Archived — Government of Canada supports Science and Engineering Graduates in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

The guidelines for this initiative have been extended to include up to $15,000 towards salary costs for recent graduates and current students of STEM graduate programs and up to $10,000 towards salary costs for recent graduates of undergraduate STEM programs and college STEM programs at the advanced diploma level. This will allow a wider range of students to benefit from this funding.

Economic Action Plan invests in the knowledge economy, skilled workforce

For immediate release
September 24, 2010

Waterloo, Ontario — Graduate students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics programs will gain real-world business skills and experience through internships with small- and medium-sized businesses as a result of a new Government of Canada initiative to strengthen the economy of southern Ontario. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario) launched the new Graduate Enterprise Internship today at an event in Waterloo, Ontario. Members of Parliament Patrick Brown and Jeff Watson held announcements in Barrie and Windsor respectively, highlighting the benefits for residents of southern Ontario.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting economic growth in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "The new Graduate Enterprise Internship will give science, technology, engineering, and mathematics graduates business skills to help them move into the workforce, while providing businesses with greater access to technical expertise they need to innovate."

The Graduate Enterprise Internship will provide up to $80 million over four years to programs that offer science and engineering graduate students and recent graduates (within five years) of undergraduate programs, internship and mentoring opportunities with small- and medium-sized businesses. Interns will gain business experience to complement their scientific skills and companies will benefit from interns' technical knowledge.

"This investment from the Government of Canada is crucial for creating permanent, high-quality knowledge jobs for young researchers in southern Ontario," said Dr. Arvind Gupta, Scientific Director of MITACS, a national research network which runs an industrial research internship program, MITACS Accelerate. "By augmenting their research and business skills, we are setting these young people up to succeed and in return, Ontario succeeds."

The government's actions are guided by a firm commitment to supporting job creation and economic growth, and mapping the path to Canada's economic recovery.

The initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who encouraged FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in addressing the ability of young people to meet future labour market needs and successfully transition into the southern Ontario workforce.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Graduate Enterprise Internship

The Graduate Enterprise Internship will build a pool of highly skilled workers in southern Ontario by providing business and management experience to graduate students and recent graduates of undergraduate programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). The initiative will encourage private sector business leaders to pass on their knowledge and business skills to young people pursuing STEM studies in southern Ontario.

The initiative will provide a total of up to $80 million over four years to support eligible not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to arrange internships with structured mentoring opportunities in southern Ontario small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) for graduate students and recent graduates of undergraduate STEM programs. Only organizations with established track records and currently delivering internship placements for STEM students or graduates will be eligible under the initiative.

Eligible applicants may receive a non-repayable contribution of up to 100 per cent of total project costs to manage the internships and may also receive contributions towards an intern's salary of up to $15,000 for a graduate student and up to $10,000 for a recent graduate of an undergraduate STEM program. The host SME must contribute a minimum of 50 per cent of the intern's salary and benefits.

Contributions under this initiative are not expected to exceed $5 million over four years per eligible applicant.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Gouvernement du Canada appuie les diplômés en sciences et en ingénierie dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les lignes directrices pour cette initiative ont été prolongées afin d'inclure jusqu'à 15 000 $ envers le coût des salaires aux diplômés récents et des étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles et jusqu'à 10 000 $ pour les diplômés récents d'un programme de premier cycle du domaine ou un programme collégial spécialisé de programmes STIM. Ceci fera en sorte qu'une plus grande variété d'étudiants bénéficiera de ce financement.

Le Plan d'action économique investit dans l'économie du savoir, dans une main d'œuvre qualifiée

Pour diffusion immédiate 
Le 24 septembre 2010

Waterloo (Ontario) — Les étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences, en technologies, en ingénierie et en mathématiques pourront acquérir des compétences et de l'expérience pratiques en affaires grâce à des stages au sein de petites et moyennes entreprises, en conséquence d'une nouvelle initiative du gouvernement du Canada pour le Sud de l'Ontario. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État (Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario) a lancé le nouveau programme Stage en entreprise pour diplômés aujourd'hui lors d'un événement à Waterloo, en Ontario. Les députés Patrick Brown et Jeff Watson ont effectué les annonces à Barrie et à Windsor, respectivement, et ont illustré les avantages qu'en retireront les résidents du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Notre gouvernement s'engage à créer des emplois et à favoriser la croissance économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Les nouveaux stages en entreprise permettront aux diplômés en sciences, en technologies, en ingénierie et en mathématiques d'acquérir des compétences en affaires qui les aideront à s'intégrer au marché du travail, tout en offrant aux entreprises un meilleur accès à l'expertise technique dont elles ont besoin pour innover. »

Le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés fournira jusqu'à 80 millions de dollars sur quatre ans aux programmes qui offrent aux étudiants en sciences et en ingénierie et aux diplômés récents (cinq dernières années) des programmes de premier cycle des stages et des possibilités de mentorat dans les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME). Les stagiaires pourront acquérir de l'expérience liée aux affaires pour compléter leurs compétences scientifiques, et les entreprises profiteront des connaissances techniques des stagiaires.

« L'investissement du gouvernement du Canada est crucial dans la création d'emplois spécialisés permanents de haute qualité pour les jeunes chercheurs du Sud de l'Ontario, a ajouté le Dr Arvind Gupta, directeur scientifique de MITACS, un réseau national de recherche qui dirige un programme de stages en recherche industrielle, MITACS Accélération. En augmentant leurs compétences dans la recherche et en affaires, nous préparons ces jeunes gens à réussir et en retour, l'Ontario réussit. »

Les actions du gouvernement sont guidées par un engagement ferme dans l'appui de la création d'emplois et dans la croissance économique et pour tracer la voie de la reprise économique du Canada.

L'initiative découle directement des commentaires de chefs d'entreprises, du milieu universitaire et de dirigeants communautaires à l'étendue du Sud de l'Ontario, qui avaient suggéré que FedDev Ontario adopte un rôle de chef de file pour habiliter les jeunes gens à répondre aux besoins futurs du marché du travail et pour assurer leur transition harmonieuse à la population active du Sud de l'Ontario.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. En sa seconde année d'activités, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus d'information, contactez :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Document d'information

Le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés

Le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés vise à créer un bassin de travailleurs hautement qualifiés dans le Sud de l'Ontario en offrant de l'expérience en affaires et en gestion aux étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles et aux diplômés récents de programmes de premier cycle en sciences, en technologies, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM). L'initiative encouragera les chefs d'entreprises du secteur privé à transmettre leurs connaissances et leurs compétences en affaires aux jeunes gens qui poursuivent des études dans le domaine des STIM dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

L'initiative fournira jusqu'à 80 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour appuyer les organisations sans but lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire admissibles dans le Sud de l'Ontario, afin d'organiser des stages offrant aux étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles et aux diplômés récents de programmes de STIM des possibilités de mentorat structuré dans les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) du Sud de l'Ontario. Seules les organisations ayant des antécédents bien établis et qui offrent actuellement des stages aux étudiants et aux diplômés récents de programmes de STIM seront admissibles à l'initiative.

Les demandeurs retenus seront admissibles à des contributions non remboursables pouvant atteindre 100 % des coûts admissibles du projet pour gérer les stages, y compris jusqu'à 15 000 $ en coûts salariaux pour un étudiant de deuxième ou de troisième cycle et jusqu'à 10 000 $ pour un diplômé récent d'un programme de STIM de premier cycle. La PME d'accueil doit verser au moins 50 % du salaire et des avantages sociaux du stagiaire.

Les contributions dans le cadre de l'initiative ne devraient pas dépasser 5 millions de dollars sur quatre ans par organisme demandeur admissible.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées à mesure qu'elles seront reçues, et les demandeurs seront informés dès que leur projet sera approuvé. Toutes les activités de projets doivent être terminées d'ici au 31 mars 2014.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez vous reporter aux Lignes directrices sur Le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés, au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :