Archived — Canada's Economic Action Plan Supports Business Innovators

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear highlights investment in innovation and job creation in Southern Ontario

Minister Goodyear highlights investment in innovation and job creation in southern Ontario at an National Research Council - Industrial Research Assistance Program  announcement in London, Ontario.

L-R: Ed Holder, Member of Parliament, London West; Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario); Dr. Philip Toleikis, President and CEO of Sernova Corp.; and Dr. Sam Stevens, Executive Director, National Research Council – Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) for Ontario Region at an NRC-IRAP announcement in London, Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
July 29, 2010

London, Ontario — Businesses in communities across southern Ontario will have more opportunities to conduct research, develop new products and bring new ideas to market thanks to a new investment from the Government of Canada. The announcement was made by the Hon. Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario, and Ed Holder, Member of Parliament for London West, while speaking at Sernova Corp. in London today.

"Through Canada's Economic Action Plan, our government is investing in new technology, research and development, because it helps our businesses innovate and better compete in the global economy," said Minister Goodyear. "Through this investment, FedDev Ontario is supporting innovative companies as they create high-skilled jobs and stimulate the local economy in communities throughout southern Ontario."

As part of Canada's Economic Action Plan, FedDev Ontario will provide $45 million through the National Research Council's Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) to eligible small and medium sized businesses in southern Ontario to boost their research and development capacities, increase innovation, create jobs and bring their ideas from the lab to the marketplace.

"Providing financial assistance to small and medium-sized enterprises demonstrates the National Research Council of Canada's commitment to turn knowledge into innovation," said NRC President John R. McDougall. "Sernova Corporation's entrepreneurship and dedication to developing industry-leading and internationally-recognized products is exactly the kind of drive we look for when partnering with innovative Canadian firms."

Minister Goodyear and MP Holder made the announcement at Sernova Corp. at the University of Western Ontario's Research Park. Sernova Corp. is a Canadian-based, health-sciences company focused on commercializing medical technologies. Sernova Corp. is developing a platform technology for a number of serious disease indications, starting with a novel treatment for insulin-dependent diabetes, using the novel Cell Pouch System(tm) and its patented Sertolin(tm) cell technology.

"I am very proud that our government is supporting the work of innovative businesses here in London," said MP Holder. "With our support, London companies are conducting more research and bringing new ideas into the marketplace that benefits Canadian businesses, workers and communities."

About NRC-IRAP

The National Research Council Industrial Research Assistance Program provides a range of both technical and business-oriented advisory services along with necessary financial support to qualified innovative Canadian small- and medium-sized enterprises. NRC-IRAP received an investment in Budget 2009 — Canada's Economic Action Plan — of $200 million over two years to bolster the Industrial Research Assistance Program's support for innovative Canadian firms.  

About FedDev Ontario

Funding for this project is being provided through FedDev Ontario. FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario.

For additional details on FedDev Ontario, please visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For media enquiries, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique appuie les entreprises innovatrices

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear met en vedette les investissements dans l'innovation et la création d'emplois dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Le ministre Goodyear met en vedette les investissements dans l'innovation et la création d'emplois dans le Sud de l'Ontario lors d'une annonce du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches Canada à London, en Ontario.

G-D : Ed Holder, député de London-Ouest, Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), le Dr. Philip Toleikis, président et directeur général de Sernova Corp. et le Dr. Sam Stevens, directeur exécutif pour le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches Canada (PARI-CNRC) pour la Région de l'Ontario, lors d'une annonce pour PARI-CNRC à London, en Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 29 juillet 2010

London (Ontario) — Les entreprises dans des collectivités partout dans le Sud de l'Ontario auront plus de possibilités d'effectuer de la recherche, de développer de nouveaux produits et de lancer de nouvelles idées sur le marché grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada. L'annonce a été faite par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario et Ed Holder, député de London-Ouest, lors d'une allocution prononcée à Sernova Corp. à London aujourd'hui.

« Par l'entremise du Plan d'action économique du Canada, notre gouvernement investit dans les nouvelles technologies, la recherche et le développement parce que cela aide nos entreprises à innover et à faire meilleure concurrence sur la scène de l'économie mondiale, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Avec cet investissement, FedDev Ontario aidera les entreprises innovatrices à créer des emplois hautement spécialisés et à stimuler l'économie locale des collectivités dans l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario consentira 45 millions de dollars par l'entremise du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches aux petites et moyennes entreprises admissibles dans le Sud de l'Ontario pour accélérer leurs capacités en matière de recherche et développement, augmenter l'innovation, créer des emplois et faire en sorte que leurs idées passent du laboratoire au marché.

« Offrir de l'aide financière aux petites et moyennes entreprises témoigne de l'engagement du Conseil national de recherches du Canada de transformer le savoir en innovations, a dit le président du CNR, John R. McDougall. L'entrepreneurship et le dévouement de Sernova Corporation pour développer des produits de chef de file au sein de l'industrie et de renommée internationale sont exactement le genre de dynamisme que nous recherchons lorsque nous collaborons avec des entreprises canadiennes innovatrices. »

Le ministre Goodyear et le député Holder ont fait l'annonce à Sernova Corp., dans le parc scientifique de l'Université Western Ontario. Sernova Corp. est une entreprise des sciences de la santé établie au Canada qui se concentre sur la commercialisation des technologies médicales. Elle élabore une technologie de plate-forme pour un certain nombre d'indications de maladies graves, en commençant par un nouveau traitement pour le diabète insulinodépendant en utilisant le nouveau Cell Pouch System (mc) et sa technologie de cellule Sertolin (mc) brevetée.

« Je suis très fier que notre gouvernement fournisse son appui au travail des entreprises innovatrices ici, à London, a déclaré le député Holder. Avec notre aide, les compagnies de London sont aptes à conduire plus de recherches et à commercialiser de nouvelles idées sur le marché, ce qui profite aux entreprises canadiennes, aux travailleurs et aux collectivités. »

Au sujet du PARI-CNR

Le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches offre un large éventail de services consultatifs sur les plans techniques et commerciaux et une aide financière aux petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes novatrices admissibles. Le Plan d'action économique du gouvernement du Canada a attribué de nouveaux crédits de plus de 200 millions de dollars au cours des deux prochaines années pour stimuler le soutien du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle aux entreprises canadiennes novatrices.

Au sujet de FedDev Ontario

Le financement pour ce projet est offert par l'entremise de FedDev Ontario. L'Agence a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour favoriser le développement de l'économie et des collectivités, l'innovation et la diversification économique, grâce à des contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes sans but lucratif dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de FedDev Ontario, veuillez consulter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca, ou appeler le 1-866-593-5505. Pour des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, veuillez consulter le site http://plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :