Archived — New Initiative to Support Economic Growth in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

FedDev Ontario invests in southern Ontario's Future

Minister Goodyear with Jennifer Jones, Chair of the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce, at the Annual General Meeting of the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), with Jennifer Jones, Chair of the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce at the Annual General Meeting of the Windsor-EssexRegional Chamber of Commerce on November 26, 2010. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
November 26, 2010

Windsor, Ontario — Southern Ontario businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions will benefit from a new federal funding initiative aimed at supporting productivity, economic diversification and competitiveness in the region. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), launched the Prosperity Initiative today at the Annual General Meeting of the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and economic growth in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "The Prosperity Initiative will give businesses the tools they need to expand into promising new areas and generate opportunities for the people and communities of this region."

Investments under the Prosperity Initiative will enhance business productivity in southern Ontario, diversify its economy and build on the region's strengths to further its competitiveness within the global economy.

Up to $210 million will be available over the next four years for projects focusing on the adaptation and adoption of new technologies, processes and skills aimed at enhancing productivity; the development of new industries or opportunities to diversify a community or regional economy; and the development and expansion of strategic economic clusters that will have an impact on the global economy.

The Prosperity Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in enhancing economic development, diversification and competitiveness across southern Ontario.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

The Prosperity Initiative will encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Priority may be given to organizations representing a sector or industry in the following emerging areas:

  • Environmental science and technologies;
  • Natural resources and energy;
  • Health and related life sciences and technologies, including the food and beverage industry; and
  • Information and communications technologies.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information and detailed guidelines, please refer to the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Nouvelle initiative pour appuyer la croissance économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

FedDev Ontario investit dans l'avenir du Sud de l'Ontario

Le ministre Goodyear avec Jennifer Jones, présidente de la chambre de commerce régionale de Windsor-Essex, à l'occasion de l'assemblée générale annuelle de la chambre de commerce régionale de Windsor-Essex.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) en compagnie de Jennifer Jones, présidente de la Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce lors de l'Assemblée générale annuelle de la Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce le 26 novembre 2010. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 novembre 2010

Windsor (Ontario) — Les entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et les établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario bénéficieront d'une nouvelle initiative fédérale de financement qui vise à appuyer la productivité, la diversification économique et la compétitivité accrues dans la région. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a lancé aujourd'hui l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario lors de l'assemblée générale annuelle de la Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce.

« Notre gouvernement s'engage à créer des emplois et à favoriser la croissance économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. L'Initiative pour la prospérité fournira aux entreprises les outils nécessaires pour accroître leurs activités afin d'accéder à de nouveaux domaines prometteurs et générer des occasions pour les gens et les collectivités de la région. »

Les investissements dans le cadre de l'initiative pour la prospérité amélioreront la productivité dans le Sud de l'Ontario, diversifieront son économie, et exploiteront les forces de la région pour faire progresser sa compétitivité dans l'économie mondiale.

L'initiative fournira jusqu'à 210 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour des projets axés sur l'adaptation et l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédures et compétences afin d'améliorer la productivité; le développement de nouvelles industries ou possibilités qui favoriseront la diversification de l'économie d'une collectivité  ou d'une région; et le développement et l'expansion de regroupements économiques stratégiques qui auront une incidence sur l'économie mondiale.

L'Initiative pour la prospérité découle directement des commentaires de chefs d'entreprises, du milieu universitaire et de dirigeants communautaires à l'étendue du Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont suggéré que FedDev Ontario adopte un rôle de chef de file pour améliorer le développement économique, la diversification et la compétitivité à l'étendue du Sud de l'Ontario.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879 


Fiche d'information

L'Initiative pour la prospérité encouragera les entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et les établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront la productivité, la diversification et la compétitivité accrues en matière d'économie dans la région.

Le financement est offert pour des projets qui :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédures et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario afin d'atteindre une plus grande productivité par rapport à leurs investissements;
  • diversifient l'économie régionale, en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou occasions dans les collectivités et les régions du Sud de l'Ontario qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur leur diversité économique;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario, en misant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir des regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

La priorité pourrait être accordée aux organismes qui représentent un secteur ou une industrie dans les domaines suivants :

  • sciences et technologies de l'environnement;
  • ressources naturelles et énergie;
  • sciences de la santé et autres sciences et technologies de la vie, y compris l'industrie des aliments et des boissons;
  • technologies de l'information et des communications.

Les demandes de financement seront acceptées et évaluées régulièrement, et les demandeurs seront informés de l'approbation de leurs projets. Toutes les activités de projets doivent être terminées avant le 31 mars 2014.

Pour de plus amples renseignements et des lignes directrices détaillées, veuillez consulter le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :