Archived — Economic Action Plan Supports Business Innovation and Manufacturing in Vaughan

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 25, 2010

Vaughan, Ontario — Vaughan area residents and businesses will benefit from new jobs and economic development as a result of a $1 million Economic Action Plan investment for TeknoScan Systems Inc. to expand, develop and bring to market new products. The Honourable Steven Fletcher, Minister of State for Democratic Reform, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario; and the Honourable Peter Kent, Minister of State for Foreign Affairs and MP for Thornhill, joined company employees in the new facility to celebrate the project.

“Our investment in TeknoScan Systems Inc. is helping the company to expand its business and market its products around the world,” said Minister Fletcher. “Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting the workers, communities and businesses of southern Ontario.”

“Investing in innovative businesses to strengthen the economy is our government’s priority,” said Minister Kent. “This investment will create approximately 20 new jobs here in our community and commercialize state-of-the-art technology that will benefit world markets.”

“It’s an honour for TeknoScan to be recognized for our innovative technology with this investment by the Government of Canada,” said Sam Hyams, President and Co-CEO of TeknoScan Systems Inc. “Our goal is to develop and deploy a fast, cost effective system for screening the millions of containers that presently go unchecked. Designed to test for the presence of drugs and explosives in air samples, our technology offers the potential for 100% cargo screening sought after by security forces the world over. This investment will bring us significantly closer to achieving that goal.”

TeknoScan Systems Inc., a developer of specialized instruments to monitor and detect threat substances for the mass security market, has developed the technology to quickly sample and detect explosives and other chemical threats in cargo containers. The company is using the repayable contribution of $1 million to commercialize this technology by establishing a manufacturing plant and initiating global marketing efforts.The company expects to create 20 new jobs in engineering, manufacturing and sales within the next year.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario or the Community Adjustment Fund, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada’s Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d’action économique porte son appui à l’innovation commerciale et à l’industrie manufacturière à Vaughan

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 25 août 2010

Vaughan (Ontario) — Les résidents et les enterprises de la région de Vaughan profiteront de nouveaux emplois et de développement économique suite à un investissement de 1 million de dollars dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique pour l’expansion, le développement et la mise en marché de nouveaux produits de TeknoScan Systems Inc. L’honorable Steven Fletcher, ministre d’État (Réforme démocratique), au nom de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État (FedDev Ontario), accompagné de l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères et député de Thornhill se sont joints aux employés de la compagnie dans le nouvel établissement afin de célébrer le projet.

« Notre investissement dans TeknoScan Systems Inc. aide la compagnie à élargir son champs d’affaires et à mettre en marché ses produits à travers le monde, a déclaré le ministre Fletcher. Notre gouvernement est engagé à créer des emplois et à appuyer les travailleurs, collectivités et entreprises dans le Sud de l’Ontario. »

« Investir dans des enterprises novatrices afin de renforcer l’économie est la priorité de notre gouvernement, a ajouté le ministre Kent. Cet investissement créera environ 20 nouveaux emplois ici dans notre collectivité et commercialisera une technologie de pointe qui profitera aux marchés mondiaux. »

« C’est un honneur pour TeknoScan que d’être reconnu pour notre technologie novatrice avec cet investissement du gouvernement du Canada, a indiqué Sam Hyams, président et co-directeur général de TeknoScan Systems Inc. Notre but est de développer et de déployer un système rapide et efficient pour inspecter les millions de conteneurs qui sont actuellement non-contrôlés. Conçu pour détecter la présence de drogues et d’explosifs dans des échantillons d’air, notre technologie offre la possibilité d’inspecter 100 % des conteneurs, ce qui est recherché par les forces de sécurité à travers le monde. Cet investissement nous rapprochera de notre but de manière significative. »

TeknoScan Systems Inc., une entreprise de développement en instruments spécialisés pour surveiller et détecter les substances menaçantes pour le marché de masse des services de sécurité, a développé la technologie pour faire des prélèvements et détecter rapidement les explosifs et autres menaces chimiques dans les conteneurs de fret. La compagnie utilise la contribution remboursable de 1 million de dollars pour la commercialisation de cette technologie en établissant une entreprise de fabrication et en entreprenant des efforts mondiaux de marketing. La compagnie s’attend à créer 20 nouveaux emplois dans les secteurs de l’ingénierie, de la fabrication et des ventes d’ici un an.

S’inscrivant dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l’innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratifs du Sud de l’Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario ou sur le Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d’action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Ce communiqué est diffusé en ligne aux adresses www.feddevontario.gc.ca et www.plandaction.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :