Archived — Canada's Economic Action Plan Creates Jobs and Keeps Economic Recovery on Track in Leamington

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
June 11, 2010

Leamington, Ontario — Residents of Leamington will benefit from an added investment to repair and replace critical infrastructure at the Leamington Municipal Marina. The announcement was made today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and Dave Van Kesteren, Member of Parliament for Chatham-Kent-Essex, at the Leamington Municipal Marina.

"Our government is committed to keeping the economic recovery in southern Ontario strong and to supporting the people, communities and businesses of this region," said Minister Goodyear. "This project will create jobs now and help ensure that the families and businesses of Leamington continue to thrive and prosper into the future."

"I'm pleased that our government is providing additional support to this community, when is it needed the most," said MP Van Kesteren. "This additional funding will ensure we can quickly rebuild this marina, an essential part of Leamington's infrastructure."

On April 9, 2010, the government announced a contribution of $325,000 from FedDev Ontario to replace one of the docks at the Leamington Marina. With an additional investment of up to $2 million, the marina will be able to repair and replace more docks and other critical infrastructure damaged by the recent tornado. The aim of this investment is to help protect the economic recovery underway in the region, enhance the tourism industry, and create jobs.

"Today's announcement is a major step in helping Leamington rebuild its infrastructure," said John M. Adams, Mayor of Leamington. "This funding will be used to rebuild our marina facility, and will create needed jobs for those in the construction, electrical and tourism industries."

This project will be funded under the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, which is creating immediate employment opportunities and supporting the local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn. Approved projects must meet the terms and conditions set out in their contribution agreements.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario and the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-973-5945

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique du Canada crée des emplois et maintient la reprise économique sur la bonne voie à Leamington

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 11 juin 2010

Leamington (Ontario) — Les résidents de Leamington bénéficieront d'un investissement additionnel pour réparer et remplacer une infrastructure d'une importance de premier plan à la Marina municipale de Leamington. Cet investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en compagnie de Dave Van Kesteren, député fédéral de Chatham-Kent-Essex, à la Marina municipale de Leamington.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à maintenir la vitalité de la reprise économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario et à venir en aide à la population, aux collectivités et aux entreprises de cette région, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Ce projet créera des emplois dès maintenant et permettra aux familles et aux entreprises de Leamington de continuer de croître et de prospérer au cours des années à venir. »

« Je suis heureux que notre gouvernement offre un complément d'aide à cette collectivité, au moment où elle en a le plus besoin, a affirmé le député fédéral Van Kesteren. Grâce à ce financement additionnel, il sera possible de reconstruire rapidement cette marina, un élément essentiel de l'infrastructure de Leamington. »

Le 9 avril 2010, le gouvernement a annoncé une contribution de 325 000 $ de FedDev Ontario pour remplacer un des quais de la Marina de Leamington. Grâce à un investissement additionnel pouvant atteindre 2 millions de dollars, la Marina sera en mesure de réparer et de remplacer d'autres quais et infrastructures d'une importance cruciale qui ont été endommagés par la tornade qui a dévasté la région dernièrement. Cet investissement vise à contribuer à maintenir la reprise économique en cours dans la région, à favoriser l'essor de l'industrie du tourisme et à créer des emplois.

« L'annonce aujourd'hui est une étape importante qui aide Leamington à rebâtir son infrastructure, a ajouté John M. Adams, le maire de Leamington. Le financement servira à reconstruire les installations de notre marina et créera les emplois requis dans les industries de la construction, électrique et du tourisme. »

Ce projet sera financé dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, qui crée des possibilités d'emplois immédiates et vient en aide aux économies locales aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique dans le monde. Les projets approuvés doivent satisfaire aux conditions générales énoncées dans les accords de contribution.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario 
416-973-5945

  • Partager
Date de modification :