Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation at Small- and Medium-Sized Businesses in National Capital Region

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Economic Action Plan invests in jobs and growth through research and development

For immediate release
November 26, 2010

Ottawa, Ontario — Small- and medium-sized businesses in the Ottawa area will have an opportunity to work with local colleges and universities to bring promising new products to the marketplace faster. The Honourable John Baird, Government House Leader and Minister of the Environment, today announced that an investment under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative would go to Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology.

"Our government is committed to supporting families, businesses and communities of the National Capital Region," said Minister Baird. "This new investment will help small businesses and bring innovative ideas to the marketplace faster."

Under the $15-million Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, Algonquin College will receive up to $750,000 to partner with small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

"I would like to thank the federal government for their investment in applied research at Algonquin College and the recognition of the important role colleges play in the national research agenda," said Robert Gillett, President of Algonquin College. "The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative will allow us to continue to help small- and medium-sized businesses innovate and succeed while offering our faculty, students, and staff unique learning and professional development opportunities through applied research projects."

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in addressing the gap between research and commercialization.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency is launching a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is designed to bridge the gap between research and commercialization between Ontario's post-secondary academic institutions and small- and medium-sized enterprises. FedDev Ontario has committed up to $15 million for projects in 2010 under the initiative.

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative encourages greater collaboration between post-secondary institutions with research and development expertise and smaller businesses with pre-commercialization needs. The goals of the initiative are to accelerate innovation and improve productivity and competitiveness in companies located in southern Ontario, as well as encourage additional private sector investment.

The initiative supports post-secondary institutions offering services focused on improving innovation, productivity and commercialization to help individual companies move new products or processes to market. These activities include:

  • product and process applied research;
  • engineering design;
  • technology development;
  • product testing;
  • certification;
  • proof of concept;
  • piloting and demonstration; and
  • problem solving.

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, FedDev Ontario's mandate is to work with the people, communities and businesses in southern Ontario to create the conditions for economic growth. Created with a five-year mandate and $1-billion budget, the Agency is working to support southern Ontario's ongoing economic resurgence to ensure the region will emerge as a stronger, more diverse world leader.

For more information, please refer to our web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, email info@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada favorise l'innovation et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises dans la région de la Capitale Nationale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d'action économique investit dans les emplois et la croissance grâce à la recherche et au développement

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 novembre 2010

Ottawa (Ontario) — Les petites et moyennes entreprises dans la région d'Ottawa auront l'occasion de travailler avec les collèges et les universités de la région afin de mettre sur le marché plus rapidement de nouveaux produits prometteurs. L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes et ministre de l'Environnement, a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement consenti dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation au Collège Algonquin des arts appliqués et de technologie.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à venir en aide aux familles, aux entreprises et aux collectivités de la région de la capitale nationale, a déclaré le ministre Baird. Cet investissement permettra de faire passer plus rapidement les idées du laboratoire au marché. »

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, dotée d'un financement de 15 millions de dollars, le Collège Algonquin recevra jusqu'à concurrence de 750 000 $ afin d'établir des partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises pour des activités portant entre autres sur la recherche appliquée, la conception technique, le développement technologique, la mise à l'essai de produits et l'homologation.

« Je remercie le gouvernement fédéral pour cet investissement dans la recherche appliquée au Collège Alqonquin et pour sa reconnaissance du rôle important que jouent les collèges au sein du programme national de recherche, a déclaré M. Robert Gillett, président du Collège Algonquin. Ces fonds de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation nous permettront de continuer à aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à innover et à réussir, tout en offrant à notre faculté, à nos étudiants et à notre personnel des possibilités uniques d'apprentissage et de perfectionnement professionnel dans le cadre de projets de recherche appliquée. »

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est issue directement des commentaires formulés par les chefs d'entreprise, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires de partout en Ontario, qui sont d'avis que FedDev Ontario doit jouer un rôle de chef de file pour combler le fossé qui sépare la recherche et la commercialisation.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence lance une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est conçue pour combler le fossé qui sépare la recherche et la commercialisation entre les établissements d'enseignement post secondaire et les petites et moyennes entreprises de l'Ontario. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, FedDev Ontario s'est engagée à verser jusqu'à 15 millions de dollars en 2010 en vue de la réalisation de projets.

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation encourage une plus grande collaboration entre les établissements postsecondaires possédant un savoir-faire en recherche-développement et les petites entreprises désirant combler leurs besoins de précommercialisation. Les objectifs de l'initiative sont d'accélérer l'innovation et d'améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité des entreprises établies dans le Sud de l'Ontario, ainsi que d'encourager d'autres investissements du secteur privé.

Cette initiative appuie les établissements postsecondaires qui offrent des services visant à améliorer l'innovation, la productivité et la commercialisation afin d'aider des entreprises à assurer la mise en marché de nouveaux produits ou processus. Ces activités comprennent :

  • la recherche appliquée en matière de produits et de procédés;
  • la conception technique;
  • le développement technologique;
  • l'essai de produits;
  • l'homologation;
  • la démonstration du bien-fondé de la conception;
  • les projets pilotes et démonstrations;
  • la résolution de problèmes.

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a pour mandat de travailler de concert avec la population, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à créer les conditions propices à la croissance économique de la région. Dotée d'un mandat de cinq ans et d'un budget de 1 milliard de dollars, l'Agence contribue à la reprise économique soutenue du Sud de l'Ontario afin que la région en émerge en devenant un chef de file mondial plus solide et plus diversifié.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter notre site Web à www.feddevontario.gc.ca, ou faire parvenir un courriel à info@feddevontario.gc.ca ou encore composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :