Archived — Government of Canada Launches New Program to Help Graduates Start Innovative Businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Economic Action Plan Invests in Southern Ontario Future Leaders

Minister Goodyear launches the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative at Brock University in St. Catharines.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), launches the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative at Brock University in St. Catharines. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release 
October 13, 2010

St. Catharines, Ontario — Science and engineering graduates with innovative, market-driven ideas will benefit from a new program to build their business skills. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) announced the new Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative at an event today at Brock University in St. Catharines.

"Our government recognizes the importance of investing in the ideas of recent graduates and graduate students and providing them with the skills necessary to become successful entrepreneurs," said Minister Goodyear. "By providing the necessary tools, we will create jobs and fuel business innovation and growth in southern Ontario."

Scientists and Engineers in Business will provide up to $50 million over four years to not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions to help build the entrepreneurial skills of recent graduates and graduate students in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields who have developed fresh ideas for business start-ups, and support them as they bring their ideas to market, launch or expand their businesses.

"This is a strategic program that complements other initiatives aimed at accelerating a knowledge-based economy in central Canada," said Brock University President Jack Lightstone. "By helping recent graduates overcome economic barriers, more competitive products, processes and services will make it onto the market."

Scientists and Engineers in Business is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders across the region, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in building a link between technical knowledge and business skills to help foster innovation. For more information on this initiative, please refer to the backgrounder.

"Our government understands that science powers commerce. To remain at the forefront of the global economy, we will continue to invest in the people, labs, facilities and ideas that will produce tomorrow's breakthroughs," said Rick Dykstra, Member of Parliament for St. Catharines.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Scientists and Engineers in Business

Scientists and Engineers in Business will improve the success rate of start-up businesses in southern Ontario by developing business skills of young entrepreneurs in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) fields and providing targeted support to help them bring innovative ideas and products to market.

Not-for-profit Organizations

The program will contribute funding to not-for-profit organizations that administer and/or provide:

  • Business skills development programs, such as training workshops, conferences, peer networks and other learning opportunities focusing on skills needed for entrepreneurs who are recent graduates (within five years) or graduate students of STEM programs to start a business; and
  • Seed financing and/or advisory and support services to help entrepreneurs launch sciences or engineering-related businesses.

Not-for-profit organizations will be eligible to receive funding of up to 50 per cent of their direct eligible costs, to a maximum of $35,000, for each entrepreneur they support. The remaining 50 per cent of costs must be contributed in the form of cash by the entrepreneur.

Post-secondary Institutions — Commercialization Fellowships

This initiative will also provide funding for post-secondary institutions to support up to 50 per cent of the cost of commercialization fellowships up to $30,000 per fellowship. Fellowships must be focused on assisting recent science or engineering graduates and graduate students to commercialize their innovations and start high-technology firms.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Gouvernement du Canada lance un nouveau programme pour aider les diplômés à lancer des entreprises novatrices

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d'action économique investit dans les futurs dirigeants du Sud de l'Ontario

Le ministre Goodyear lance l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires à l'Université Brock à St. Catharines.

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) lance le programme Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires aux locaux de l'Université Brock à St. Catharines. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour publication immédiate
Le 13 octobre 2010

St. Catharines (Ontario) — Les diplômés en sciences ou en ingénierie qui ont des idées novatrices dictées par le marché profiteront d'un nouveau programme pour bâtir leurs compétences en affaires. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé la nouvelle initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires à un événement qui a eu lieu aujourd'hui à l'Université Brock à St. Catharines.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît l'importance d'investir dans les idées des diplômés récents et des étudiants de deuxième ou de troisième cycle, et de leur fournir les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour devenir des entrepreneurs prospères, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En offrant les outils nécessaires, nous créerons des emplois, en plus d'alimenter l'innovation en affaires et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires offrira jusqu'à 50 millions de dollars sur quatre ans aux organismes à but non lucratif et aux établissements postsecondaires pour aider à bâtir les talents d'entrepreneur des diplômés récents et des étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences, technologies, ingénierie et mathématiques qui ont élaboré de nouvelles idées pour les entreprises en démarrage, et pour les appuyer lorsqu'ils commercialiseront leurs idées sur le marché, lanceront leurs entreprises ou leur feront prendre de l'expansion.

« Ceci est un programme stratégique qui complète d'autres initiatives visant à accélérer une économie axée sur le savoir, a déclaré Jack Lightstone, président de l'Université Brock. En aidant les diplômés récents à surmonter les obstacles économiques, des produits, des processus et des services plus concurrentiels seront mis sur le marché. »

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires découle directement de la rétroaction provenant des chefs de file des milieux d'affaires et communautaires, et des universitaires de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario qui ont suggéré à FedDev Ontario d'assumer un rôle de premier plan en créant un lien entre les connaissances techniques et les compétences en affaires pour aider à favoriser l'innovation. Pour trouver de plus amples renseignements au sujet de cette initiative, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît que la science fait fonctionner le commerce, a précisé Rick Dykstra, député de St. Catharines. Afin de demeurer à l'avant-garde de l'économie mondiale, nous continuerons d'investir dans les gens, les laboratoires, les installations et les idées qui mèneront aux percées de demain. »

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires

Le programme Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires améliora le taux de réussite des entreprises en démarrage dans le Sud de l'Ontario en développant les compétences en affaires de jeunes entrepreneurs en sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques (STIM), et en leur offrant un soutien ciblé pour les aider à mettre en marché leurs idées et leurs produits innovateurs.

Organismes sans but lucratif

Le programme offrira du financement aux organismes sans but lucratif qui administrent et/ou fournissent :

  • des programmes de développement des compétences en affaires, tels que des ateliers de formation, des conférences, des réseaux de pairs et d'autres occasions d'apprentissage axées sur les compétences, dont les entrepreneurs qui sont de nouveaux diplômés (depuis moins de cinq ans) ou des étudiants de deuxième ou de troisième cycle de programmes STIM ont besoin pour lancer une entreprise;
  • un financement de démarrage et/ou des services consultatifs ou de soutien pour aider les entrepreneurs à lancer des entreprises dans le domaine des sciences ou de l'ingénierie.

Les organismes sans but lucratif pourront recevoir un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 50 % de leurs frais admissibles directs, jusqu'à concurrence de 35 000$, pour chaque entrepreneur qu'ils soutiennent. Les 50 % restants des frais seront assumés en argent comptant par l'entrepreneur.

Établissements postsecondaires – bourses de recherche sur la commercialisation

L'initiative fournira également du financement qui permettra aux établissements postsecondaires d'assumer jusqu'à 50 % des frais de bourses de recherche sur la commercialisation, jusqu'à concurrence de 30 000$ par bourse. Les bourses devront être axées sur l'aide à apporter aux nouveaux diplômés et aux étudiants de deuxième ou de troisième cycle de programmes en sciences ou en ingénierie pour leur permettre de commercialiser leurs innovations et de lancer des firmes de haute technologie.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées en permanence, et les demandeurs seront avisés lorsque leur projet sera approuvé. Toutes les activités de projet devront être terminées avant le 31 mars 2014.

Pour trouver de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous reporter aux lignes directrices du programme qui se trouvent sur le site Web, à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :