Archived — Government of Canada Promotes Eastern Ontario Businesses at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
November 6, 2010

Toronto, Ontario — Bob Dechert, Member of Parliament for Mississauga–Erindale on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and Wendy Curtis, Executive Director of the Northumberland Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC), celebrated the opening of the Eastern Ontario Pavilion at the 88th annual Royal Agricultural Winter Fair at the Direct Energy Centre today.

Organized by 15 eastern Ontario CFDCs, the Eastern Ontario Pavilion features 30 exhibitors promoting a variety of regional products. The Eastern Ontario Pavilion at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair helps build eastern Ontario's capacity to draw people to the area, and to create new business and employment opportunities.

The Eastern Ontario Pavilion at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair is funded through the Eastern Ontario Development Program (EODP), delivered by FedDev Ontario.

"Our government is investing in the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario to create jobs and economic growth," said MP Bob Dechert. "Our support for the Eastern Ontario Pavilion at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair will help promote the tremendous economic opportunities that exist in eastern Ontario."

"The Northumberland CFDC is delighted to be able to work with the other CFDCs in eastern Ontario to help in providing a venue for local businesses to expand the market for their products," said Wendy Curtis. "The continued development of the agri-business economy is vital to the economic growth of communities throughout eastern Ontario. We are very encouraged by the tremendous response we received from regional businesses that were excited to take advantage of this opportunity."

There are 37 CFDCs supported through FedDev Ontario that serve southern Ontario rural businesses and communities. In the last year, the government invested $47 million in small businesses through these organizations. They offer a wide variety of programs and services supporting community economic development and small business growth and are run by a board of local volunteers and staffed by experienced business professionals.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada fait la promotion des entreprises de l'Est de l'Ontario à la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 6 novembre 2010

Toronto (Ontario) — Bob Dechert, député fédéral de Mississauga–Erindale, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et Wendy Curtis, directrice générale de la Société d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) de Northumberland, ont célébré l'ouverture du Pavillon de l'Est de l'Ontario à la 88e édition annuelle de la Royal Agricultural Winter Fair (Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture) au centre Direct Energy aujourd'hui.

Organisé par les 15 SADC de l'Est ontarien, le Pavillon de l'Est de l'Ontario regroupe 30 exposants venus y promouvoir une variété de produits de la région. La présence du Pavillon de l'Est de l'Ontario à la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture contribue à attirer des gens, à favoriser le démarrage de nouvelles entreprises et à créer des possibilités d'emploi dans la région.

Le Pavillon de l'Est de l'Ontario à la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture est financé dans le cadre du Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario (PDEO), offert par FedDev Ontario.

« Notre gouvernement investit dans la population, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario pour favoriser la création d'emplois et la croissance économique, a déclaré le député fédéral Bob Dechert. En appuyant ainsi le Pavillon de l'Est de l'Ontario à la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture, nous contribuons à promouvoir les énormes possibilités économiques qui existent dans l'Est ontarien. »

« La SADC de Northumberland est ravie de pouvoir collaborer avec les autres SADC de l'Est de l'Ontario afin de fournir aux entreprises locales un endroit leur permettant de présenter leurs produits pour trouver de nouveaux débouchés, a fait savoir Wendy Curtis. Le développement soutenu de l'industrie agricole est d'une importance cruciale pour assurer la croissance économique de l'ensemble de l'Est de l'Ontario. Nous sommes vraiment encouragés par la participation remarquable des entreprises de la région qui ont saisi cette occasion avec enthousiasme. »

FedDev Ontario offre un financement à 37 SADC au service des entreprises et des collectivités rurales du Sud de l'Ontario. L'an dernier, le gouvernement a investi 47 millions de dollars dans les petites entreprises par l'intermédiaire de ces organismes. Les SADC offrent une variété de programmes et de services qui contribuent à stimuler le développement économique communautaire et la croissance des petites entreprises. Chacune est régie par un conseil d'administration formé de bénévoles locaux et compte un personnel d'expérience dans le domaine des affaires.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879 

  • Partager
Date de modification :