Archived — Minister Goodyear Recognizes the Contribution of Local Entrepreneurs During Small Business Week

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For Immediate Release
October 22, 2010

Ottawa, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, recognized the success of the partnership FedDev Ontario has with local Community Futures Development Corporations in supporting small-and medium-sized businesses in rural communities throughout southern Ontario.

"This past year was a challenging one for southern Ontario, but the creativity, insight and innovation of the people working in small businesses throughout this region have bolstered our economy," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government's support for local business through Community Futures Development Corporations has created or maintained 6,000 jobs. We will continue to work with small businesses to build a more competitive and prosperous region."

There are 37 Community Futures Development Corporations supported through FedDev Ontario that serve southern Ontario rural businesses and communities. In the last year, the government invested $47 million in small businesses through these organizations. They offer a wide variety of programs and services supporting community economic development and small business growth and are run by a board of local volunteers and staffed by experienced business professionals.

During Small Business Week (October 17 – 23), communities and businesses throughout the region have been taking part in events and workshops to celebrate the significant role small-and medium-sized businesses play in stimulating the local economy and creating jobs.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear reconnaît la contribution des entrepreneurs locaux durant la Semaine de la PME

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 22 octobre 2010

Ottawa (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a souligné les succès remportés dans le cadre du partenariat unissant FedDev Ontario avec les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités pour venir en aide aux petites et moyennes entreprises des collectivités rurales de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Cette année, le Sud de l'Ontario a été confronté à des défis de taille, mais la créativité, la perspicacité et l'innovation des gens qui travaillent au sein des petites entreprises partout dans cette région ont stimulé notre économie, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. L'aide consentie par notre gouvernement aux entreprises locales par l'intermédiaire des Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités a permis de créer ou de maintenir 6 000 emplois. Nous continuerons à travailler de près avec les petites entreprises pour accroître la compétitivité et la prospérité de notre région. »

FedDev Ontario appuie 37 Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités, au service des entreprises et des collectivités rurales du Sud de l'Ontario. L'an dernier, le gouvernement a investi 47 millions de dollars dans des petites entreprises par l'intermédiaire de ces organismes. Offrant divers programmes et services qui contribuent au développement économique communautaire et à la croissance des petites entreprises, les Sociétés sont dirigées par un conseil de bénévoles locaux et comptent parmi leur personnel des professionnels chevronnés dans le domaine des affaires.

Au cours de la Semaine de la PME (du 17 au 23 octobre), les collectivités et les entreprises de la région entière prennent part à des événements et à des ateliers afin de célébrer le rôle de premier plan des petites et moyennes entreprises pour stimuler l'économie locale et créer des emplois.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :