Archived — Economic Action Plan Creates Jobs Through Business Innovation Partnership

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Launch of the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative.

L-R: Students from Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning; Beat Raemy, CEO of Spatial View; Dr. Jeff Zabudsky, President of Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning; The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario and Terence Young, Member of Parliament for Oakville celebrate the launch of the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative. Source: Simon Wilson, The Canadian Press Images

For immediate release
April 19, 2010

Oakville, Ontario – A new pilot initiative for southern Ontario colleges and universities will provide up to $15 million to help small- and medium-sized businesses move promising products, practices and processes from the research and development stage to the marketplace. Speaking at Sheridan College in Oakville, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, launched FedDev Ontario's Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative.

"Our government's Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative will create new jobs and strengthen the economy of southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "By giving businesses greater access to the research capacity of Ontario's colleges and universities, our government is committed to supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario."

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is designed to create partnerships between smaller enterprises that would like to innovate, and post-secondary institutions that have the applied research capacity to further develop those ideas and help bring them to market.

It will provide funding to eligible academic institutions offering services focused on improving innovation, productivity and commercialization to help individual businesses with pre-commercialization activities. These activities may include: product and process applied research; engineering design; technology development; product testing; certification; and pilot testing as well as proof-of-concept work for a partner business.

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in addressing the commercialization gap.

"This initiative is an unprecedented recognition by the federal government that colleges and polytechnic institutions can directly advance SME innovation," said Nobina Robinson, CEO, Polytechnics Canada. "It will help to encourage more Ontario companies to commercialize their products, to up their innovation game and to partner with our members to gain time-sensitive and focused R&D support."

"These funds are an investment in Ontario's economy," said Dan Patterson, president of Niagara College and the Applied Research Chair of the Committee of Presidents. "Colleges excel at building partnerships with local business and industry and at turning ideas into practical applications. This is an excellent opportunity to exploit these talents to the benefit of SMEs."

"Ontario's universities enthusiastically welcome the investment in this new initiative that will accelerate commercialization in our province," said Bonnie M. Patterson, President of the Council of Ontario Universities. "Our institutions are one of the key drivers of innovation in Ontario and we are delighted that the government has decided to invest in strengthening our partnerships with local industry that bring new products and services to Ontarians."

Not-for-profit post-secondary institutions, including Aboriginal institutions, are welcome to submit funding applications beginning today.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, please refer to the backgrounder, visit the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-973-5945


Backgrounder

The FedDev Ontario Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is a pilot initiative established to bridge the gap between research and commercialization between Ontario's post-secondary academic institutions and small- and medium-sized enterprises. FedDev Ontario will commit up to $15 million for projects in 2010 under the Initiative.

The goal of the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is to encourage greater collaboration between post-secondary institutions with research and development expertise and smaller businesses with pre-commercialization needs. It is designed to accelerate innovation and to improve productivity and competitiveness in companies located in southern Ontario, as well as encourage additional private sector investment.

By supporting these partnerships, FedDev Ontario aims to help small- and medium-sized businesses grow, while creating the knowledge-based jobs of tomorrow.

Not-for-profit post-secondary institutions, including Aboriginal post-secondary institutions, in southern Ontario are eligible to submit proposals for funding. Applications must be submitted online by or postmarked no later than June 14, 2010.

This pilot initiative will support post-secondary institutions offering services focused on improving innovation, productivity and commercialization to help individual companies move new products or processes to market. These activities may include:

  • Product and process applied research
  • Engineering design
  • Technology development
  • Product testing
  • Certification
  • Proof of concept
  • Piloting and demonstration
  • Problem solving

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, FedDev Ontario's mandate is to work with the people, communities and businesses in southern Ontario to create the conditions for economic growth. Created with a five-year mandate and $1-billion budget, the Agency is working to support southern Ontario's ongoing economic resurgence to ensure the region will emerge as a stronger, more diverse world leader.

For more information, please refer to the Initiative Guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca , email or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique crée des emplois grâce à un partenariat axé sur l'innovation avec les entreprises

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres personnes célèbrent le lancement de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation.

G-D : Des étudiants du Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, Beat Raemy, PDG de Spatial View, Dr. Jeff Zabudsky, président du Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et Terence Young, députe de Oakville célèbrent le lancement de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation. Source: Simon Wilson, The Canadian Press Images

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 19 avril 2010

Oakville (Ontario) – Dans le cadre d'une nouvelle initiative pilote pour les collèges et les universités du Sud de l'Ontario, un financement pouvant atteindre 15 millions de dollars est prévu pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à passer de l'étape de la recherche-développement de produits, de pratiques et de processus novateurs à celle de leur mise en marché. Prenant la parole au Collège Sheridan d'Oakville, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a lancé l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de FedDev Ontario.

« L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de notre gouvernement créera d'autres emplois et renforcera l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En permettant aux entreprises d'avoir davantage accès à la capacité de recherche des collèges et des universités de l'Ontario, notre gouvernement met tout en œuvre pour venir en aide à la population, aux collectivités et aux entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario. »

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation vise à créer des partenariats entre les petites entreprises qui aimeraient innover et les établissements postsecondaires possédant la capacité de recherche appliquée requise pour peaufiner ces idées et aider à leur éventuelle mise en marché.

Dans le cadre de cette initiative, un financement sera consenti aux établissements d'enseignement supérieur admissibles, offrant des services axés sur l'amélioration de l'innovation, de la productivité et de la commercialisation afin d'aider des entreprises à mener à bien leurs activités de précommercialisation. Au nombre de ces activités réalisées pour le compte d'une entreprise partenaire, mentionnons la recherche appliquée à des produits et à des processus, la conception technique, le développement technologique, la mise à l'essai de produits, la certification et les projets pilotes, de même que les activités de démonstration du bien-fondé de la conception.

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est issue directement des commentaires formulés par les chefs d'entreprise, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires de partout dans le Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont suggéré à l'Agence de jouer un rôle de chef de file pour combler le fossé en matière de commercialisation.

« Cette initiative est une marque de reconnaissance sans précédent par le gouvernement fédéral du rôle des collèges et des instituts polytechniques pour stimuler directement l'innovation au sein des PME, a souligné Nobina Robinson, PDG de Polytechnics Canada. Elle contribuera à inciter un plus grand nombre d'entreprises ontariennes à commercialiser leurs produits, à innover davantage et à établir des partenariats avec nos membres pour obtenir une aide à la R-D ciblée, en temps opportun. »

« Ce financement est un investissement dans l'économie de l'Ontario, a fait savoir Dan Patterson, président du Collège Niagara et de la Chaire de recherche appliquée du Comité des présidents. Les collèges font un excellent travail pour créer des partenariats avec les entreprises et les industries locales et pour transformer les idées en applications pratiques. Il s'agit d'une occasion hors pair d'exploiter ces talents pour que les PME puissent en tirer pleinement parti. »

« Les universités de l'Ontario ont réservé un accueil enthousiaste au financement de cette nouvelle initiative qui stimulera la commercialisation dans notre province, a ajouté Bonnie M. Patterson, présidente du Conseil des universités de l'Ontario. Nos institutions contribuent grandement à encourager l'innovation en Ontario et nous sommes ravis que le gouvernement ait décidé d'investir dans le renforcement de nos partenariats avec l'industrie locale, source de nouveaux produits et services aux Ontariens. »

Les établissements postsecondaires à but non lucratif, y compris les établissements autochtones, sont invités à soumettre une demande de financement dès aujourd'hui.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information, visiter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-973-5945

Ce communiqué est diffusé en ligne aux adresses www.feddevontario.gc.ca et www.plandaction.gc.ca .


Fiche d'information

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de FedDev Ontario est une initiative pilote mise sur pied pour combler le fossé qui sépare la recherche et la commercialisation entre les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et les petites et moyennes entreprises de l'Ontario. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, un financement pouvant atteindre 15 millions de dollars est prévu par FedDev Ontario en 2010 en vue de la réalisation de projets.

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation vise à stimuler la collaboration entre les établissements postsecondaires possédant un savoir-faire en recherche-développement et les petites entreprises désirant combler leurs besoins de précommercialisation. Elle est conçue pour favoriser l'innovation et accroître la productivité et la compétitivité des entreprises établies dans le Sud de l'Ontario, ainsi qu'encourager d'autres investissements du secteur privé.

En appuyant ces partenariats, FedDev Ontario a pour but de contribuer à la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises, tout en créant les emplois du savoir de demain.

Les établissements postsecondaires à but non lucratif, y compris les établissements postsecondaires autochtones, du Sud de l'Ontario peuvent soumettre des projets en vue d'obtenir un financement. Il faut soumettre les demandes en ligne ou par la poste au plus tard le 14 juin 2010, le cachet de la poste faisant foi.

Cette initiative pilote appuiera les établissements postsecondaires qui offrent des services visant à améliorer l'innovation, la productivité et la commercialisation, afin d'aider des entreprises à assurer la mise en marché de nouveaux produits ou processus. Voici des exemples d'activités admissibles :

  • Recherche appliquée à des produits et à des processus
  • Conception technique
  • Développement technologique
  • Mise à l'essai de produits
  • Certification
  • Démonstration du bien-fondé de la conception
  • Projets pilotes et de démonstration
  • Résolution de problèmes

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a pour mandat de travailler de concert avec la population, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à créer les conditions propices à la croissance économique de la région. Dotée d'un mandat de cinq ans et d'un budget de 1 milliard de dollars, l'Agence contribue à la reprise économique soutenue du Sud de l'Ontario afin que la région en émerge en devenant un chef de file mondial plus solide et plus diversifié.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices de l'Initiative, diffusées dans le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca, faire parvenir un courriel ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :