Ontario will strengthen its position as a leading centre for medical research and see new jobs created with the development of the KidsArm robotic surgical system, the first paediatric technology of its kind in the world.  The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for Science and Technology and for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced a $10 million investment from Canada's Economic Action Plan at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) in Toronto.

"Our government supports scientific research because it creates jobs, strengthens the economy and improves Canadians' quality of life," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will reinforce southern Ontario's place as a world leader in medical research and innovation, and provide opportunities to export made-in-Canada technology to hospitals worldwide."

"Through Canada's Economic Action Plan, our investment will help create more than 80 highly-skilled jobs, which will inject millions of stimulus dollars into the southern Ontario economy," said Peter Kent, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas) and Member of Parliament for Thornhill.

The Centre for Image-Guided Innovation & Therapeutic Intervention (CIGITI), SickKids' cutting-edge medical, engineering and research centre, will develop KidsArm in partnership with MDA, Philips and other companies. KidsArm is an image-guided medical robot designed for paediatric patients, which enables surgeons to safely and efficiently perform less invasive surgical procedures and cut down the average time of procedures by up to 90 per cent.

"At SickKids we encourage innovations that translate knowledge from the lab into clinical practice," said Mary Jo Haddad, President and CEO of SickKids. "This project is a prime example of how research and technology can be transformed into clinical applications, which lead to improved health outcomes for our children."

"The mission of our Centre is to imagine, innovate and provide health care differently from today," said Dr. Peter C. W. Kim, Director of CIGITI, Paediatric General Surgeon and Senior Associate Scientist in Developmental & Stem Cell Biology at SickKids, and Professor of Surgery at the University of Toronto. "With this critical and timely investment from the federal government, we plan to develop the next generation of surgical robots, medical imaging and simulation technologies for the care of children and babies. This investment will help transform health-care and education through innovative technology development while building intellectual capability and economic capacity in Ontario and in Canada."

Funding for this project will come from the Southern Ontario Development Program and will go towards purchasing the core foundation equipment that will be adapted for KidsArm. This project is expected to create more than 80 research, engineering and manufacturing jobs at the Centre and partnering companies who will provide the imaging, robotic and simulation equipment. Once complete, SickKids will commercialize the technology to generate revenues that will be re-invested to further research at the Hospital, helping to sustain innovation over the long term.

The project is also funded by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation (MRI) and SickKids Foundation. For more details on KidsArm, please refer to the project backgrounder. For additional information on CIGITI, visit www.cigiti.com.

For additional details on the Southern Ontario Development Program, please refer to the program backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For media enquiries, contact:

Gary Toft, Director of Communications, Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Media Relations, FedDev Ontario, 613-954-5543  

Matet Nebres, Manager, Media Relations, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), 416-813-6380, matet.nebres@sickkids.ca


Backgrounder
Southern Ontario Development Program (SODP)

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, FedDev Ontario was established to deliver federal economic development programs to support the priorities of workers, businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Budget 2009 allocated $1 billion over five years for the new Agency.

The Southern Ontario Development Program was established as a core program of FedDev Ontario. It will build upon the assets and strengths of communities to create an environment where businesses can thrive and maximize southern Ontario's potential to succeed in the knowledge-based economy.

Funding under this program will go towards projects that can stimulate local economies and enhance the growth and competitiveness of local businesses and communities. Approximately $100 million has been allocated to the Southern Ontario Development Program in 2009–10, including the following:

  • Nearly $63 million through a general intake process;
  • Up to $20 million through an intake for the food and beverage processing sector;
  • $15.75 million for the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters' SMART Program to fund an estimated 300 projects that will help small- and medium-sized manufacturers increase their productivity and competitiveness in the global economy; and
  • $1.6 million for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce's Export Market Access Program to help southern Ontario businesses that would like to increase their sales internationally.

For more information, please visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper annonce un investissement créateur d’emplois dans la technologie médicale de pointe

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et un patient de SickKids Hospital examinent le nouveau KidsArm.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et un patient de SickKids Hospital examinent le nouveau KidsArm recevant un financement de 10 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario mis en œuvre par FedDev Ontario. Source : FedDev Ontario.

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada investit dans la création d'emplois de l'avenir pour le Sud de l'Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 1er mars 2010

TORONTO (Ontario) – Le Sud de l'Ontario consolidera sous peu sa position comme centre de recherche médicale de premier plan et profitera des nouveaux emplois qui découleront des travaux de développement du système chirurgical robotisé KidsArm, une première mondiale en son genre dans le domaine de la technologie pédiatrique. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État aux Sciences et à la Technologie et ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé un investissement de 10 millions de dollars du Plan d'action économique du Canada à The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) à Toronto.

« Le gouvernement appuie la recherche scientifique, car elle contribue à créer des emplois, à renforcer l'économie et à améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement consolidera le rôle du Sud de l'Ontario à titre de chef de file mondial de la recherche et de l'innovation médicales, en plus de fournir des occasions d'exporter la technologie canadienne aux hôpitaux du monde entier. »

« Notre investissement consenti dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada permettra de créer plus de 80 emplois hautement spécialisés, injectant ainsi des millions de dollars pour assurer la relance de l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, » a affirmé l'honorable Peter Kent, ministre d'État aux Affaires étrangères (Amériques) et député de Thornhill.

Le Centre for Image­Guided Innovation & Therapeutic Intervention (CIGITI), centre médical, d'ingénierie et de recherche de pointe de SickKids, mettra au point le KidsArm en partenariat avec la société MDA, Philips et d'autres entreprises. Le KidsArm est un robot médical guidé par l'image conçu pour les patients pédiatriques, qui permet aux chirurgiens d'exécuter efficacement et en toute sécurité des interventions chirurgicales moins invasives et de réduire de près de 90 p. 100 la durée moyenne des interventions.

« À SickKids, nous encourageons les innovations qui permettent d'intégrer le savoir issu des travaux de laboratoire à la pratique clinique, a précisé Mary Jo Haddad, présidente et chef de la direction de SickKids. Ce projet constitue un exemple par excellence des possibilités d'applications cliniques de la recherche et de la technologie qui contribuent à améliorer la santé de nos enfants. »

« La mission de notre Centre consiste à imaginer, à innover et à fournir des soins médicaux nettement plus perfectionnés, a souligné le Dr Peter C. W. Kim, directeur du CIGITI, chirurgien pédiatre généraliste, chercheur associé principal en biologie du développement et des cellules souches à SickKids, et professeur de chirurgie à l'Université de Toronto. Grâce à cet investissement d'une importance capitale du gouvernement fédéral qui arrive à point nommé, nous prévoyons mettre au point la prochaine génération de robots chirurgicaux et de technologies de simulation et d'imagerie médicales destinées aux soins des enfants et des bébés. En outre, cet investissement contribuera à transformer les soins médicaux et l'enseignement médical en favorisant le développement de technologies novatrices tout en augmentant la capacité intellectuelle et économique de l'Ontario et du Canada. »

Ce projet sera financé par le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario et servira à acheter le matériel de base qui sera adapté pour le KidsArm. Le projet devrait créer plus de 80 emplois dans les secteurs de la recherche, de l'ingénierie et de la fabrication au Centre et au sein des entreprises partenaires qui fourniront le matériel d'imagerie, de robotique et de simulation. Une fois le projet terminé, SickKids commercialisera la technologie mise au point, afin de générer des revenus qui seront réinvestis dans la recherche à l'Hôpital, ce qui contribuera à appuyer l'innovation à long terme.

Ce projet est également financé par la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation (FCI), le ministère de la Recherche et de l'Innovation (MRI) de l'Ontario et SickKids Fondation. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant le KidsArm, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information sur le projet. Pour de plus amples informations sur le CIGITI, consultez le site www.cigiti.com.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information sur le programme, visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1­866­593-5505. Si vous désirez en apprendre davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site Web suivant : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Gary Toft, Directeur des communications, Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, 613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias, FedDev Ontario, 613-954-5543

Matet Nebres, Manager, Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), 416-813-6380, matet.nebres@sickkids.ca


Fiche d'information
Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario (PDSO)

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été mise sur pied dans le but d'offrir des programmes de développement économique pour appuyer les projets prioritaires des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le budget de 2009, un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans était prévu pour financer cette nouvelle agence.

Le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario est le programme de base de FedDev Ontario. Il mise sur les atouts et les forces des collectivités afin de créer un contexte propice à l'essor des entreprises et d'aider le Sud de l'Ontario à tirer pleinement parti de son potentiel pour réussir dans l'économie du savoir.

Le financement de ce programme est destiné à des projets qui permettent de stimuler les économies locales et de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises et des collectivités de la région. Environ 100 millions de dollars ont été affectés au programme en 2009–2010, y compris :

  • Près de 63 millions de dollars à l'issue d'un appel général de financement ;
  • Jusqu'à 20 millions de dollars pour les demandes de financement d'entreprises du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons ;
  • 15,75 millions de dollars destinés au programme SMART des Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada pour financer environ 300 projets qui aideront les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité au sein de l'économie mondiale ;
  • 1,6 million de dollars pour le programme d'accès aux marchés d'exportation (Export Market Access) de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario pour aider les entreprises du Sud de la province qui désirent accroître leurs ventes à l'étranger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :