Archived — Minister Goodyear Outlines Plan for Jobs and Growth for Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada's Economic Action Plan invests in the Southern Ontario Advantage

For immediate release
June 17, 2010

Toronto, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today unveiled a new strategic direction for economic development and growth in southern Ontario, during a keynote speech to the Economic Club of Canada. The Minister emphasized to local business and community leaders the important role that innovation has in promoting productivity and creating new jobs.

"As we emerge from a year marked with economic challenges and adversity for many around the world, our government is supporting southern Ontario businesses and communities by helping them return to a cycle of prosperity and growth," said Minister Goodyear. "By providing the necessary tools, we will further unleash the potential that exists in southern Ontario, create jobs and provide new opportunities for businesses to expand and reach new markets."

Over the coming months, FedDev Ontario will launch a number of initiatives under the Southern Ontario Advantage, designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development and increased productivity. A copy of the Minister's speech is available online.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-973-5945

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear expose l'action du gouvernement axée sur les emplois et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada investit dans l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 juin 2010

Toronto (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a dévoilé aujourd'hui une nouvelle orientation stratégique pour assurer le développement économique et la croissance du Sud de l'Ontario, lors du discours-programme qu'il a prononcé devant le Club économique du Canada. Le ministre a souligné aux dirigeants des milieux d'affaires et communautaires locaux le rôle de premier plan de l'innovation pour stimuler la productivité et créer de nouveaux emplois.

« Nous émergeons d'une année où quantité de gens du monde entier ont fait face à des défis économiques et à l'adversité, et notre gouvernement aide les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario à amorcer un nouveau cycle de prospérité et de croissance, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En leur fournissant les outils dont elles ont besoin, nous pouvons tirer davantage parti du riche potentiel du Sud de l'Ontario, créer des emplois et offrir aux entreprises de nouvelles possibilités pour prendre de l'expansion et percer sur de nouveaux marchés. »

Au cours des prochains mois, FedDev Ontario lancera une série d'initiatives, regroupées sous la bannière l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, conçues pour venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes, par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Le texte du discours du ministre est diffusé en ligne.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario
416-973-5945

  • Partager
Date de modification :