Archived — Government of Canada Promotes Jobs and Growth in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Lori Gardi, Senior Software Developer at the Robarts Research Institute, demonstrates robotic technology used to diagnose cancer to Minister Goodyear and Ed Holder, MP for London West.

Lori Gardi, Senior Software Developer at the Robarts Research Institute, demonstrates robotic technology used to diagnose cancer to the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario and Ed Holder, MP for London West at the launch of the Technology Development Program on September 14, 2010. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
September 14, 2010

London, Ontario — Businesses, post-secondary institutions and industry in southern Ontario will benefit from a new program to accelerate the development of large-scale, advanced technology projects with commercial potential. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), joined by Ed Holder, Member of Parliament for London West, launched the new Technology Development Program today at an event at the Robarts Research Institute at The University of Western Ontario.

"Our government's new Technology Development Program will create jobs and promote economic growth in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This program will create partnerships between businesses, colleges, universities and community organizations to bring promising new technologies to market more quickly."

The Technology Development Program will provide up to $75 million over four years to encourage research and private sector organizations, post-secondary institutions and not-for-profit organizations to work together to advance new and emerging technologies that have the potential to significantly expand the economy of southern Ontario.

"Canadian universities are doing research that is changing our world," said Ted Hewitt, Vice-President, Research & International Relations at Western. "By working in partnership with industry and other organizations, we can sharpen competitiveness and develop solutions more effectively and faster."

The program is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in helping to bridge the gap between research and development and commercialization.

"This new program will offer great opportunities for businesses here in London and across southern Ontario," said MP Holder. "It builds on investments our government has made through the Economic Action Plan, such as the new cargo terminal at the London Airport. Our government again is investing in jobs and growth for families and businesses in London and throughout the region."

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Technology Development Program

The Technology Development Program will strengthen and diversify southern Ontario's economy by providing financial support to bring game-changing technology to market faster.

FedDev Ontario is seeking projects that will significantly contribute to the development of globally-competitive, market-ready technologies with the potential to develop new business opportunities or benefits for an industry, sector or region.

The program addresses the gap between business-driven research and development and commercialization by encouraging the private and public sectors to collaborate on innovative, breakthrough technologies that are one to seven years from market.

Not-for-profit organizations (such as innovation and commercialization organizations) and post-secondary institutions will be eligible to receive funding. Eligible applicants must have matching private sector or other non-government financial support and may apply for contributions of up to $20 million over a four-year period.

Eligible project activities include:

  • Product and process applied research;
  • Engineering design;
  • Technology acceleration;
  • Product testing;
  • Certification;
  • Marketing studies;
  • Proof of concept;
  • Piloting and demonstration;
  • Problem solving;
  • Clinical trials;
  • Pre-commercialization activities; and
  • Commercialization of intellectual property.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada favorise les emplois et la croissance dans le Sud de l'ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Un nouveau programme qui vise à renforcer l’économie en mettant des technologies prometteuses sur le marché

Lori Gardi, réalisatrice de logiciels principale à l'institut de recherche Robarts, démontre la robotique utilisée pour permettre le diagnostic du cancer au ministre Goodyear et à Ed Holder, député de London-Ouest.

Lori Gardi, réalisatrice de logiciels principale à l'institut de recherche Robarts, démontre la robotique utilisée pour permettre le diagnostique du cancer à Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario et à Ed Holder, député de London-Ouest lors du lancement du Programme de développement de la technologie, le 14 septembre 2010. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 14 septembre 2010

London (Ontario) — Les entreprises, établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et les industries du Sud de l'Ontario bénéficieront d'un nouveau programme visant à accélérer la réalisation de projets technologiques de pointe de grande envergure et possédant un potentiel commercial. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), accompagné par Ed Holder, député fédéral de London-Ouest, a lancé aujourd'hui le nouveau Programme de développement de la technologie, lors d'un événement qui a eu lieu à l'institut de recherche Robarts de l'Université de Western Ontario.

« Le nouveau Programme de développement de la technologie de notre gouvernement créera des emplois et stimulera la croissance économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Ce programme permettra de former des partenariats unissant entreprises, collèges, universités et organismes communautaires en vue de mettre plus rapidement en marché de nouvelles technologies prometteuses. »

Le Programme de développement de la technologie prévoit un financement pouvant atteindre 75 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour encourager les instituts de recherche et les organismes privés, les établissements postsecondaires et les organismes à but non lucratif  à collaborer de près pour favoriser l'avancement de technologies nouvelles et des percées technologiques qui ont le potentiel de contribuer à l'essor économique du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Les universités canadiennes effectuent des recherches qui sont en train de changer notre monde, a mentionné Ted Hewitt, vice président de la Recherche et des relations internationales de l'Université de Western Ontario. En œuvrant en partenariat avec l'industrie et d'autres organisations, nous pouvons mieux cibler la concurrence et développer des solutions plus efficacement et rapidement. »

Ce programme est issu directement des commentaires des chefs de file des milieux d'affaires, universitaires et communautaires de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario, à l'effet que FedDev Ontario doit jouer un rôle de premier plan pour combler l'écart entre la recherche-développement et la commercialisation.

« Ce nouveau programme offrira de grandes possibilités pour les entreprises, ici à London, et partout dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a ajouté le député Holder. Il met à profit les investissements effectués par notre gouvernement par l'entremise du Plan d'action économique, comme le nouvel aérogare de fret à l'aéroport de London. Notre gouvernement investit encore une fois dans les emplois et dans la croissance pour les familles et entreprises de London et partout ailleurs à travers la région. »

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. En sa seconde année d'activités, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Programme de développement de la technologie

Le Programme de développement de la technologie contribuera à renforcer et à diversifier l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario grâce à une aide financière visant à assurer plus rapidement la mise en marché de technologies révolutionnaires.

FedDev Ontario est à la recherche de projets qui contribueront grandement au développement de technologies concurrentielles à l'échelle mondiale, prêtes à être mises en marché et ayant le potentiel d'ouvrir de nouveaux débouchés ou d'offrir des avantages à une industrie, à un secteur ou à la région.

Ce programme vise à combler l'écart entre la recherche-développement commerciale et la commercialisation en encourageant la collaboration entre les secteurs privé et public pour mettre au point des technologies novatrices et d'avant-garde, pouvant être mises en marché en l'espace d'un à sept ans.

Les organismes à but non lucratif (spécialisés entre autres dans l'innovation et la commercialisation) et les établissements postsecondaires seront admissibles à un financement. Les demandeurs admissibles doivent obtenir un soutien financier paritaire provenant du secteur privé ou d'un autre organisme non gouvernemental et peuvent soumettre une demande de contribution d'une valeur maximale de 20 millions de dollars sur une période de quatre ans.

Exemples d'activités de projet admissibles :

  • Recherche appliquée à des produits et à des processus;
  • Conception technique;
  • Accélération du progrès technique;
  • Mise à l'essai de produits;
  • Certification;
  • Études de mise en marché;
  • Démonstration du bien-fondé de la conception;
  • Projets pilotes et de démonstration;
  • Résolution de problèmes;
  • Essais cliniques;
  • Activités de précommercialisation;
  • Commercialisation de la propriété intellectuelle.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées en permanence et les demandeurs seront avisés lorsque leurs projets seront approuvés. Toutes les activités de projet doivent prendre fin avant le 31 mars 2014.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices du Programme, diffusées dans le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :