Archived — New Initiative Encourages Young People to Discover Careers in Science and Tech

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

FedDev Ontario Invests in Southern Ontario's Future Leaders

For immediate release
November 29, 2010

Welland, Ontario — Students and youth in southern Ontario will have new opportunities to explore the benefits of a career in the sciences, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) through a new Government of Canada funding initiative. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) and Science and Technology, announced the new Youth STEM initiative today at a local high school.

"Canada needs more young women and men in science, technology, engineering and math to ensure our country's future economic growth and ability to create new jobs," said Minister Goodyear. "Youth STEM will give students the chance to discover and learn about exciting opportunities in these areas."

Youth STEM will provide up to $20 million for not-for-profit organizations to enhance or expand educational science and technology outreach programs that increase young people's awareness about the rewards of pursuing an education or career in the sciences.

"Let's Talk Science connects outstanding role models who are highly experienced in science and engineering with youth to engage them in meaningful, real-world science-based experiences and showcase career opportunities," said Dr. Bonnie Schmidt, founder and president, Let's Talk Science, a national, non-profit, science outreach organization. "Today's announcement will engage youth and will show them the possibilities science offers for their future."

The Youth STEM initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who encouraged FedDev Ontario to take a role in addressing the ability of young people to meet future labour market needs by developing the next generation of STEM leaders to fuel business innovation in southern Ontario.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Youth STEM

FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM initiative will strengthen the region's position in the knowledge-based economy by encouraging young people to pursue education and careers in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields.

Youth STEM will provide up to $20 million to support not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of their current educational STEM outreach programs for children and youth in southern Ontario.

Eligible activities that will be supported under the initiative include:

  • The development, enhancement and delivery of learning activities (e.g., workshops, demonstrations, science fairs, competitions, mentorships, enrichment programs or camps and early learning activities);
  • Collaborative activities with other outreach organizations with the aim of coordinating and focusing efforts and broadening the impact of existing programs in southern Ontario; and
  • Other activities to broaden the impact and reach of programs in southern Ontario.

Contributions under this initiative are not expected to exceed $2 million per applicant.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Une nouvelle initiative encourage les jeunes à s'intéresser aux carrières en sciences et en technologie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

FedDev Ontario investit dans les futurs dirigeants du Sud de l'Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 29 novembre 2010

Welland (Ontario) — Les étudiants et les jeunes du Sud de l'Ontario auront de nouvelles possibilités d'examiner les avantages de faire carrière dans les sciences, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques (STIM) grâce à une nouvelle initiative de financement du gouvernement du Canada. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) et des Sciences et Technologie, a annoncé la nouvelle initiative Jeunesse en STIM lors d'un événement qui a eu lieu aujourd'hui dans une école secondaire locale.

« Le Canada doit pouvoir compter sur davantage de jeunes femmes et hommes dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques pour assurer la croissance économique future de notre pays et sa capacité de créer de nouveaux emplois, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Jeunesse en STIM donnera aux étudiants la chance de partir à la découverte afin de se familiariser avec les occasions stimulantes dans ces domaines. »

Dans le cadre de Jeunesse en STIM, un financement pouvant atteindre 20 millions de dollars est prévu afin d'aider les organismes à but non lucratif à améliorer leurs programmes éducatifs et de sensibilisation aux sciences et à la technologie ou à en accroître la portée afin de sensibiliser davantage les jeunes aux mérites d'entreprendre des études et de faire carrière dans un domaine scientifique.

 « Parlons sciences permet aux jeunes d'entrer en rapport avec des gens remarquables, de véritables modèles à l'émulation, possédant une solide expérience des sciences et du génie, afin de participer à des expériences scientifiques enrichissantes bien concrètes et de s'initier à des possibilités de carrières, a déclaré Bonnie Schmidt, fondatrice et présidente de Parlons sciences, un organisme national à but non lucratif qui sensibilise les jeunes aux sciences. L'annonce aujourd'hui mobilisera les jeunes et leur fera prendre connaissance des promesses d'avenir que les sciences leur réservent. »

Jeunesse en STIM est issu directement des commentaires des dirigeants des milieux d'affaires, universitaires et communautaires de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont encouragé FedDev Ontario à jouer un rôle de premier plan pour former la prochaine génération de leaders en STIM, en vue de stimuler l'innovation dans le domaine des affaires dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. En sa deuxième année d'activités, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Jeunesse en STIM

Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario consolidera la position de la région dans l'économie du savoir en encourageant les jeunes à entreprendre des études et à faire carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM).

Dans le cadre de Jeunesse en STIM, un financement pouvant atteindre 20 millions de dollars est prévu afin d'aider les organismes à but non lucratif à accroître, à améliorer et à coordonner la portée et l'incidence de leurs programmes éducatifs et de sensibilisation actuels en matière de STIM destinés aux enfants et aux jeunes du Sud de l'Ontario.

Voici quelques exemples d'activités admissibles qui bénéficieront d'un appui dans le cadre de cette initiative :

  • les projets visant à élaborer, à améliorer et à offrir des activités d'apprentissage (p. ex., ateliers, démonstrations, expos-sciences, concours, mentorats, camps ou programmes de renforcement et activités d'apprentissage destinées aux jeunes enfants);
  • les activités réalisées conjointement avec d'autres organismes, en vue de coordonner et de cibler les efforts et d'accroître l'incidence de programmes en cours dans le Sud de l'Ontario;
  • d'autres activités visant à accroître l'incidence et la portée de programmes dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

En général, les contributions consenties dans le cadre de cette initiative ne dépasseront pas 2 millions de dollars par demandeur.

Un processus continu d'acceptation et d'évaluation des demandes est prévu, et les demandeurs seront informés des résultats à mesure que les projets seront approuvés. Toutes les activités de projet doivent être terminées avant le 31 mars 2014.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web, à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :