Archived — Minister Goodyear Outlines Plan for Jobs, Growth and Innovation in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
December 7, 2010

Toronto, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today highlighted the government's new plan for economic development and growth in southern Ontario, during a keynote speech at the Canadian Innovation Exchange 2010 in Toronto. The Minister emphasized to business and community leaders the important role that innovation has in promoting productivity, competitiveness and creating new jobs.

The Canadian Innovation Exchange is a one-day conference and gathering of key players in the innovation economy. It showcases the development of technology-based innovation in Canada.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and economic growth in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "We are helping businesses develop promising new ideas and get those innovations into the marketplace so that families in our region and across the country can benefit."

During his speech, Minister Goodyear discussed the importance of innovation in Canada, and highlighted FedDev Ontario's accomplishments over the last year in support of southern Ontario communities and businesses.

FedDev Ontario has recently announced new investments of up to $625 million over four years for initiatives designed to position southern Ontario to compete in the global, knowledge-based economy. For more information on these initiatives, please see the attached backgrounder.

Through these new initiatives, the Agency is working to expand the skills of the people of southern Ontario; provide greater access to the knowledge required to help small- and medium-sized enterprises and businesses get their ideas into the marketplace; improve the environment for entrepreneurs by supporting increased access to financing; and boost productivity, diversification and competitiveness throughout southern Ontario.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. To learn more about the Agency and the work it is doing to support innovation and economic growth, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Southern Ontario Advantage Initiatives

The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario has recently launched six new initiatives designed to create a Southern Ontario Advantage to place southern Ontario in a strong position to compete in the global economy.

These initiatives include:

  • Investing in Business Innovation, which is providing up to $190 million to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and bring them to market. Funding is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds;
  • Graduate Enterprise Internship, which is providing up to $80 million to eligible not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to arrange internships with structured mentoring opportunities for graduate students and recent graduates of programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics with small- and medium-sized companies in southern Ontario;
  • Scientists and Engineers in Business, which is providing up to $50 million to help recent graduates and graduate students in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) fields develop their business skills so they can bring innovative ideas to market and help grow the southern Ontario economy;
  • the Technology Development Program, which is providing up to $75 million to encourage research and innovation organizations, the private sector, post-secondary institutions and not-for-profit organizations to work together to accelerate the development of large-scale, advanced technologies that will result in new market opportunities for southern Ontario businesses;
  • Youth STEM, which is providing up to $20 million to eligible not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of educational outreach programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for children and youth in kindergarten through grade 12; and
  • the Prosperity Initiative, which is providing up to $210 million to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region. Funding is available for projects that enhance productivity, diversify the regional economy, and build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario.

For more information, please refer to our web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, email info@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear annonce un plan créateur d'emploi, de croissance et d'innovation pour le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 7 décembre 2010

Toronto (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a exposé les grandes lignes du nouveau plan de développement économique et de croissance du gouvernement pour le Sud de l'Ontario, lors d'une allocution devant les participants au Canadian Innovation Exchange 2010, à Toronto. Le ministre a souligné aux gens d'affaires et aux dirigeants communautaires l'importance que revêt l'innovation pour favoriser la productivité, la compétitivité et la création de nouveaux emplois.

Le Canadian Innovation Exchange est une conférence d'une journée qui réunit les principaux intervenants de l'économie de l'innovation et qui met en évidence le développement et les réalisations de l'innovation technologique au Canada.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à créer des emplois et à favoriser la croissance économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré M. Goodyear. Nous aidons les entreprises à créer de nouveaux concepts prometteurs et à les commercialiser afin que les familles dans notre région et partout au pays puissent en bénéficier. »

Pendant son allocution, M. Goodyear a parlé de l'importance de l'innovation au Canada et a souligné les réalisations de FedDev Ontario au cours de la dernière année pour aider les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

FedDev Ontario a récemment annoncé de nouveaux investissements de l'ordre de 625 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour les initiatives visant à permettre au Sud de l'Ontario d'être compétitif au sein d'une économie mondiale axée sur les connaissances. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces initiatives, veuillez consulter le document d'information ci-joint.

Dans le cadre de ces nouvelles initiatives, l'Agence travaille à élargir la gamme de compétences des citoyens du Sud de l'Ontario, à faciliter l'accès aux connaissances requises pour que les petites et moyennes entreprises puissent commercialiser leurs idées, à améliorer l'environnement pour les entrepreneurs en favorisant l'accès au financement et à renforcer la productivité, la diversification et la compétitivité dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour aider les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en connaître davantage sur l'Agence et sur ce qu'elle accomplit pour favoriser l'innovation et la croissance économique, veuillez consulter le site Web : www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a récemment lancé six nouvelles initiatives visant à créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario afin de tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial.

Ces initiatives sont :

  • Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, offre un financement allant jusqu'à 190 millions de dollars pour renforcer les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage, afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, procédés et pratiques et de les mettre sur le marché. Le financement est également offert à des réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations, dans le but d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissements providentiels;
  • Stage en entreprise pour diplômés, fournit des fonds allant jusqu'à 80 millions de dollars aux organismes à but non-lucratif et aux établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire admissibles du Sud de l'Ontario afin d'organiser des stages offrant aux étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles et aux diplômés récents de programmes de sciences, de technologies, d'ingénierie et de mathématiques (STIM) des possibilités de mentorat structurées dans les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) du Sud de l'Ontario;
  • Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, fournit un financement allant jusqu'à 50 million de dollars afin d'offrir du soutien financier aux diplômés récents et aux étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles de programmes STIM (sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques) afin de les aider à développer leurs compétences en affaires de façon à mettre en marché leurs idées et produits novateurs et à contribuer à la croissance de l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario;
  • Le Programme de développement de la technologie, fournit une aide financière allant jusqu'à 75 millions de dollars pour encourager les organismes spécialisés dans la recherche et l'innovation, le secteur privé, les établissements postsecondaires et les organismes à but non lucratif à collaborer de près pour accélérer la réalisation de projets technologiques de pointe et de grande envergure, ouvrant la voie à de nouveaux débouchés sur le marché pour les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario;
  • Jeunesse en STIM, fournit un appui financier pouvant atteindre 20 millions de dollars aux organismes à but non lucratif admissibles pour qu'ils puissent accroître, améliorer et coordonner la portée et l'incidence de leurs programmes éducatifs de sensibilisation des enfants et des jeunes, de la maternelle à la 12e année, dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM);
  • L'Initiative pour la prospérité fournit une somme pouvant atteindre 210 millions de dollars pour  encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront la production, la diversification et la compétitivité accrues dans la région. Le financement est offert pour des projets qui serviront à améliorer la productivité, diversifier l'économie régionale, et mettre en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter notre site Web au: www.feddevontario.gc.ca, envoyer un courriel à : info@feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro sans frais: 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :