Archived — Harper Government Invests in and Celebrates Italian Home Bakery Ltd. Facility Expansion

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Harper Government Invests in and Celebrates Italian Home Bakery Ltd. Facility Expansion

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), with employees of Italian Home Bakery Ltd. at a funding announcement in Etobicoke. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate distribution
April 30, 2010

Etobicoke (Ontario) — Residents in the Greater Toronto Area will benefit from a new expansion of the Italian Home Bakery Ltd., made possible by an Economic Action Plan contribution of nearly $1.4 million. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and Senator Consiglio Di Nino joined bakery employees and local business leaders in the facility's new test kitchen area to mark the completion of this state-of-the-art project.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the workers, communities and businesses of southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment in Italian Home Bakery Ltd. is allowing the company to expand their business and grow into international markets."

"This expansion will allow us to take a product that has only been available to the Toronto market and distribute it across Canada and the United States," said John Rossetti, Chief Financial Officer and Co-President of Italian Home Bakery Ltd. "This contribution has created an enormous opportunity for the growth of this company."

Italian Home Bakery Ltd., a processor of fresh, authentic, artisan European-style breads and rolls for the Greater Toronto Area, used the repayable contribution of up to $1,399,821 to expand its current facility and productivity by purchasing new equipment, including new mixers and mixing stations, a new slicer, a new production line and a new tunnel oven. The company expects to create 45 new jobs with these upgrades, as well as expand market distribution and increase market awareness of its products and branding.

"The Harper Government is investing in businesses to create jobs and strengthen the economy," said Senator Di Nino. "This investment will create roughly 45 new jobs here in Etobicoke, and support our economic recovery."

This project was funded under the food and beverage intake of the Southern Ontario Development Program, delivered by FedDev Ontario. FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario and the Southern Ontario Development Program, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Contact:

Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
Gary Toft
Director of Communications
613-943-7599

FedDev Ontario
Media Relations
416-973-5945

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper célèbre l'expansion de l'usine Italian Home Bakery Ltd. dans laquelle il a investi

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear avec des employés d'Italian Home Bakery Ltd. lors d'une annonce de financement à Etobicoke.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), avec des employés d'Italian Home Bakery Ltd. lors d'une annonce de financement à Etobicoke. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 30 avril 2010

Etobicoke (Ontario) — Les résidents de la région du Grand Toronto profiteront du récent projet d'expansion de la boulangerie industrielle Italian Home Bakery Ltd., qui a pu être mené à bien grâce à une contribution du Plan d'action économique de près de 1,4 million de dollars. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et le sénateur Consiglio Di Nino se sont joints au personnel de la boulangerie et à des dirigeants d'entreprises locales dans la nouvelle cuisine d'essai de l'usine pour célébrer la fin des travaux réalisés dans le cadre de ce projet à la fine pointe de la technologie.

« Notre gouvernement met tout en œuvre pour créer des emplois et venir en aide aux travailleurs, aux collectivités et aux entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement dans Italian Home Bakery Ltd. permet à l'entreprise de prendre de l'expansion et de percer sur le marché étranger. »

« Cette expansion nous permet de mettre en marché et de distribuer partout au Canada et aux États-Unis un produit qui n'était offert que sur le marché torontois, a affirmé John Rossetti, directeur financier et coprésident d'Italian Home Bakery Ltd. Grâce à cette contribution, notre entreprise profitera d'énormes possibilités de croissance. »

Italian Home Bakery Ltd. est une entreprise de fabrication artisanale authentique de pain et de petits pains à l'européenne desservant le marché de la région du Grand Toronto. Elle a investi la contribution remboursable d'une valeur maximale de 1 399 821 $ pour assurer l'expansion de son usine actuelle et accroître sa productivité en achetant du nouveau matériel : mélangeurs, appareils de malaxage, trancheuse, chaîne de production et four-tunnel. Grâce à ce projet de modernisation, l'entreprise prévoit créer 45 emplois, en plus d'accroître la distribution de ses produits sur le marché et de sensibiliser davantage les consommateurs à ses produits et à son image de marque.

« Le gouvernement Harper investit dans les entreprises pour créer des emplois et renforcer l'économie, a précisé le sénateur Di Nino. Cet investissement permettra à Etobicoke de bénéficier d'environ 45 nouveaux emplois et contribuera à la relance économique de notre région. »

Ce projet a été financé à l'issue du processus d'appel de demandes de financement pour le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, lancé par FedDev Ontario. S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements au média  :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-973-5945

  • Partager
Date de modification :