Archived — Earth Rangers Showcases Energy Efficient Centre

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate Release
September 8, 2010

Vaughan — Young people across southern Ontario will have greater opportunities to become inspired and learn how to protect our natural environment thanks to a recently completed project at Earth Rangers. The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), visited the completed project site today. 

"We are pleased to have partnered with Earth Rangers to renovate their award-winning green facility and help them expand their environmental programming targeted at Canadian youth," said Minister Clement. "Our government has been investing in projects like this through Canada's Economic Action Plan to create jobs quickly and promote sustainable growth."

"Earth Rangers is extremely grateful to the Government of Canada for its support," said Peter Kendall, Executive Director of Earth Rangers. "With this funding, the Earth Rangers Centre has become one of Canada's greenest and smartest buildings, serving as a global demonstration site for sustainable technologies and green building operation. We are also very proud of the awards we have received as a result of the federal government's support, which include Storage and Network World's Best Practices Award for Green Computing, and Canada's Quest for the Greenest IT."  

The expansion of Earth Rangers' facilities includes the installation of a geothermal heating and cooling system, solar panels and a fully integrated building automation system. This federal investment has allowed Earth Rangers to expand its animal housing, parking lot, cafeteria, wastewater treatment facility and washrooms.

The Government of Canada has provided up to $2.5 million to this project through the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) in southern Ontario and the Earth Rangers Foundation, a registered charity located in Vaughan, Ontario, and its partners are providing up to $2,036,000.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario or the Community Adjustment Fund, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:
Puneet Luthra, Associate Director, Government Relations, Earth Rangers  
905-417-3447 Ext. 2274

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Earth Rangers présente un centre éconergétique

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 8 septembre 2010

Vaughan — Les jeunes à travers le Sud de l'Ontario auront encore plus de possibilités à trouver l'inspiration et apprendre comment protéger notre environnement naturel grâce à un projet terminé récemment à Earth Rangers. L'honorable Tony Clement, ministre de l'Industrie, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État, Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a visité aujourd'hui l'emplacement du projet terminé. 

« Nous sommes ravis d'avoir travaillé en partenariat avec Earth Rangers pour la rénovation de leur installation verte primée et de les avoir aidé à étendre leur programmation environnementale ciblée aux jeunes Canadiens, a déclaré le ministre Clement. Notre gouvernement a investi dans des projets comme celui-ci par l'entremise du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour créer des emplois rapidement et promouvoir la croissance durable. »

« Earth Rangers est extrêmement reconnaissant au gouvernement du Canada pour son appui,  a ajouté Peter Kendall, directeur exécutif de Earth Rangers. Avec ce financement, le Centre Earth Rangers est devenu l'un des édifices les plus verts et intelligents du Canada, servant de site de démonstration mondial pour les technologies durables et le fonctionnement d'un édifice vert. Nous sommes aussi très fiers des prix que nous avons reçus suite au soutien du gouvernement fédéral, comprenant le Storage and Network World's Best Practices Award for Green Computing et le Canada's Quest for the Greenest IT. »  

L'agrandissement des aménagements de Earth Rangers comprend l'installation d'un système de refroidissement et de chauffage géothermique, de panneaux solaires et d'un système de contrôle automatique de bâtiments totalement intégré. Cet investissement fédéral a permis à Earth Rangers d'agrandir ses locaux d'élevage, son stationnement, sa cafétéria, son installation de traitement des eaux usées et ses toilettes.

Le gouvernement du Canada a octroyé une somme atteignant 2,5 millions de dollars à ce projet par l'entremise du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) dans le Sud de l'Ontario et la Earth Rangers Foundation, un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré situé à Vaughan en Ontario, et ses partenaires ont fourni un montant allant jusqu'à 2,036 millions de dollars.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratifs du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario ou sur le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez contacter :
Puneet Luthra, codirecteur, relations gouvernementales, Earth Rangers  
905-417-3447, poste 2274

  • Partager
Date de modification :