Archived — Government of Canada Supports Small Businesses in Rural Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Photo 4: Minister Goodyear makes Community Futures Program announcement with CFDC funding recipients in the background.

Minister Goodyear makes Community Futures Program announcement with CFDC funding recipients in the background. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
January 19, 2011

Thorold, Ontario — Small businesses in rural southern Ontario will have greater access to services, support and financing, giving them more opportunities to grow and create new jobs, thanks to a new investment by the Government of Canada. The announcement was made by the Hon. Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (FedDev Ontario), speaking at RuskCast Inc. in Thorold.

"Southern Ontario's economy is recovering, but our government wants to make sure that hard-working families and businesses have the tools they need to succeed," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment in rural small businesses will help them prosper in the future by giving them more access to capital and knowledge to build on their ideas."

FedDev Ontario is increasing its investment to the Community Futures Program in southern Ontario by $1.7 million, bringing it to more than $12.5 million annually.

RuskCast Inc. is a small business that has received a loan from Venture Niagara, one of 37 Community Futures Development Corporations that FedDev Ontario funds in southern Ontario.

"The staff and volunteers of Venture Niagara decided that an investment in RuskCast would be good for the growth of the company and for the local economy too," said Frank Rupcic, General Manager, Venture Niagara. "Thanks to the additional support from the Government of Canada, Community Futures Development Corporations will be able to help many more businesses like RuskCast."

The additional Community Futures Program funding is part of an $11 million national commitment announced in Year Two of Canada's Economic Action Plan to help Community Futures Organizations across the country adapt to new and changing economic realities, such as increased demand by small businesses, globalization, and a decline in primary resource-based industries in rural communities.

Since 2006, southern Ontario's Community Futures Development Corporations have provided nearly $190 million and supported more than 14,000 businesses, through loans and other services.

For more information on the Community Futures Program, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Community Futures Program

The Community Futures Program is a national program that strengthens the ability of rural communities to diversify their economic base and provides key support to the development of rural businesses.

The Government of Canada provides funding to support the operations of Community Futures Development Corporations and to allow them to offer repayable loans to small and medium-sized businesses. These are community-based, not-for-profit organizations run by a board of local volunteers and staffed by experienced business and economic development professionals. There are currently 259 non-profit, locally-based Community Futures Organizations across Canada, supported by 19 provincial, regional and national associations collaborating directly with federal, provincial and municipal governments, as well as more than 3,500 volunteers. They provide a wide variety of programs and service, including:

  • strategic community planning and socio-economic development;
  • business information and planning services;
  • access to capital for small- and medium-sized businesses and social enterprises; and
  • support for community-based projects and special initiatives.

In September 2010, the Government of Canada approved the renewal of the Community Futures Program's terms and conditions, which included a number of administrative and accountability improvements.

Year Two of Canada's Economic Action Plan confirmed the Government of Canada's commitment to bolster the Program's permanent budget with funding of $11 million per year ongoing, resulting in total Program funding reaching a level of $82.6 million annually. The Program is delivered nationally by four regional development agencies and Industry Canada, with the increased funding allocated as noted in the chart below.

Allocations to Regional Development Agencies
Regional Development Agency Increased Allocation
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency $1.68 million
Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions $2.84 million
Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario $1.704 million
Industry Canada (FedNor) $1.136 million
Western Economic Diversification Canada $3.64 million
  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie les petites entreprises dans les régions rurales du Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Photo 4 : Le ministre Goodyear fait une annonce liée au Programme de développement des collectivités; on aperçoit à l’arrière-plan les représentants des SADC bénéficiaires d’un financement.

Le ministre Goodyear fait une annonce liée au Programme de développement des collectivités; on aperçoit à l’arrière-plan les représentants des SADC bénéficiaires d’un financement. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 19 janvier 2011

Thorold (Ontario) — Les petites entreprises dans les régions rurales du Sud de l'Ontario auront davantage accès à des services, du soutien et du financement, ce qui leur donnera plus d'occasions de croissance et de création de nouveaux emplois grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada. L'annonce a été faite par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État (FedDev Ontario), qui prononçait une allocution à RuskCast Inc. à Thorold.

« L'économie du Sud de l'Ontario se rétablit, mais notre gouvernement veut s'assurer que les familles et entreprises qui travaillent fort ont les moyens dont elles ont besoin pour réussir, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement dans les petites entreprises en régions rurales les aidera à prospérer à l'avenir en leur donnant davantage accès au capital et les connaissances pour tirer profit de leurs idées. »

FedDev Ontario augmente son investissement dans le Programme de développement des collectivités dans le Sud de l'Ontario de 1,7 million de dollars, pour passer à plus de 12,5 millions de dollars par année.

RuskCast Inc. est une petite entreprise qui a obtenu un prêt de Venture Niagara, une des 37 Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités que FedDev Ontario finance dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

« Le personnel et les bénévoles de Venture Niagara ont déterminé qu'un investissement dans RuskCast serait un atout à la croissance de l'entreprise ainsi que pour l'économie locale, a déclaré Frank Rupcic, directeur général, Venture Niagara. Grâce au financement supplémentaire du Gouvernement du Canada, les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités seront en mesure d'aider un plus grand nombre d'entreprises telle que RuskCast. »

Le financement supplémentaire du Programme de développement des collectivités fait partie d'un engagement national de 11 millions de dollars annoncé dans la deuxième année du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour aider des organismes de développement des collectivités à travers le pays à s'adapter aux réalités économiques changeantes et nouvelles, telles que les demandes accrues des petites entreprises, la mondialisation, et la diminution d'industries primaires fondées sur des ressources dans les collectivités rurales.

Depuis 2006, les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario ont fourni presque 190 millions de dollars et appuyé plus de 14 000 entreprises, grâce à des prêts et autres services.

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet du Programme de développement des collectivités, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche  d'information

Programme de développement des collectivités

Le Programme de développement des collectivités est un programme national qui vise à renforcer la capacité des collectivités rurales de diversifier la base économique et qui assure un soutien important au développement des entreprises en milieu rural.

Le gouvernement du Canada fournit du financement pour appuyer les activités des Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités et leur permettre d'offrir des prêts remboursables à de petites et moyennes entreprises. Elles sont des organismes communautaires à but non lucratif dirigés par un conseil d'administration formé de bénévoles locaux et compte un personnel d'expérience professionnelle dans le domaine des affaires et en développement économique. À l'heure actuelle, il existe 259 organismes de développement des collectivités à but non lucratif à travers le pays qui sont appuyés par 19 associations provinciales, régionales et nationales qui collaborent directement avec les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et municipaux, auxquels on doit ajouter plus de 3 500 bénévoles. Elles fournissent une vaste gamme de programmes et de services, notamment :

  • la planification communautaire et le développement socioéconomique stratégiques;
  • les renseignements en affaires et les services de planification;
  • l'accès au capital pour les petites et moyennes entreprises et les entreprises sociales; et
  • le soutien à la réalisation de projets communautaires et d'initiatives spéciales.

En septembre 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé le renouvellement des modalités du Programme de développement des collectivités qui comprenait un certain nombre d'améliorations administratives et en matière de responsabilisation.

La deuxième année du Plan d'action économique du Canada a confirmé l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada de renforcer le budget permanent du Programme grâce au financement de 11 millions de dollars par année de suite, ce qui représente un financement de programme total atteignant 82,6 millions de dollars par année. Quatre organismes de développement régional et Industrie Canada assurent la prestation nationale du Programme. L'augmentation des fonds affectés est décrite dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Fonds alloués aux agences de développement régional
Agence de développement régional Augmentation des fonds affectés
Agence de développement économique du Canada atlantique 1,68 million de dollars
Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec 2,84 millions de dollars
Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario 1,704 million de dollars
Industrie Canada (FedNor) 1,136 million de dollars
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada 3,64 millions de dollars
  • Partager
Date de modification :