Archived — Canada's Economic Action Plan Investment in Communities and Businesses Delivers Results for Kitchener-Waterloo Region

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
April 6, 2010

Kitchener, ON — Residents and businesses in the Kitchener-Waterloo area will benefit from an investment of more than $1 million in three new stimulus projects. Peter Braid, Member of Parliament for Kitchener-Waterloo, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today at Riverside Door & Trim Inc.

"These investments will create jobs and strengthen the economy," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government is working with the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario to help our region prosper now and in the future."

"Our government is proud to partner with innovative local businesses," said MP Braid. "The investments announced today will encourage economic revitalization, and help our community become a key player in the global economy."

Riverside Door & Trim Inc. will receive up to $820,250 to relocate and expand its manufacturing facility, as well as develop a new product line.

"I am thrilled Riverside Door & Trim Inc. will now be able to expand operations and improve efficiency thanks to the support of FedDev Ontario," said Mario Gianniotis, Managing Partner, Riverside Door & Trim Inc. "This funding will help us develop new products and improve our manufacturing processes."

For additional details on local projects, please refer to the backgrounder. These projects will be funded under the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, which will create immediate employment opportunities and support the local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

Other projects approved under the Community Adjustment Fund will be announced over the coming weeks. Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their contribution agreements.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario and the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft  
Director of Communications  
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear  
613-943-7599

Media Relations  
FedDev Ontario  
613-954-5543


Backgrounder

Listed below is a breakdown of the projects approved for funding under the second phase of the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) in the Kitchener-Waterloo area.

Approved Projects under the Second Phase of the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) in the Kitchener-Waterloo Area
Funding Recipient Project Title Total CAF contribution (up to)
Accelerated Systems Inc. Construction of a test lab, staff hiring and training, and purchase of new software $153,750
Canadian Innovation Centre Creation of an online toolkit $85,388
Riverside Door & Trim Inc. Relocation and expansion of manufacturing facility, and development of new products $820,250
Total $1,059,388
  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Les investissements du Plan d'action économique du Canada dans les collectivités et les entreprises donnent des résultats concrets dans la région de Kitchener-Waterloo

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate 
Le 6 avril 2010

Kitchener (Ontario) — La population et les entreprises de la région de Kitchener-Waterloo profiteront d'un investissement de plus d'un million de dollars dans trois nouveaux projets de relance économique. Peter Braid, député fédéral de Kitchener-Waterloo, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui à l'usine de l'entreprise Riverside Door & Trim Inc.

« Ces investissements créeront des emplois et renforceront l'économie, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement travaille de près avec la population, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario pour aider notre région à prospérer, dès maintenant et au cours des années à venir. »

« Notre gouvernement est fier de son partenariat avec des entreprises locales novatrices, a déclaré le député Braid. les investissements annoncés aujourd'hui stimuleront la relance économique et aideront notre collectivité à devenir un acteur sur la scène économique mondiale. »

Riverside Door & Trim Inc. recevra 820 250 $ pour se réinstaller ailleurs et agrandir son usine de fabrication, ainsi que mettre au point une nouvelle gamme de produits.

« Je me réjouis à l'idée que Riverside Door & Trim Inc. sera maintenant en mesure d'élargir ses opérations et améliorer son efficacité grâce au soutien de FedDev Ontario, a affirmé Mario Gianniotis, Gestionnaire principal, Riverside Door & Trim Inc. Cet octroi va nous permettre de développer de nouveaux produits et d'améliorer nos procédés manufacturiers. »

Pour obtenir des précisions au sujet des projets locaux, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information. Ces projets seront financés par le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, qui créera des possibilités d'emplois immédiates et viendra en aide aux économies locales aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique dans le monde.

D'autres projets approuvés dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités seront annoncés au cours des prochaines semaines. Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions générales énoncées dans les accords de contribution.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
613-954-5543


Fiche d'information

Voici comment est réparti le financement pour les projets approuvés dans le cadre du deuxième volet du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) dans la région de Kitchener-Waterloo.

Projets approuvés dans le cadre du deuxième volet du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) dans la région de Kitchener-Waterloo
Bénéficiaire du financement Titre du projet Contribution totale du FAC (maximale)
Accelerated Systems Inc. Construction d'un laboratoire d'essai, embauche et formation du personnel et achat de nouveaux logiciels 153 750 $
Canadian Innovation Centre Création d'une trousse d'outils en ligne 85 388 $
Riverside Door and Trim Inc. Réinstallation et agrandissement de l'usine de fabrication et mise au point de nouveaux produits 820 250 $
Total 1 059 388 $
  • Partager
Date de modification :