Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation at Small — and Medium-Sized Businesses in National Capital Region

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
November 12, 2010

The Honourable John Baird, Government House Leader, announced an investment under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative for the University of Ottawa. Source: Peter Thornton, University of Ottawa.

The Honourable John Baird, Government House Leader, announced an investment under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative for the University of Ottawa. Source: Peter Thornton, University of Ottawa. Source: FedDev Ontario

Ottawa, Ontario — Small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario, including the Ottawa area, will have an opportunity to work with local colleges and universities to bring promising new products to the marketplace faster. The Honourable John Baird, Government House Leader, announced an investment under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative would go to the University of Ottawa.

"This investment will help bring ideas from the lab into the marketplace," said John Baird. "Our government is committed to supporting families, businesses and communities of southern Ontario."

Under the $15-million Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, the University of Ottawa will receive up to $750,000 to partner with small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

"As one of the top performing Canadian universities in research, the University of Ottawa is committed to supporting Ontario's businesses with innovative research programs and some of the brightest minds in the world. Canada's university is proud to be collaborating with members of local communities across the country," said Allan Rock, president of the University of Ottawa.

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in addressing the gap between research and commercialization.

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Vincent Lamontagne
Manager, Media Relations
University of Ottawa
613-562-5800 (3087)
613-864-9087 (cell)
vincent.lamontagne@uOttawa.ca

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada favorise l'innovation et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises dans la région de la Capitale Nationale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate 
Le 12 novembre 2010

L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, a annoncé un investissement consenti dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation pour l'Université d'Ottawa. Source : Peter Thornton, Université d'Ottawa.

L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, a annoncé un investissement consenti dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation pour l'Université d'Ottawa. Source : Peter Thornton, Université d'Ottawa. Source: FedDev Ontario

Ottawa (Ontario) — Les petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, y compris celles de la région d'Ottawa, auront l'occasion de travailler avec les collèges et les universités de la région afin de mettre sur le marché plus rapidement de nouveaux produits prometteurs. L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, a annoncé un investissement consenti dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation à l'Université d'Ottawa.

« Cet investissement permettra de faire passer les idées du laboratoire au marché, a déclaré John Baird. Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à venir en aide aux familles, aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, dotée d'un financement de 15 millions de dollars, l'Université d'Ottawa recevra jusqu'à concurrence de 750 000 $ pour établir des partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises pour des activités portant entre autres sur la recherche appliquée, la conception technique, le développement technologique, la mise à l'essai de produits et l'homologation.

« Un des chefs de file de la recherche universitaire au Canada, l'Université d'Ottawa appuie les entreprises ontariennes grâce à ses programmes de recherche novateurs et ses chercheurs de calibre mondial. L'Université canadienne est fière de collaborer avec des membres des communautés locales de partout au pays », a dit Allan Rock, recteur de l'Université d'Ottawa.

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est issue directement des commentaires formulés par les chefs d'entreprise, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires de partout dans le Sud de l'Ontario, qui sont d'avis que l'Agence doit jouer un rôle de chef de file pour combler le fossé qui sépare la recherche et la commercialisation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft 
Directeur des communications 
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear 
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879

Vincent Lamontagne
Gestionnaire, relations avec les médias
Université d'Ottawa
Tél. : (613) 562-5800 (3087)
613-864-9087 (cellulaire)
Vincent Lamontagne

  • Partager
Date de modification :