Archived — Government of Canada Supports Development Opportunities in Oshawa

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Federal funding supports quest for new discoveries in Ontario

For Immediate Release
September 16, 2010

Oshawa, Ontario — Oshawa residents and businesses could see the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) expand its downtown campus in the future. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (FedDev Ontario, and Science and Technology) and Colin Carrie, Member of Parliament for Oshawa, announced that the government would support a feasibility study to look at the economic benefits for the university’s plans to grow. They also celebrated new federally funded research underway at the university.

"This project will help determine how to best revitalize downtown Oshawa, creating jobs and growth in the local economy,” said Minister Goodyear. "This is another example of how our government is committed to supporting the businesses, workers and communities of southern Ontario."

"On behalf of UOIT, I would like to thank the Government of Canada for allowing us to create this roadmap to the future," said Dr. Ronald Bordessa, president, UOIT. "Our university is growing at an unprecedented rate due to the excellent faculty and staff and the quality of education students are receiving as a result. The university’s reputation will continue to grow and it is critically important to prepare for the next generation of students who will attend this innovative post-secondary institution."

UOIT will receive up to $2 million under the Community Adjustment Fund to carry out the feasibility study.

The university's business plan projects the number of students in the downtown could grow to 5,500 by 2015. To prepare for growth of this magnitude the feasibility study will include a needs assessment, a services assessment, an economic impact component, a transportation study, a parking supply and demand analysis, a student accommodation assessment, an accessibility plan, an environmental sustainability plan and a community and social impact component. The final report will be submitted to the Government of Canada by Thursday, March 31, 2011

The feasibility study is being prepared in partnership with the university, the City of Oshawa, and private sector firms The Black Box Institute and Urban Strategies.

Minister Goodyear and MP Carrie also celebrated the research underway at UOIT by 18 world-class researchers who have collectively been awarded more than $2 million in funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) in 2010. The funding comes in the form of Discovery Grants, which support ongoing areas of research, Research Tools and Instruments grants, which are allocated to assist with the purchase or development of research equipment, and Discovery Accelerator Supplement grants, which are awarded to further accelerate the research portfolios of a small group of impressive researchers who have promising futures as international leaders in their respective area of research.

Researchers at UOIT will be using the funding to focus on innovation in a variety of areas including automotive, forensics, health-care, information technology, sustainable energy and more.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Melissa Levy
Communications and Marketing
UOIT
905-721-8668 ext. 2513

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie des possibilités de développement à Oshawa

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement fédéral appuie financièrement la recherche de nouvelles découvertes en Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 16 septembre 2010

Oshawa (Ontario) — Les résidents et entreprises d'Oshawa estiment qu'il y a lieu, dans le futur, d'agrandir le campus du centre-ville de l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario. Ainsi, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État (FedDev Ontario, et science et technologie), et Colin Carrie, député d'Oshawa, ont annoncé que le gouvernement appuierait la réalisation d'une étude de faisabilité visant à examiner les avantages économiques des plans d'expansion de l'Université. Ils se sont aussi réjouis des nouvelles recherches en cours à l'Université, financées par le gouvernement fédéral.

« Ce projet aidera à déterminer la meilleure façon de revitaliser le centre-ville d'Oshawa, et de créer des emplois et favoriser la croissance », a affirmé le ministre Goodyear. « Ceci est un autre exemple de l'engagement de notre gouvernement pour appuyer les entreprises, les travailleurs et les communautés du Sud de l'Ontario. »

« Au nom de l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario, je voudrais remercier le gouvernement du Canada de nous avoir permis de créer cette feuille de route vers l'avenir », a déclaré M. Ronald Bordessa, président de l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario. « Notre Université continue de croître à un rythme sans précédent en raison de l'excellence de la faculté et du personnel et, par conséquent, de la qualité de l'éducation que reçoivent les étudiants. La réputation de l'Université continuera de prendre de l'ampleur et il est d'une importance cruciale de se préparer pour la prochaine génération d'étudiants qui fréquenteront cet établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire novateur. »

L'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario recevra jusqu'à 2 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités pour mener à bien cette étude de faisabilité.

Le Plan d'activités de l'Université prévoit que le nombre d'étudiants au centre-ville pourrait atteindre 5 500 d'ici 2015. Afin de se préparer pour une croissance de cette importance, l'étude de faisabilité comprendra une évaluation des besoins, une évaluation des services, une composante sur l'incidence économique, une étude des transports, une analyse de l'offre et de la demande relative au stationnement, un plan d'accessibilité, un plan sur la durabilité de l'environnement et une composante sur les répercussions communautaires et sociales. Le rapport définitif sera présenté au gouvernement du Canada d'ici le jeudi 31 mars 2011.

L'étude de faisabilité est en voie de préparation en partenariat avec l'Université, la Ville d'Oshawa, et les entreprises du secteur privé, The Black Box Institute et Urban Strategies.

Le ministre Goodyear et le député Carrie se sont aussi réjouis de la recherche en cours à l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario menée par 18 chercheurs de calibre mondial à qui le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) a attribué collectivement plus de 2 millions de dollars en financement en 2010. Ce financement prend la forme de subventions à la découverte, qui appuient des domaines de recherche continus, des subventions d'outils et d'instruments de recherche, qui sont octroyées pour aider à faire l'acquisition ou développer des équipements de recherche, et de subventions de suppléments d'accélération à la découverte, qui sont attribuées pour accélérer davantage les portefeuilles de recherche d'un petit groupe de chercheurs impressionnants qui ont un avenir prometteur comme leaders internationaux dans leurs domaines de recherche respectifs.

Les chercheurs à l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario se serviront du financement pour se concentrer sur l'innovation dans divers domaines, y compris l'automobile, l'identité judiciaire, les soins de santé, la technologie de l'information, l'énergie durable et plus.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Melissa Levy
Communications et marketing
Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario
905-721-8668, poste 2513

  • Partager
Date de modification :