Archived — Economic Action Plan Helps Manufacturing Workers in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Partnership with Yves Landry Foundation Invests in Skills Training

Minister Goodyear and Harold Albrecht, MP for Kitchener-Conestoga, are shown along with Quinton Steel Ltd. employees.

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) and Harold Albrecht, Member of Parliament for Kitchener-Conestoga, are shown along with Quinton Steel Ltd. employees at a Southern Ontario Development Program announcement in Guelph, Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
July 30, 2010

Guelph, ON — Employees at more than 280 small- and medium-sized manufacturers will benefit from advanced skills training thanks to a federal investment in the Yves Landry Foundation's Achieving Innovation and Manufacturing Excellence (AIME) Initiative. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario, made the announcement today at Quinton Steel Ltd.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "I am pleased to see that this program is working and helping to provide workers in our region with new skills so that small- and medium-sized manufacturers can innovate and bring new ideas to the marketplace."

"We are delighted to be working with the Government of Canada on this important partnership project," said Michael Sherrard, Chair of the Yves Landry Foundation. "Thanks to the funding, we will continue to foster innovation within the manufacturing sector and support the adaptation of the new technologies of southern Ontario."

Quinton Steel Ltd., a Guelph-based producer of heavy steel fabrications, will use the contribution of more than $37,000 to improve the preparation and skills of its 35 employees through the Metal Core Training Program, which will help the company to implement a new welding process. This training program will help to improve productivity, increase quality and efficiency, as well as reduce labour costs, enabling the company to be more competitive in the industry.

"With the financial aid of The Yves Landry Foundation we are able to invest in the future of our employees and our company during these difficult economic times," said Stefan Gajewski, President of Quinton Steel Ltd.

In November 2009, FedDev Ontario committed $12 million in the Yves Landry Foundation through the Southern Ontario Development Program. The Yves Landry Foundation was established by leaders in Canada's manufacturing and business sectors in 1998, to advance technological education and skills training to resolve the skilled labour and technical professional shortages facing Canadian industry. Through the AIME Initiative, the Yves Landry Foundation will fund up to 75 per cent of a project's total direct and indirect eligible cost up to a maximum of $50,000. For more information on the AIME Initiative, please visit www.yveslandryfoundation.com.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. For additional details on FedDev Ontario and the Southern Ontario Development Program, visit the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For media enquiries, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

For more information about the YLF or AIME, contact:

Karyn Brearley
Executive Director
Yves Landry Foundation
Phone: 416-620-5464 X240
Fax.: 416-620-9730
email: karyn.brearley@ylf-fyl.ca

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique vient en aide aux travailleurs du secteur de la fabrication dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Un partenariat avec la Fondation Yves Landry investit dans le perfectionnement professionnel

Le ministre Goodyear et Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga, avec les employés de Quinton Steel Ltd.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga sont présents ainsi que les employés de Quinton Steel Ltd. lors d'une annonce pour le Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario à Guelph, en Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 30 juillet 2010

Guelph (Ontario) — Des employés de plus de 280 petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication bénéficieront de perfectionnement professionnel avancé grâce à un investissement du gouvernement fédéral dans l'Initiative AIME (Achieving Innovation and Manufacturing Excellence) de la Fondation Yves Landry. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario, en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui à Quinton Steel Ltd.

« Notre gouvernement est pleinement engagé à fournir davantage de possibilités de développement économique à la population, aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Je suis heureux de constater que ce programme fonctionne et qu'il aide les travailleurs de notre région à acquérir de nouvelles compétences afin que les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication puissent innover et commercialiser de nouvelles idées sur le marché. »

« Nous sommes ravis de collaborer avec le gouvernement du Canada à cet important projet de partenariat, a affirmé Michael Sherrard, président de la Fondation Yves Landry. Grâce à ce financement, nous continuerons de promouvoir l'innovation au sein du secteur manufacturier et d'appuyer l'adoption de nouvelles technologies dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Quinton Steel Ltd., un producteur de fabrications en acier résistant, qui a son siège à Guelph, utilisera la contribution de plus de 37 000 $ pour améliorer la préparation et les compétences de ses 35 employés par l'entremise de son programme de formation relatif au noyau métallique, ce qui permettra à l'entreprise de mettre en œuvre un nouveau procédé de soudage. Ce programme de formation aidera à améliorer la productivité, à augmenter la qualité et l'efficacité, et à réduire les coûts de la main-d'œuvre, permettant ainsi à l'entreprise d'être plus concurrentielle dans l'industrie.

« Avec l'aide financière de la Fondation Yves Landry, nous sommes en mesure d'investir dans l'avenir de nos employés et de notre entreprise pendant ces temps économiques difficiles », a déclaré Stefan Gajewski, président de Quinton Steel Ltd.

En novembre 2009, FedDev Ontario a accordé 12 millions de dollars à la Fondation Yves Landry par l'entremise du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario. La Fondation Yves Landry a été mise sur pied en 1998 par des dirigeants des secteurs de la fabrication et des affaires pour faire progresser l'enseignement technologique et le perfectionnement professionnel afin de résoudre les problèmes de pénuries de main-d'œuvre qualifiée et de professionnels techniques à laquelle fait face l'industrie canadienne. Grâce à l'Initiative AIME, la Fondation Yves Landry financera jusqu'à 75 % des coûts directs et indirects admissibles d'un projet jusqu'à concurrence de 50 000 $. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l'Initiative AIME, veuillez consulter le site www.yveslandryfoundation.com.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour favoriser le développement de l'économie et des collectivités, l'innovation et la diversification économique, grâce à des contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes sans but lucratif dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez consulter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca, ou appeler le 1-866-593-5505. Pour des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, veuillez consulter le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la Fondation Yves Landry ou l'Initiative AIME, veuillez communiquer avec :

Karyn Brearley
Directrice générale
Fondation Yves Landry
Téléphone : 416-620-5464 X240
Télécopieur : 416-620-9730
Courriel : karyn.brearley@ylf-fyl.ca

Ce communiqué est accessible en ligne aux adresses suivantes : www.feddevontario.gc.ca et www.actionplan.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :