Archived — Canada's Economic Action Plan Investment in Communities and Businesses Delivers Results for South Huron

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear announces funding for Goderich Aircraft Inc.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announces funding for Goderich Aircraft Inc.

For immediate release  
April 6, 2010

South Huron, ON – South Huron residents and businesses will benefit from an investment of more than $4.4 million in Goderich Aircraft Inc. to expand its operations, announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"This investment will create jobs and stimulate the local economy," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government is working with the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario to help our region prosper now and in the future."

"Our government is committed to funding projects like this one, which will allow Goderich Aircraft to expand, become more competitive and secure new market opportunities," said Ben  Lobb, Member of Parliament for Huron-Bruce. "This investment will provide much-needed stimulus to support our region's ongoing economic resurgence."

With the funding, Goderich Aircraft Inc. will expand its facilities and seek to launch Canada's first Boeing completion centre, providing the capacity to complete the production of Boeing business jets, including customized exterior and design, manufacturing and installation of interior components.

"We're excited to be entering a phase of dynamic growth that will strengthen the relationship we're building with Boeing and allow us to bring new business from international markets to southern Ontario," said Blaine Field, President of Goderich Aircraft Inc. "Thanks to the federal government's commitment to Canadian manufacturing and its investment in the region, Goderich Aircraft is now positioned to begin work completing Boeing business jets."

This project will be funded under the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, which will create immediate employment opportunities and support the local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn. Other projects approved under the Community Adjustment Fund will be announced over the coming weeks. Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their contribution agreements.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario and the Community Adjustment Fund, please visit the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
613-954-5543

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Les investissements du Plan d'action économique du Canada dans les collectivités et les entreprises donnent des résultats concrets à South Huron

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear annonce du financement pour Goderich Aircraft Inc.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), annonce du financement pour Goderich Aircraft Inc.

Pour diffusion immédiate  
Le 6 avril 2010

South Huron (Ontario) – La population et les entreprises de South Huron profiteront d'un investissement de plus de 4,4 millions de dollars, consenti à la société Goderich Aircraft Inc. pour lui permettre d'assurer l'expansion de ses activités. Cet investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Cet investissement permettra de créer des emplois et de stimuler l'économie locale, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement travaille de près avec la population, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario pour aider notre région à prospérer, dès maintenant et au cours des années à venir. »

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à financer des projets tels que celui-ci, qui permettra à Goderich Aircraft de prendre de l'expansion, de devenir plus concurrentielle et de saisir les occasions d'affaires sur de nouveaux marchés, a affirmé Ben Lobb, député fédéral de Huron-Bruce. Cet investissement contribuera grandement à stimuler la reprise économique qui se poursuit dans notre région. »

Goderich Aircraft Inc. agrandira ses installations et cherchera à inaugurer le premier centre d'aménagement des aéronefs de Boeing au Canada. L'entreprise sera ainsi en mesure d'assurer la finition de la production des avions d'affaires à réaction de Boeing, notamment les travaux de conception et de finition personnalisées de l'extérieur des appareils ainsi que la fabrication et l'installation des éléments de l'aménagement intérieur.

« Nous amorçons avec enthousiasme une phase de croissance dynamique, qui nous aidera à établir des liens encore plus étroits avec la société Boeing et permettra au Sud de l'Ontario de profiter de nouvelles occasions d'affaires sur les marchés internationaux, a précisé Blaine Field, le président de Goderich Aircraft Inc. Grâce aux efforts soutenus du gouvernement fédéral pour venir en aide au secteur manufacturier canadien et à son investissement dans la région, la société Goderich Aircraft est maintenant bien placée pour commencer à aménager les avions d'affaires à réaction de Boeing. »

Ce projet sera financé par le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, qui créera des possibilités d'emplois immédiates et viendra en aide aux économies locales aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique dans le monde. D'autres projets approuvés dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités seront annoncés au cours des prochaines semaines. Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions générales énoncées dans les accords de contribution.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
613-954-5543

  • Partager
Date de modification :