Archived — Minister Goodyear Supports Small Business Week in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 18, 2010

Ottawa, Ontario — The Hon. Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, is encouraging small- and medium-sized businesses throughout the region to focus on innovation and growth during Small Business Week (October 17 – 23).

FedDev Ontario has recently launched a number of new funding programs aimed at helping small- and medium-sized businesses to increase productivity, competitiveness and develop new technologies, which is in line with this year's Small Business Week theme, 'Power up your small business — invest, innovate, grow'.

"Our government is supporting Small Business Week because we recognize the important role that small businesses have in creating jobs, and stimulating economic growth and innovation in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government has cut taxes for small business, reduced red tape and increased access to both important information and to financing. Through FedDev Ontario, we will continue to deliver programming that will help businesses grow and build for the future."

Over the last year, FedDev Ontario has supported hundreds of small- and medium-sized businesses throughout southern Ontario by delivering more than $500 million in economic stimulus funding to businesses and communities that were hit hardest by the economic downturn.

The new programs, which include the Graduate Enterprise Internship, Scientists and Engineers in Business, Investing in Business Innovation and the Technology Development Program, are a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders across the region, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in creating an economic environment in southern Ontario that will promote and foster business innovation.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear appuie la Semaine de la PME dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 18 octobre 2010

Ottawa (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario encourage les petites et moyennes entreprises de la région à mettre l'accent sur l'innovation et la croissance durant la Semaine de la PME (du 17 au 23 octobre).

FedDev Ontario a lancé dernièrement une série de nouveaux programmes de financement visant à aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à accroître leur productivité et compétitivité et à mettre au point de nouvelles technologies, ce qui correspond bien au thème de la Semaine de la PME cette année : « Propulsez votre entreprise – investissez, innovez, développez! »

« Notre gouvernement appuie pleinement la Semaine de la PME parce qu'il est bien conscient du rôle de premier plan des petites entreprises pour créer des emplois et stimuler la croissance économique et l'innovation dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En plus de réduire les impôts des petites entreprises et les formalités administratives qu'elles doivent remplir, il a amélioré l'accès à l'information et au financement elles ont besoin. Par l'intermédiaire de FedDev Ontario, nous continuerons de veiller à la bonne marche de programmes qui aideront les entreprises à prendre leur essor et à bâtir pour l'avenir. »

L'an dernier, FedDev Ontario a prêté main-forte à des centaines de petites et moyennes entreprises de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario par un financement d'une valeur globale de plus de 500 millions de dollars visant à stimuler l'économie afin de venir en aide aux entreprises et aux collectivités les plus durement touchées par le ralentissement économique.

Ses nouveaux programmes, à savoir le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés, Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises et le Programme de développement de la technologie, sont issus directement des commentaires des chefs d'affaires, des universitaires et des dirigeants communautaires de l'ensemble de la région, qui ont suggéré que FedDev Ontario joue un rôle de premier plan pour créer un contexte économique propice dans le Sud de l'Ontario en vue de promouvoir et de favoriser l'innovation au sein des entreprises.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :