Archived — Canada's Economic Action Plan Invests in Businesses and Creates Jobs in Kingston Area

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and others stand in front of George A. Wright & Son Ltd.'s latest metal fabrication machine.

L-R: Harvey Rosen, Mayor of Kingston; Hugh Segal, Senator for Kingston-Frontenac-Leeds; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and Stephen Wright, President of George A. Wright and Son Ltd., stand in front of George A. Wright & Son Ltd.'s latest metal fabrication machine. Source: FedDev Ontario.

For immediate release
April 7, 2010

Kingston, Ontario — Residents and businesses in the Kingston area will benefit from an investment of more than $4.8 million for three new economic stimulus projects. The announcement was made today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), as well as Senator Hugh Segal, at George A. Wright & Son Ltd.

"These investments will create jobs and stimulate the local economy," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government is working with the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario to help our region prosper now and in the future."

"Residents of Kingston benefit from stimulus projects like these, which encourage economic and community growth," said Senator Segal. "We are working hard to provide targeted support for the people of this region, to help it recover from the economic recession."

George A. Wright & Son Ltd., a machine and fabrication operator, will receive more than $1.7 million to expand its facility and purchase new equipment and extra large capacity machine tools in order to increase its production capacity.

"This support will allow our 115 year old manufacturing firm to expand into the underserved machining and fabrication market," said Stephen Wright, President of George A. Wright & Son Ltd. "Thanks to the Community Adjustment Fund, we will be able to finance our expansion and create needed manufacturing jobs in this community."

For additional details on local projects, please refer to the backgrounder. These projects will be funded under the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, which will create immediate employment opportunities and support the local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

Other projects approved under the Community Adjustment Fund will be announced over the coming weeks. Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their contribution agreements.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of the Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario and the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-954-5543

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
613-943-7599


Backgrounder

Listed below is a breakdown of the projects approved for funding under the second phase of the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) in the Kingston area.

Approved Projects under the Second Intake of the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) in the Kingston Area
Funding Recipient Project Title Total CAF contribution (up to)
City of Kingston Infrastructure to service the St. Lawrence Business Park $693,900
City of Kingston Construction of roads to service the Cataraqui Industrial Estates $2,408,112
George A. Wright & Son Ltd. Expansion of facility and purchase of equipment and tools $1,750,000
Total $4,852,012
  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique du Canada investit dans les entreprises et crée des emplois dans la région de Kingston

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres personnes devant de nouvelles machines pour la fabrication de métal de George A. Wright & Son Ltd.

G-D : Harvey Rosen, maire de la ville de Kingston, Hugh Segal, sénateur de Kingston-Frontenac-Leeds, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et Stephen Wright, président de George A. Wright et Son Ltd. devant de nouvelles machines pour la fabrication de métal aux locaux de George A. Wright et Son Ltd.Source: FedDev Ontario

Source : FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 7 avril 2010

Kingston (Ontario) — La population et les entreprises de Kingston profiteront d'un investissement de plus de 4,8 millions de dollars dans trois nouveaux projets de relance économique. Cet investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et le sénateur Hugh Segal, dans les locaux de l'entreprise George A. Wright & Son Ltd.

« Cet investissement permettra de créer des emplois et de stimuler l'économie locale, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement travaille de près avec la population, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario afin de permettre à notre région de prospérer dès maintenant et au cours des années à venir. »

« La population de Kingston profite de tels projets de relance qui stimulent la croissance économique et l'essor de la collectivité, a précisé le sénateur Segal. Nous travaillons sans relâche à offrir une aide ciblée aux gens de cette région et à leur prêter main-forte pour qu'ils puissent se remettre de la récession. »

La société George A. Wright & Son, qui se spécialise dans l'usinage et la fabrication, recevra plus de 1,7 million de dollars pour agrandir ses installations et acheter de l'équipement neuf et des machines-outils à extra-grande capacité afin d'accroître sa capacité de production.

« Ce soutien financier permettra à notre entreprise de fabrication qui est en activité depuis 115 ans de prendre de l'expansion dans les créneaux mal desservis du marché de l'usinage et de la fabrication, a fait savoir Stephen Wright, le président de l'entreprise George A. Wright & Son Ltd. Grâce au Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités, nous serons en mesure de financer notre expansion et de créer des emplois manufacturiers fort nécessaires dans notre milieu. »

Pour plus de détails sur les projets locaux, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information. Ces projets seront financés dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, qui créera des possibilités d'emplois immédiates et viendra en aide aux économies locales aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique dans le monde.

D'autres projets approuvés dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités seront annoncés au cours des prochaines semaines. Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions générales énoncées dans les accords de contribution.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-954-5543

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
613-943-7599


Fiche d'information

Voici comment est reparti le financement pour les projets approuvés dans le cadre du deuxième volet du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) dans la région de Kingston.

Projets approuvés dans le cadre du deuxième volet du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) dans la région de Kingston
Bénéficiaire du financement Titre du projet Contribution totale du FAC (maximale)
Ville de Kingston Infrastructures de services publics au parc d'affaires St. Lawrence 693 900 $
Ville de Kingston Construction de routes pour desservir la zone industrielle Cataraqui 2 408 112 $
George A. Wright & Son Ltd. Agrandissement des installations et achat d'équipement et de machines-outils 1 750 000 $
Total 4 852 012 $
  • Partager
Date de modification :