Archived — Minister Goodyear Outlines Plan for Jobs and Growth in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

FedDev Ontario invests in people, communities and businesses

For immediate release
August 27, 2010

Cambridge, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), outlined a new strategic direction for economic development and growth in southern Ontario, during a keynote speech to the Cambridge Chamber of Commerce, on the occasion of the 1st anniversary of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario. 

"As our economy recovers from the global recession, our government is supporting the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario by investing in jobs and growth," said Minister Goodyear. "By providing the necessary tools, we will further unleash the potential that exists in southern Ontario, and provide new opportunities for businesses to expand and reach new markets."

During his speech, Minister Goodyear discussed the progress FedDev Ontario has made over the last year supporting southern Ontario communities and businesses, and emphasized the important role that innovation has in promoting productivity and creating new jobs.

"The establishment by the federal government of FedDev Ontario, was exactly what we, in southern Ontario needed to inject some optimism into the business community. Having Minister Goodyear to head it up, was simply a bonus. Congratulations to the successes of FedDev Ontario and the business sector over the last year," said Greg Durocher, president and CEO of the Cambridge Chamber of Commerce.

Over the coming months, FedDev Ontario will launch a number of initiatives to build a Southern Ontario Advantage and position southern Ontario to compete in the global, knowledge-based economy. These will help businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development and increased productivity.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with an investment of more than $1 billion over five years to help workers, communities and businesses in southern Ontario.

August 2010 marks one year since FedDev Ontario started delivering economic and community development programs in southern Ontario. The agency focuses on innovation and economic diversification through contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations. To learn more about FedDev Ontario, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear expose l’action du gouvernement axée sur les emplois et la croissance dans le Sud de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

FedDev Ontario investit dans les gens, les collectivités et les entreprises

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 août 2010

Cambridge (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a exposé les grandes lignes d'une nouvelle orientation stratégique en vue de stimuler le développement et la croissance économiques dans le Sud de l'Ontario lors du discours-programme qu'il a prononcé devant la Chambre de commerce de Cambridge à l'occasion du premier anniversaire de FedDev Ontario. 

« En cette période où notre économie émerge de la récession mondiale, notre gouvernement vient en aide à la population, aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario par ses investissements dans l'emploi et la croissance, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En leur fournissant les outils nécessaires, nous pouvons tirer davantage parti du riche potentiel du Sud de l'Ontario et offrir aux entreprises de nouvelles possibilités pour prendre de l'expansion et percer sur de nouveaux marchés. »  

Lors de son discours, le ministre Goodyear a discuté des progrès accomplis par FedDev Ontario depuis un an pour prêter main-forte aux collectivités et aux entreprises du Sud de la province. Il a par ailleurs souligné le rôle de premier plan de l'innovation pour stimuler la productivité et créer des emplois.

« En mettant sur pied FedDev Ontario, le gouvernement fédéral a fourni au Sud de l'Ontario exactement ce dont nous avions besoin pour inspirer un peu d'optimisme aux milieux d'affaires, a précisé Greg Durocher, président et chef de la direction de la Chambre de commerce de Cambridge. En prime, il a nommé le ministre Goodyear à la tête de l'Agence. Félicitations à FedDev Ontario et aux milieux d'affaires pour les succès qu'ils ont remportés depuis un an. »

Au cours des prochains mois, FedDev Ontario lancera une série d'initiatives visant à promouvoir l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour assurer la compétitivité du Sud de l'Ontario dans l'économie mondiale du savoir. Ces initiatives sont conçues pour venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes, par des partenariats  et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l’innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, avec un investissement de plus de 1 milliard de dollars sur une période de cinq ans afin de porter son aide aux travailleurs, collectivités et entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Le mois d’août 2010 marque le premier anniversaire des activités de programme de FedDev Ontario pour favoriser le développement économique et communautaire du Sud de l'Ontario. Les activités de l'Agence sont axées sur l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias  
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :