Archived — Canada's Economic Action Plan Attracts Top Research Talent to Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear launches initiative to connect Canadian businesses with the next generation of skilled workers

Minister Goodyear and other MPs observe as Gurjit Singh, Elevate PhD Fellow, conducts research at Unitron Hearing Ltd.

L-R: The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario); Steven Woodworth, Member of Parliament for Kitchener Centre; Peter Braid, Member of Parliament for Kitchener-Waterloo; and Harold Albrecht, Member of Parliament for Kitchener-Conestoga, observe as Gurjit Singh, Elevate PhD Fellow, conducts research at Unitron Hearing Ltd. in Kitchener following a Southern Ontario Development Program announcement. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
July 28, 2010

Kitchener, ONHighly-skilled workers, top students and researchers will have the chance to apply their ideas and knowledge to southern Ontario businesses and industry sectors, as a result of a new Government of Canada investment in MITACS Inc. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today in Kitchener at Unitron Hearing Ltd., joined by Harold Albrecht, MP for Kitchener-Conestoga.

"In order to keep the economy growing and create new jobs in southern Ontario, we need to develop, attract and retain the next generation of leading researchers," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will help increase business innovation, bring new ideas to market and strengthen the local economy."

The government will invest $11 million in MITACS Inc., a national research network that connects Canadian businesses and organizations with the next generation of skilled workers. This investment will allow MITACS Inc. to expand two of its internship and professional skills training programs in southern Ontario.

With this funding, MITACS' Elevate program will support approximately 160 internships and individual training programs for PhD graduates and post-doctoral fellows in southern Ontario. The program will help skilled workers gain applied business and scientific management knowledge in the private sector.

The Globalink internship program will bring 50 of the top third-year undergraduate students from Indian Institutes of Technology to southern Ontario for research internships, professional skills training and exposure to the region's top industrial innovators.

"Our government is committed to building Canada's knowledge economy," said MP Albrecht. "Canada's Economic Action Plan is strengthening the Waterloo region's economy through major investments in science, innovation and skills training."

These programs provide business opportunities for highly-trained workers, increase research-based innovation in the private-sector and demonstrate to international students that southern Ontario is a great place to research, work and live.

"MITACS is pleased to be partnering with the Government of Canada on the Elevate and Globalink programs, both of which focus on ensuring that Ontario recruits and retains highly-skilled research talent in the province," said Dr. Arvind Gupta, CEO & Scientific Director of MITACS. "As Canada works to strengthen its knowledge economy, we will need a substantial cohort of researchers who can turn the ideas of today into the products of tomorrow."

Funding for this project is being provided by FedDev Ontario, through the Southern Ontario Development Program. FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. Financial support is conditional on the signing of a contribution agreement.

For additional details on FedDev Ontario and the Southern Ontario Development Program, please visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For media enquiries, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique du Canada attire les chercheurs de premier ordre dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear lance une initiative afin de faire le lien entre les entreprises canadiennes et la prochaine génération de travailleurs hautement qualifiés

Le ministre Goodyear et d'autres députés observent alors que Dr Gurjit Singh, chargé de cours d'Elevate, effectue des recherches à Unitron Hearing Ltd.

G-D : L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), Steven Woodworth, député de Kitchener-Centre, Peter Braid, député de Kitchener-Waterloo et Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga, observent alors que Dr. Gurjit Singh, chargé de cours d'Elevate, effectue des recherches à Unitron Hearing Ltd., à Kitchener, suite à une annonce pour le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 juillet 2010

Kitchener (Ontario) — Les travailleurs hautement qualifiés, les étudiants et chercheurs exceptionnels auront la chance d'appliquer leurs idées et leur savoir aux secteurs des entreprises et de l'industrie du Sud de l'Ontario, grâce au nouvel investissement fédéral dans MITACS Inc. L'annonce de cet investissement a été faite aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) chez Unitron Hearing Ltd. à Kitchener, en compagnie de Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga.

« Dans le but d'assurer la croissance économique et de créer des emplois dans le Sud de l'Ontario, nous devons développer, attirer et conserver la prochaine génération de chercheurs de pointe, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement aidera les entreprises à accroître l'innovation et introduire de nouvelles idées sur le marché et solidifier l'économie locale. »

Le gouvernement investira 11 millions de dollars dans MITACS Inc., un réseau national de recherche qui établit des liens entre les entreprises et organisation canadiennes et la prochaine génération de travailleurs qualifiés. Cet investissement permettra à MITACS Inc. d'élargir deux de ses programmes de stages et de formation en perfectionnement des compétences dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Avec cet octroi financier, le programme Elevate de MITACS portera son appui à 160 stages et programmes de formation individuelle pour les titulaires d'un doctorat et les détenteurs d'une bourse de perfectionnement post-doctoral dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Le programme aidera les travailleurs qualifiés à accroître leurs connaissances en gestion des affaires appliquées et en organisation scientifique du travail au secteur privé.

Le programme de stage Globalink amènera dans le Sud de l'Ontario 50 des meilleurs étudiants en troisième année de premier cycle des Instituts indiens de technologie pour des stages de recherche, de perfectionnement des compétences et pour les ouvrir aux innovateurs industriels de pointe de la région.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à développer l'économie du savoir du Canada, a ajouté le député Albrecht. Le Plan d'action économique du Canada renforce l'économie de la région de Waterloo par le biais d'investissements importants en science, en innovation et en formation des compétences. »

Ces programmes fournissent des débouchés pour les travailleurs hautement qualifiés, augmentent les innovations basées sur la recherche au secteur privé et démontrent aux étudiants internationaux que le Sud de l'Ontario est un endroit remarquable où faire de la recherche, travailler et vivre.

« MITACS est fier de s'associer au gouvernement du Canada pour ses programmes Elevate et Globalink, qui ont pour cible de s'assurer que l'Ontario recrute et conserve dans la province les chercheurs de premier ordre hautement qualifiés, a affirmé Dr Arvind Gupta, directeur général et directeur scientifique de MITACS. Alors que le Canada travaille à solidifier son économie, nous aurons besoin d'une cohorte importante de chercheurs qui pourront transformer les idées d'aujourd'hui en produits de demain. »

Le financement pour ce projet est offert dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario de FedDev Ontario. FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca, ou appelez le 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :