Archived — Langs Farm Breaks Ground on New Multi-Purpose Complex

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 29, 2010

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) in Cambridge with Langs Farm Village Association executives, local officials and a student from William G. Davis Public School break ground on New Multi-Purpose Complex funded through the Community Adjustment Fund.

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) in Cambridge with Langs Farm Village Association executives, local officials and a student from William G. Davis Public School break ground on New Multi-Purpose Complex funded through the Community Adjustment Fund. Source: FedDev Ontario

Cambridge, Ontario — Residents of the Cambridge area will soon benefit from a new multi-purpose wellness centre, a project developed by the Langs Farm Village Association. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was on hand today to celebrate the official groundbreaking for the facility, with members of the Langs Farm Village Association and His Worship Doug Craig, Mayor of Cambridge.

"Our government is supporting projects in communities throughout southern Ontario to create jobs and stimulate the economy," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will provide a place for families and residents to come together, stay active, and have access to employment, health and community services."

The project will include building a 58,000 square foot wellness centre that will house early childhood programs, youth programs, a seniors centre, vocational resource centre and community health centre. The Langs Farm Village Association, a non-profit, neighborhood-based organization, and its partners continue to develop and implement programs and services to support residents of the community.

The Government of Canada will contribute up to $4,959,350 to the project through the Community Adjustment Fund, delivered by FedDev Ontario. The City of Cambridge is investing $3,000,000 to the project for additional space for the Allan Reuter's Seniors Centre within the building.

"This is truly a significant event in our 32 year history," said Ms. Theresa Wilhelm, Chair of the Board of Directors of the Langs Farm Village Association. "We've been dreaming of this day for a long time and it is finally here. We are so pleased that the government is supporting our building project which will bring a number of community partners together under one roof. We are especially pleased to be co-locating with the Allan Reuter Seniors Centre since Langs is increasing its focus on the older adult population," stated Ms. Wilhelm.

"Community health and well-being are at the forefront of this innovative project," said Mr. Craig. "There's a long history of partnership between Langs Farm and the City of Cambridge and today marks the evolution of services and facility enhancements that will benefit our community."

The Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario creates immediate employment opportunities and support for local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities, businesses and non-profit organizations in southern Ontario. To learn more about FedDev Ontario and the Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario, please visit the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Langs Farm donne le coup d'envoi aux travaux de construction d'un nouveau complexe polyvalent

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 29 octobre 2010

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) à Cambridge avec le personnel de direction de Langs Farm Village, des représentants locaux et une étudiante de William G. Davis Public School, donne le coup d'envoi aux travaux de construction d'un nouveau complexe polyvalent financé dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités.

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) à Cambridge avec le personnel de direction de Langs Farm Village, des représentants locaux et une étudiante de William G. Davis Public School, donne le coup d'envoi aux travaux de construction d'un nouveau complexe polyvalent financé dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités. Source: FedDev Ontario

Cambridge (Ontario) — Les résidents de la région de Cambridge profiteront sous peu d'un centre polyvalent de mieux-être, un projet mis au point par Langs Farm Village Association. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), était présent pour célébrer le coup d'envoi officiel des travaux de construction du centre, en compagnie de membres de Langs Farm Village Association et de son honneur le maire de Cambridge, Doug Craig.

« Notre gouvernement appuie des projets dans les collectivités de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer des emplois et stimuler l'économie, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement permettra aux familles et aux résidents de bénéficier d'un lieu de rencontre où ils pourront se mettre en forme et avoir accès à des services d'emploi, de santé et communautaires. »

Le projet comprend la construction d'un centre de mieux-être de 58 000 pieds carrés où se dérouleront des programmes pour la jeune enfance et les jeunes et qui abritera un centre pour les aînés, un centre de ressources de formation professionnelle et un centre de santé communautaire. Langs Farm Village Association, un organisme de quartier à but non lucratif, et ses partenaires pourront ainsi continuer d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des programmes et des services pour venir en aide à la population locale.

Le gouvernement du Canada contribuera une somme maximale de 4 959 350 $ au projet dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités, offert par FedDev Ontario. La Ville de Cambridge investit 3 000 000 $ dans ce projet pour agrandir le centre pour les aînés Allan Reuter qui se trouve dans le complexe.

« Il s'agit d'une étape importante de notre histoire qui en est à sa 32e année, a précisé Mme Theresa Wilhelm, présidente du Conseil de direction de Langs Farm Village Association. Nous rêvons de ce jour depuis longtemps et il est enfin arrivé. Nous sommes tellement heureux que le gouvernement appuie notre projet de construction, qui permettra d'abriter sous le même toit un certain nombre de partenaires communautaires. Nous sommes également particulièrement heureux de partager des locaux avec le centre pour les aînés Allan Reuter, puisque les activités de Langs sont de plus en plus centrées sur la population de personnes âgées », a ajouté Mme Wilhelm.

« La santé et le mieux-être communautaire sont au premier plan de ce projet novateur, a fait savoir M. Craig. Langs Farm et la Ville de Cambridge sont des partenaires depuis de nombreuses années déjà et aujourd'hui marque le début de l'évolution des services et de l'amélioration des installations dont notre collectivité bénéficiera grandement. »

Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario crée des possibilités immédiates d'emplois et vient en aide aux économies locales aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique dans le monde.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour appuyer le développement économique et communautaire, l'innovation et la diversification économique, par le versement de contributions aux collectivités, aux entreprises et aux organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedDev Ontario et du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, visitez le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :